We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly, great week end. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chartfield Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
“Cosy and friendly, great week end. ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed over with friends in this lovely place. Friendly staff, great breakfast and really comfy beds.

Interesting views of the fishing harbour and false bay. A few hundred meters from so many restaurants and quirky shops.

Love being a tourist in my own city!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevinSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    149
    36
    6
    2
See reviews for
123
386
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in few places in Cape Town and this is super. Highly recommended. We stayed in room at the back which was big enough for an extra bed for our daughter. Shower only in that room. Lovely room though. No view at all though so if important to you book a front room. Great friendly efficient service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi_WingDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had an awesome stay! Beautiful guesthouse with friendly and competent staff. Breakfast is 10/10. Only problem was limited parking space. Thank you for making our stay in Kalk bay worthwhile! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laetitia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very clean and well organised. The best breakfast we ever had at a B&B! Great cappuccinos and an amazin a la carte menu.
It's right in the center of Kalk Bay and just a short 2 min walk to the Main Road.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Namibia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a lovely stay for 2 nights with 3 children, it over looks the sea, has easy parking, clean comfy rooms, friendly , professional , staff so sweet and helpful. The most delicious unlimited breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea in a nice garden with a pool. Only downside is that they charged for wifi but that seems to be a South African thing. Would return, very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

One of the guesthouses in Cape Town. Just starting off, the front desk staff were super nice and welcoming while still being professional and were very helpful in conjunction with our two day workshop.

The conference room was very comfortable and clean with great looks out at the sea.

Breakfast was stunning with a twist and offers a full range of very non-hotel-like foods that tasted delicious.

Overall we definitely enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zarafina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We asked for the loft room having read reviews on here and we were not disappointed - it really was lovely. We slept with the balcony door open each night so we could hear the sea. Okay - so we could also hear the train but it really was not a problem. The breakfast was amazing with a very full range. My only slight thing would be that I thought having to pay for WiFi was abit cheeky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
15.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
12.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Property: Chartfield Guest House
Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing