We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chartfield Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very clean and well organised. The best breakfast we ever had at a B&B! Great cappuccinos and an amazin a la carte menu.
It's right in the center of Kalk Bay and just a short 2 min walk to the Main Road.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Namibia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    148
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
122
384
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a lovely stay for 2 nights with 3 children, it over looks the sea, has easy parking, clean comfy rooms, friendly , professional , staff so sweet and helpful. The most delicious unlimited breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea in a nice garden with a pool. Only downside is that they charged for wifi but that seems to be a South African thing. Would return, very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

One of the guesthouses in Cape Town. Just starting off, the front desk staff were super nice and welcoming while still being professional and were very helpful in conjunction with our two day workshop.

The conference room was very comfortable and clean with great looks out at the sea.

Breakfast was stunning with a twist and offers a full range of very non-hotel-like foods that tasted delicious.

Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zarafina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We asked for the loft room having read reviews on here and we were not disappointed - it really was lovely. We slept with the balcony door open each night so we could hear the sea. Okay - so we could also hear the train but it really was not a problem. The breakfast was amazing with a very full range. My only slight thing would be that I thought having to pay for WiFi was abit cheeky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We love Capetown, we love Kalk Bay, and we love the Chartfield Guest House.
Besides rooms, service and location, the excellent extraordinary breakfast keeps the Guesthouse in our mind. And the coffee service to the room at 7.15 h - wonderful! Thanks a lot to everybody at Chartfield. We´ll come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ysww73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

After our third visit to Chartfield I can only say that I'm grinning like and feeling as smug as a Cheshire cat: this is such a cosy and convenient spot, with such friendly service and thoughtful touches. We'll keep coming back, and highly recommend the loft, with the best views of the house!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGirlZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I found this place on the net and to be honest, the website put me off a bit. Doesn't do justice to it at all. I think the photographer forgot a wide angle lens on the day the photos where taken. I only booked on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. It is fantastic. The service is excellent. It's friendly, relaxing and comfortable - and they have the best breakfast I've ever had in any establishment. Highly recommended. One minor gripe. Parking is a bit limited if going there in your own vehicle. Some upfront advice on where to park would have been helpful. But a minor gripe in context to a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BeowulfTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Property: Chartfield Guest House
Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing