We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best fish & chips”
Review of Lucky Fish

Lucky Fish
Ranked #15 of 27 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best fish & chips”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Been eating here for over 2 years now. Simply the Best fish & chips. Always good. Friendly staff once you get to know them. Never a bad meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Passion Fish”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

delicious and probably the freshest seafood you can have, right by the harbour! be prepared, no plates and plastic cutlery, but that's what makes it awesome. food is wrapped in paper, not newspaper so relax it's clean! self service, we got there and luckily there was a short queue. sat down, had hake, calamari and chips, perfect! once done, dumped all the paper, cutlery and bottles in their relevant recycling bins and left satisfied!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The food is fresh, well-cooked and superb value for money. The Yellow Tail is especially good. Large portions of chips - we should have shared! Nice views to the harbour.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Simple fish and chips but one can also get calamari and prawns. This is not a great place for fresh fish, lots of chips wrapped in paper. Great for a quick cheap meal with kids. Its situated at the harbour so a walk around the harbour (look out for Rosie the seal) and along the pier is great. Also a good idea to splurge on drinks upstairs at Harbour House for a fantastic view. A millionaire drink and a tramp's (but tasty) meal. Delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
826 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
“Ok place for a quick meal”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our first choice for dinner at Kalk Bay was too full to even try so we tried harbour house lucky fish. The place is not fancy but the prices are reasonable. We had the hake and chips and the portions were generous. The fish was fresh but for some reason I just could not feel any real taste to it. Perhaps it is the batter. In any case with plenty of lemon juice and salt the flavor improved.

There were other choices in the menus that we did not try and they also had samosas and good ciabatta bread. Another good point is that we did not have to wait long for our food to arrived fish and chips all mixed in and wrapped in paper.

Service was relatively fast and friendly. I just could not understand why a piece of fry fish that looks so good and is fresh does not have much flavor. I have had better fried fish in other restaurants in South Africa. That said I would go back to this place if some of the other more popular restaurants in the area are too full to bother.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Fish also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing