We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chartfield Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kalk Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“1st time South Africa”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wonderful house, very helpful staff and owners who also gave us a lot of info on our further trip down the gardenroute, delicious breakfast, mayn different things to choose from, perfect location to discover Cape Town and the Cape of Good Hope, very good fish restauraunt within 10 min walking distance

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    149
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
123
385
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was my second time at this wonderful guesthouse. I made a point of staying here on this trip.
There was a drawback when I arrived. They have expended the guesthouse and now have rooms across the road. Its a house that has been changed into several rooms. Well, its a walkway rather then a traffic road, however these rooms are not in the main establishment. My room was wonderfully decorated, all new and stylish.The way to the room felt a bit dodgy and dark. I was warned to keep the gate at the entrance closed, however found it unlocked by other guests every time. The gate to the main establishment locks automatically and there is staff on premises, its more reassuring. I was later told that locking the main gate is not necessary since my room has trellidor gate that is very safe. But anyone could enter the passage and wait for unsuspecting guests, that did not make me feel safe. Also, the entrance to my room was only through the trellidor, in a passage to other rooms, and there were two tiny windows on the sides of the entrance, all closed by a curtain. In order to get fresh air and day/morning light, I had to open the curtains and have other guests pass 2 meters away from my bed. As nice as the room itself was, that was not an experience I want to repeat.
I asked to be moved and they could accommodated me from the second night in a room in the main establishment. The room was wonderful and quirky. The breakfast as usual - a feast. And the experience to be remembered.
The hot-water-bottles waiting for you at the bottom of the stairs at night (in the main establishment only :-)), win me over every time :-)
I love, love, love this guesthouse!

Room Tip: A room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysBatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Even though there was construction going on to improve the outside of the facility, it was beautiful on the inside. Very "home-y" feeling. Great views and within walking distance of great restaurants (The Bistro and Harbour House) and shops. Beds were super comfy. Quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hop20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 2 nights at chartfield guesthouse. Our room had a beautiful view towards sea and good restaurants at the harbour are wirhin short walk distance. The athmosphere was very friendly & caring and we felt like staying with friends. Also breakfast offering was delicious!
Very recommendable b&b guesthouse, with a lot of nice details making the stay special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Good location, lovely decor throughout and views of the sea. Breakfast made you feel very special with plenty of options. We combined this with staying in town near Kloof Street on our trip and very glad we did. We preferred Kalk Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WNB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really loved the experience. The breakfast was amazing and the sun streaming into the breakfast room - awesome. The room was everyting we had hoped. One small niggle - would have liked a 2nd bedside lamp - only one.
Staff was helpful and very pleasant.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here - the breakfast was out of this world, especially the capuccinos in bed!
The room was beautifully furnished and the decor of the hotel and gardens was perfect. was only sad to not have time to swim in their pool. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tacita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalk Bay
15.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
12.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Castle Hill
The Inn at Castle Hill
#2 of 5 in Kalk Bay
214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chartfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartfield Guest House

Property: Chartfield Guest House
Address: 30 Gatesville Road | Kalk Bay, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kalk Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kalk Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chartfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chartfield Guesthouse evokes the spirit of a time when everything was done with a little more style and with a lot more attention to detail. It's a haven created to whisk you away from the cares of the world. Chartfield Guesthouse is nestled in this quaint seaside village of Kalk Bay. Our rooms are large and private, allow the cool ocean breeze to whisper through your open windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chartfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chartfield Guest House Hotel Kalk Bay
Chartfield Guest House Kalk Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing