We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just at the bottom of a lane.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twyning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The BoatHouse at The Fleet
Ranked #1 of 1 Twyning B&B and Inns
newport wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just at the bottom of a lane.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Whilst at a visit to the Hilton Pukarup hotel, we were told of a really nice place to go to eat and have a drink at the bottom of the lane, after a brief walk we arrived at the Fleet, only to be greeted by Tibi the manager, who was a charming host, anything we required was no trouble, even arranging a taxi for us to take us back to the hotel.
As we had such a great evening the day earlier we decided to repeat on the Saturday, this time our waitress George(Blonde) was very nice and was very friendly.

The food at the fleet is really well presented and of high quality for a Pub, and really enjoyable,
the only thing that's slightly over priced are the desserts, but still very nice.

Will be visiting the fleet again, hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have visited the Fleet a few times over recent years, just for a drink, but recently had one night's accommodation. Beautiful room, very well presented and the most wonderful view of the river. The meal in the evening was excellent and a very good choice of breakfast next morning. The Fleet is a delight - we would recommend it as a lovely spot for a break this time of the year, very relaxing and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were invited to a 70th birthday party at the Fleet at Twyning and decided to stay overnight for two nights.

We could not have been made more welcome or had better service anywhere. The Deputy Manager, Ali Williams, went out of her way to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. The cooked breakfast on both days was outstanding.

When we attended the 70th birthday party for 50 people, the service was impeccable and the food outstanding. Long may The Fleet prosper under the new owners Wadworth Brewery.

The view from the Boathouse accommodation was outstanding over the river with boats cruising past. On the whole an excellent stay. We will return. Mary and Neville Sharpe

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Happy to recommend, had two nights in a lovely clean, well presented comfortable room, the breakfast, full English was served by a happy obliging waitress, extra drinks no problem, second day had dinner as well, what a feast, roast beef with all the trimmings great, the position with its south facing veranda and lawns makes the venue highly desirable for a host of occasions. will definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the boathouse, south facing overlooking the river and open fields, all of the 3 rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Needed acommodation as I was going to a party nearby.
Not knowing the area chose the nearest place.
This Inn was beyond expectations for a B&B.
The room was delightfully furnished, had tea and coffee facilities, lots of towels, and toiletries, hair dryer, and a great comfortable bed,
By the river, so, so quiet, breakfasted in silence watching a few small boats and barges go by. WIth such a beautiful landscape beyond.
The staff were all so repectful and helpful to the point of saying "the door opens this way" because one would naturally open it the other. ALso ordered a taxi for me, that arrived on time.
Breakfast one of the best ENglish ever served to order so nothing dried up and the best was a proper americano decafinated
I just loved it so much my breakfast and rest by the river lasted 2 hours.
I will return even if I have no occasion to attend

Room Tip: rooms overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Seemed okay to me. Very helpful staff, good food, good beer, good setting and apart from a dodgy door lock good accommodation. As a business traveller the only thing that may stop me staying again was lack of Wi-Fi in the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Three generations of us went for dinner on 24.08.13. Table was reserved and as requested with a view of the river and suitable for my disabled father.
Service was excellent and a joke was shared about the flickering light bulb that was eventually removed as it was annoying everyone.
Lovely olives to start and assorted breads, all shared and enjoyed.
2 of us then had the trio of fish, Red Snapper, Cod and Crevettes, beautiful.
Son had steak and was thoroughly impressed that when he asked for it rare the chef cooked it rare (many chefs bottle it and overcook it). He was so impressed with the steak he would have had it blue had he known the quality.
Cheesy chips were good, one disappointing meal was the chicken supreme, rather dry as slightly overcooked, needed one of the available sauces which they soon made once alerted which was very quick as the waitress was very attentive.
Sue well pleased with her Caeser Salad which was a starter as a main but big enough!!!! We had to help her finish it.
Cheese board to finish. Beer and wine all good . £162 for 5 people, several bottles of wine, beers and soft drinks seemed reasonable to me given the overall quality of the food.
Will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twyning
1.1 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
3.6 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BoatHouse at The Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BoatHouse at The Fleet

Property: The BoatHouse at The Fleet
Address: Fleet House Fleet Lane | Twyning, Twyning GL20 6FL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Twyning
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Twyning
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is located in the historic self contained boathouse to the rear of the main pub and restaurant and provides a unique riverside setting for our guests to stay. Comprising of 3 beautifully appointed double en-suite rooms all with views that overlook the river Avon and the surrounding countryside. All rooms have TV, hot drink hospitality tray, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fleet At Twyning Hotel Twyning
The BoatHouse At The Fleet Twyning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing