We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing Harbour”

Live Bait in Harbour House
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fishing Harbour”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although living in the Cape for over twenty years and riding past so many times, this was our first visit to the picturesque harbour, We chose to eat and linger at Live Bait as it was perfectly situated on the edge of the harbour wall with an amazing sea view.

The restaurant was extremely busy, but the hostess was super organized and we had a great table with only a few minutes wait. The service was a little slow but we quite happily sat and watched the fishing boats come in after the mornings catch.

Although a lovely menu, we chose good old fashioned fish and chips, which was perfect!

Parking was extremely compact.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleopatra030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    146
    48
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Seafood! Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Absolutely fantastic seafood. They have a plate with seafood - shrimp/prawns, linefish (whatever it is that day), rock lobster (that they call crawfish -- but don't get that confused with US crawfish - not the same thing - it's big!), and mussels. Absolutely the BEST mussels I've ever had (and I've had them at a lot of places). Ask for the shrimp/prawns to be undercooked a bit. The wait staff are wonderful, attentive, lovely people. Best to make reservations if possible (but sometimes their phone is out of order, making that complicated). It is the Kalk Bay Harbour, tel 021 788 5755, and e-mail is harbourhouse@icon.co.za. If I lived nearby, it'd be a regular spot. Lovely to go to after being on the cape. One of best seafood meals I've ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sueBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riebeek Kasteel, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Night!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went as a group of friends to celebrate a birthday and had an awesome time...
from the service to the food,we couldnt find anything wrong...the sushi and seafood was fresh and cooked to perfection!
Very well priced to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coenie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice wine and view of the sea (and a seal)”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Delicious food. We had seafood pasta and Yellowtail and shared a Crème Brulée. The wine was good and the staff was friendly. Also, there was a view of the sea and even a seal outside of our window. This was quite normal, according to the waitress.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dining at seal level”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

No, this is not a typing error: you dine at sea level, but when we were there a big seal was minding his own business next to our window. Live Bait is more affordable than Harbour House and the food is just as great. But the USP of this place is the location, especially at high tide you seem to sit between the waves.
Food and wine are more than okay, the waiters m/v are friendly and quick. However don't choose this place for a romantisch dinner: the acoustic is terrible and apart from that, there is a lot of noise from the water.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Live Bait in Harbour House also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Muizenberg, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Live Bait in Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing