We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thassos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Socrates Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Skala Prinou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thassos”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

On 8th June we arrived at the airport in Kavala and then transferred by coach to the ferry port. After a 40minute journey we arrived at Thassos Town and arrived at the Socrates Plaza Hotel after about 20 minutes We were met by "George", booked in and shown our room which was on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately the lift was not operating and because it takes two days plus to get someone from main land Kavala it had been decided to stop using it in case a visitor got stuck. After a week the climb up three flights didn't hurt so much "it was slower but didn't hurt."
The hotel is B&B only but the breakfast was plentiful, the pool bar provided a good selection of snacks and there were 8 or 9 good restaurants/cafes only 5 min walk away.
There were ample sunbeds around the pool and although the beach, which was on the back steps, was only about 15ft from hotel to sea it also had a good supply of beds which were free although they did ask that at least E2.50 was spent on refreshments.
The staff were extremely helpful and "Bob" the barman was excellent The way things were charged to your room made it so simple as you did have the option of paying daily. There are several trips out which you can do or just lounge and chill. The BBQ night was great and well recommended. All in all George and his team ensured that everyone had a great time and we hope to make it our third visit to Thassos and second to George and the Socrates. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    86
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
67
234
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just arrived home from a fantastic week at the Socrates Plaza 8-15 June. Had a fantastic relaxing week at this little gem of a hotel.The hotel has the perfect location literally sat on the beach and a two mins walk to restaurants and bars. George and his team go the extra mile to ensure everyone has a great time. Would recommend BBQ night to everyone as it was really good fun. The hotel is spotless and the bar tab idea works brilliantly and there is no need to be worried, it works fine! Thassos is a beautiful little island and Skala Prinou remains predominantly Greek . The restaurants are traditional and fairly priced.We enjoyed eating at The Nest and Lourous. All in all a very relaxing week and we would visit again without a doubt..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just arrived home from a 1 week break 08/06 to 15/06 and could not have asked for any more.The ferry ride over to Thassos from the mainland is possibly the best way to arrive to a holiday destination you could imagine.We wanted a chill out week after a couple of bad months and weren't looking for any hustle or bustle,
The hotel is in a fantastic location sat on the beach and 100 meters from the centre of skala prinou with its own swimming pool,pool bar,fresh food to order,cocktails to die for and run by George [ A Roger federer look alike, I no your laughing George as you read this!!!] and his brilliant team of staff.
We wanted our holiday to be as original as possible totally Greek and could not have asked for any more,The rooms are very clean and well set out, the hotel is spotless and well maintained.
A short walk on the beech front to the tavernas and supermarkets gives you some superb places to eat and drink while you watch the ferrys come and go,Larous greek and italian restaurant was our favourite .
All in all a fantastic week away,Will we return? oh yes Quite soon i think to have a look around the island and have a few drinks with George.

Room Tip: all rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallett1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed from 18th May for 2 weeks, and, yet again had a great holiday. The system of charging everything to your room made things much more convenient and you can pay daily if you want to. We were pleased to see that the local area was largely unchanged, and that George and his team were still working hard to ensure every guest had the best holiday possible. Hotel spotlessly clean, breakfasts great and the view from the balcony is breathtaking. If you want a super-relaxing holiday where you're made to feel at home, you'll love it here. If you're worried about being charged for drinks you didn't buy, then I suspect you might have had too many to remember ;). Will definitely return to the Socrates, and would recommend to anyone. If you're put off by the comments about the drinks bills, I'd suggest you ask George to stop serving drinks if your signatures become unrecognisable!! I'm sure he'd agree with a smile :)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThassianBunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

just returned from our 2nd visit to socrates and how its changed you have to charge everything to your room and on checking my bill found other peoples drinks on my bill tried to speak to george but he just said its your room numberso you have to pay also the beach bar music is very loud all day and on barbeque night the noise and music was still loud at 0145
in the room the shower head we had to use an elastic band to hold it up one wall was only half painted
and the drains in the shower room smelt so bad we went out and bought a bottle of bleach
the towel brigade were still on hand at 0600 every morning putting there towels on beds and you still had to by something to use the hotel bed on the beach if thomson could of changed my flight i would have left after a week
that said thassos is still a grat place to go and we are going back in 2015 but not to socrates

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Socrates. The hotel is well situated on the beach and just a short walk from tavernas, supermarket and ferry. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfast in a room overlooking gardens and the sea. Snacks and drinks were reasonably priced and good quality. We made use of the tennis court which George happily prepared for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although we visited the hotel last year we returned for 2 weeks in My 2014. Everything was superb especially the sea view room and swimming pool.The weather was sunny and hot and the cashless payment system was really convenient.All the staff were superb and breakfast was first class Food and drink were very reasonably priced and good qualityThe whole hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and the beach was cleaned every morning and sunbeds set out on the beach and pool area.Plenty tavernas are closeby and the ferryboat terminal for Kavala/Mainland is 5 minutes away. Peaceful,relaxing and a great place to stay.Try the NEST Taverna close by for great food and drink at a fraction of the cost in the U.K..

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are on the north side of the building and have great views over the garden, pool, bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Prinou
10.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
Hotel Blue Dream Palace
#2 of 10 in Limenaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alea Hotel & Suites
Alea Hotel & Suites
#1 of 1 in Skala Prinou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.0 mi away
Louloudis Hotel
Louloudis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pachis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.6 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Plaza Hotel

Property: Socrates Plaza Hotel
Address: Skala Prinou 64010, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Skala Prinou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skala Prinou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Socrates Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Socrates Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Plaza Hotel Skala Prinou, Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing