We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Socrates Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Skala Prinou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed the second time. George the owner had modernised the rooms and this had made them look very modern and up to date. The rooms are always kept clean and tidy and the whole team at the hotel from Gardner, bar staff, kitchen and room teams keep this hotel clean tidy and a happy place to stay. Thank you George and team for all you hard work. See you next time!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Whassup_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Golden sand and crystal blue water - right on the hotel steps! Perfection! George is a fantastic host - funny and charming and an excellent cocktail shaker! Very tolerant of having to keep letting my teenage sons into their bedroom, having left the key card inside.
All the hotel staff very friendly and efficient, all with some English understanding. I was embarrassed that I could not speak Greek and will endeavour to learn some simple phrases for next time.

Recommend the CAT diving club just a short distance away from the hotel - fantastic fun with excellent safety briefs prior to diving - felt safe the whole time with our Belgian dive escorts.

Will definitely return to this small hotel and small resort.
Rooms cleaned daily, reception and public areas - immaculately clean.

Some silly criticisms - 1) - shower too small, even for "normal" folk", almost impossible for big chunky folk.
2) - not impressed with the drain hole (covered with a see-through grid) right in the middle of the floor..in front of the toilet . This is the drain to the shower and hand basin. sorry - I am phobic about drain holes!! - right under my nose! Our drain did seem to smell a bit of musty water and backflowed onto the floor when the shower was in use.
3) - Just need to crisp up your breakfast bacon!

Thomsons were great - Laura the rep - fantastic personality and wishing to make everybody's holiday a brilliant experience. May she always retain her enthusiasm and professionalism.
It would much improve things if Thomsons could get all their coaches air conditioning to work - we didn't travel in one coach with adequate a.c .....unless you count the door being opened when we stopped!!!! Needs improving, Thomsons!

The boat trip and bbq was brilliant fun - would recommend it, especially if you have big kids who swim alot. The Greek crew were friendly and funny and made a great lunch.

Looking forward to returning next year. I love Greece.... and the Socrates Plaza!

ps watch out for the mosquitos at night - they are incredibly nasty. Bring some repellent with you...or eat raw garlic several weeks before your trip - George's suggestion - Greeks never get bitten!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

In a secluded area of lovely green Thassos, these hotel and studios provide the perfect family spot for a summer holiday. Very helpful, friendly hosts, comfortable, cool and spacious rooms, private parking area, far from crowds and noises, at the sea front with warm shallow waters that are perfect for babies and small children.
Maid service cleans the rooms every day, sheet and towels are changed twice a week, the kitchenette is sufficiently equipped for easy and fast meals and there is air conditioning which we never used since the rooms were cool all day long.

The pool area is surrounded with pine trees and natural shadows allowing for a full day stay out safe from the sun. Very cozy restaurant area, traditional hotel breakfast and a variety of entertainment - karaoke, BBQ and cocktails.
We stayed for 2 weeks in high season and enjoyed every day of it, especially our baby son. Made some good friends and had plenty of fun. Already recommended it to our friends and will be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: For families with small children pick a studio behind the main building of the hotel to avoid the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We booked a two week break through Thomsons, the travel agent was great and recommended the hotel. We flew from Gatwick and had pre booked the seats, and did a twilight check in. We checked in about 8pm and then stayed overnight in the Premier Inn at Gatwick which was great as in the morning all we had to do was security check and get on the flight.

The flight took 3 and a bit hours before we landed at Kavala which is a small airport with only one other flight there at the same time. We had a coach transfer for 20 mins to the Ferry port. The Ferry is great a nice large air conditioned lounge plus a couple of decks if you want to go outside. The best place seemed to be at the top were there is a nice breeze and great views of Thassos as you arrive.

The Ferry docks slightly on the outside of Thassos only a short walk away from the old town. We then got back on the coach and were transferred to Socrates. The hotel is in Skala Prinou about 20 minutes down the road from Thassos town. The coach can't fit down the small road to the hotel so you get dropped off about 100 yds from the entrance to walk the rest of the way.

This is when you start to see what sort of Hotel the Socrates is, as we approached an elderly lady who is the grandmother of the manager sat in a chair waved and smiled as she directed us to the check in this is where we met George. Our rooms were already preallocated and there was no fuss within 5 minutes we were in the room.

The Hotel rooms have recently been revamped and are very IKEA like if you know what mean, clean and fresh. There are mirrors on both side walls, and laminate flooring. The balcony has a couple of chairs and table. There is a small bathroom with a shower and toilet. There is a fridge in each room and a safety deposit box. The rooms were cleaned daily and sheets and bedding changed three times during each week. Overall I would say the rooms were higher than 3 star.

The daily routine started with a nice breakfast as we went B&B there is the usual ham, cheese, and bread, and also some nice yoghurt and cereal. There is real coffee and juices and if you want it there is a bacon sausages and fried eggs and beans.

There are sunbeds around the pool which are free but always taken up by early risers, there was always sunbeds on the beach which is literally a few steps away. The sunbeds on the beach cost 5 euros for two for the whole day.

The bar is open during the day and the evening until guests finally give up and go to bed. Food and drink is reasonable, all of the classics greek salad, club sandwich etc can be ordered at anytime. The food was excellent. The bar is staffed by Fortis and George at different times, they both work very hard and are really excellent. There is a barbecue and quiz night every Friday which is actually good fun I normally would'nt be into that sort of thing.

The town has a number of really good bars my favourite by far was the Classico which is directly in the centre opposite the port. It is a family run bar husband, wife, and daughter as well as having great wifi they always serve a round with nuts and salty crisps very nice when you are thirsty.

There are number of restaurants everyone mentions the Nest which was great, but if the like the buzz of the little town and want to watch the world go by the try Zorbas the food there was excellent.

After a few days we decided to hire a car and explore the Island we drove down to the Golden Beach which is on the other side of the island past Thassos, about 30 mins drive. There is a sheltered bay there and free sunbeds in the front of an excellent restaurant called Green Sea. It was well worth the trip we went there twice and really enjoyed it.

Other things to do.

You can visit Thassos there is a nice museum and some shops behind the museum there are some ancient ruins, and up the hill past the front of the end of the port is the amphitheatre which has great views of the town and sea. Although it was a hot walk in July to get there.

Before I came to this Hotel I looked at all of the reviews on here and read about George and the hotel, and I thought this sounds just to good to be true, but actually the level of service you get is far beyond what you would imagine. I will use this little story to demonstrate it.

Whilst we were there we were considering going scuba diving, there is a company CAT who operate from Skala Prinou they come to the Hotel pool and you can try on all of the equipment and see how it feels before you commit to it. We missed this and asked George when it was happening again, at this point he offered to call the dive company and arrange to take us diving and he offered to come with us as he had not been diving for a couple of months. He recommended that we go to a different dive spot on at the bottom of the island where you could walk in rather than going out in a boat and getting in that way. We accepted and George came with us to the dive shop and down to the beach where we were diving from. One of my children wasn't too sure about the diving experience and George stayed with her whilst the rest of us dived until the CAT divers took over. He then took great personal care to ensure that we had a great trip. I can't really explain what this meant to us, he had taken time out during a really busy time in the week to let us have a unique diving experience, he customer service was better than any other hotel I have ever travelled too.

We typically take a couple of holidays a year and will definitely come back to the Socrates because of the service that George has given us. Truly five star treatment.

Room Tip: The back rooms are better in my opinion they are quieter and have a great view of the mountains. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

As you walk in to the Socrates Plaza Hotel its cool, stylish and contemporary design indicates that it is a special place. George's welcome and efficient processing at reception means that you are in your allocated room in minutes. The rooms follow the cool and contemporary theme and are immaculately clean. The food in the hotel is excellent and the service is fantastic! A short stroll along the beach (which is beautiful especially in the early evening) brings you to a variety of tavernas and the supermarket, which is well stocked for all your holiday needs. The clear, sparkling sea shelves gently and remains shallow quite a way out but if you care to do serious swimming it can be done as you reach the sea grass bed and beyond.
The Barbeque and quiz night is a must, it provides a great opportunity to meet fellow guests and the food is amazing as is George the quizmaster.
We wanted a week in the sun to relax and recharge our batteries Socrates provided that and more due to George and his team's friendliness, hard work, good organisation and efficiency. Will we return like some of the other guests we met? It has to be yes, as I have to collect my heart, which I lost the moment I walked in to The Socrates Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank LLB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Socrates for two weeks in July. On arrival we were greeted at the reception by George who owns the hotel, who very quickly checked us in and showed us to our apartment. The apartment was spacious and very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a self catering apartment situated at the back of the main building over looking some lovely gardens. The hotel itself is in a brilliant location everything is in easy reach. The beach and views are absolutely beautiful, it really did exceed our expectations. George is very friendly and hospitable and always willing to help, George's Nan was a joy to have around the hotel always having a greeting and smile to share! The pool area is lovely too, it is well maintained and very clean, we also had prompt excellent service at the pool bar. The food served was of excellent standard. We spoke to many people who return year in year out and it is clearly understandable. We ate at many restaurants but our favorite was Dolphin just a stroll away from the hotel. The food was excellent and very cheap compared to other places, the service was fantastic and all done by a young lady called Irinni. One of the the things that did strike us as unusual on holiday was no noise at night, it's got to be the only place we have stayed and not been woken by noisy folk returning from a night out or music blasting till all hours!! We shall certainly return to Socrates next year and recommend the place to others, it really is a lovely place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwison42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful week here in July. Perfect location right on the beach and only a stones throw from the nearest taverna. The best being The Nest. Prices in the hotel and resort very cheap. We have been coming to the Greek Islands for 20 years and noticed when they changed to the euro all the prices went up a lot. Not here we were very surprised. Nice quiet resort, clean beach and clear sea.
We stayed B&B which was very pleasant. Greek yogurt honey cereals. Bread to toast if you wish jams etc. Bacon (Greek style very streaky but tasty) eggs fried, scrambled, hard boiled and sometimes the odd sausage! Coffee tea water and juice. Don't expect English style or standard you are in Greece so Greece style and standard. Great way to start the day overlooking the pool and sea.
Rooms very clean comfy bed. Always come home from holiday with a bad back due to change in bed but not here! Teenagers shared a twin room at the back of the hotel, no complaints. Ours at the front overlooking sea. We did hear music and chatter from bar below but this was not a negative for us. None of the music played would annoy if you were trying to sleep lots of middle of the road pleasant stuff and not too loud.
George made an effort to speak to all his guests which was nice. We found him friendly and helpful. All the staff work hard.
The hotel does ask that you do not reserve beds before a certain time( I think it was 8 or 8.30) if you do they will remove your towels.But sadly they don't. As always there are some people who think they are above the hotel rules. How very very rude not only to fellow guests but to the hotel owners. Shame on you. One day it was FOUR HOURS before saved beds were used.
Car hire not needed for a relaxing break. But if you do hire one there are plenty of places to visit
I can understand why people return here. We may one day but life is short and world is a huge place and we want to see of much of it as we can.
Would have no hesitation to recommend.

Room Tip: Quiet but hot at the back. Some bar noise at the front(sea views) but I preferred these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meeru F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Prinou
7.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 89 in Thasos
423 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Ostria
Hotel Ostria
#4 of 10 in Skala Potamias
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
6.8 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thasos
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Plaza Hotel

Address: Skala Prinou 64010, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Prinou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skala Prinou
Hotel Class:2 star — Socrates Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Socrates Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Plaza Hotel Skala Prinou, Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing