We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and chips the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalky's

Kalky's
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish and chips the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you want good old fashion fish and chips with no frills this is the place to go.lovely.Its not the best looking property in the world but the fish is good nosh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndyGumbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    148
    33
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very tasty fish, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This restaurant is right by the harbor at Kalk Bay. It has no fancy decorations, no fancy tables etc. But the food is simply great. I ordered the snoek and chips. Cost only R48 (less than $5 US) and it tasted great! Beer is less than $2. Get an outdoor table, enjoy the ocean breeze with a nice view and great food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
148 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Who needs fancy restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had originally intended having lunch at the highly acclaimed adjacent hotel. We had waited several minutes for staff to show us to a table, but to no avail. I had seen the crowds of locals at the little harbour café, so decided to join them.
A very "normal" and unpretentious place. You order your meal at the counter, are give a numbered ticket, help yourself to cutlery, find a seat, and wait for a good humoured waitress to arrive with your food.
And what food it was. My hake was white, fresh caught sweet, perfectly steamed in its wonderful
crispy, (not oily) batter.The portion was huge, but I ate every last morsel. The chips were perfect, and remained crunchy, even when they were cold. We don`t get fish `n chips like this anymore in the U.K.
The wife had ordered pickled fish and chips. This is a Cape Malay speciality. Hake is pickled with onions, and a vinegar and curry sauce. I love pickles, and adore curry, but in 44 years of visiting The Cape, had never ever tasted it. My wife said that is was the best she had ever eaten, and convinced me to try it. I was an instant convert. Even took same home.
We shared one of the long communal tables with a group of locals. We were soon chatting away as if we had known each other for years.A great experience.
Kalky`s is obviously modelled on the original Snookie`s in Hout Bay. It has however remained truer to its roots, and, for that reason, is much more enjoyable.
Will certainly return, for super tasty food, at bargain basement prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ripping off tourist one Rand at a time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I went to get the famous fish and chips. After ordering we were told a price and when the credit card was swiped the price was rounded up several Rand. We asked why and they said that's what they do. I said that's stealing and the register person called the owner over and I told him that what he was doing was steeling and he kicked us out for questioning his illegal charges. I said I had no problem if there was a surcharge for a credit card, but to simply round up after seeing the prices on the board is criminal.
We went next door, across the way, and ordered the same fish and chips and sodas for the same quoted prices and paid only that amount. With a smile. Great food and atmosphere elsewhere. Tourist beware of Kalky's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips with ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was taken to Kalky's by a Cape Town expat, it is a local institution, a basic diner serving mostly the African market but the odd tourist pops in .
You queue up in a line stretching for 50 m at peak times when you get to the counter you can choose a vast range of seafood , we had Lobster , calamari and some local fish delicacies with a big serve of chips and a drink for about A$11 each , a feast for a bargain price.
Another colorful aspect is the security guards chasing away the beggars that come to your table with tales of woe and requests for money, the strict waitress's shoo them away and call security to see off the most persistent
A real cultural experience with great food and a side show too, what more could you ask for lunch, finish it off with a walk on the wharf and watch the fishing boats unload their catches
and you get a great feel for Kalk Bay

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourmedia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalky's also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Kalky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing