We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizzas Ever”

The Outspan Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 28 Restaurants in Kalk Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boksburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Pizzas Ever”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Couldn't get in to other restaurants as it was Fathers Day and all were busy, then we noticed Outspan and took a chance as we thought it was not busy (on the outside, inside was full). The waiter was new and a bit slow but very friendly. We waited quite a long time for drinks and to place a food order but we weren't in a hurry. I had a pizza with the most thinnest base and delicious toppings, just how I like it. Others had prawns and fish and all enjoyed their food immensely. Nothing much to look at but food and prices are worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    0
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple but Amazing”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Casual restaurant with a limited menu but it is based on what is fresh out the sea so the quality is outstanding. It was one of the best meals we have had in Western Cape. The fish is all done on the braai and the value was so worth it. It is also a BYOB so we had wine from a near by wine farm with our meal. Service was also very good and attentive and the chef served our meal and was very informative of where the fish came from. As they braai the food be prepared for your food to smell like smoke after your meal...
A must for Kalk Bay!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raffers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really great yellowtail!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place was very surprising - it doesn't look like much, but boy can they cook!
After going to two other places on the seafront and finding them to be packed, we resignedly decided to go to this restaurant. What a stroke of luck! The grilled yellowtail was fantastic, and great value for money.
Granted, it doesn't have the most scenic view in Kalk Bay, but you're hardly going to look up from your plate anyway when eating here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't beat value for money”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place is unpretentious but the fish off the barbecue is good - big portion of fish, 6 prawns, calamari and good salad - a huge serving at a very good price. Laid back friendly staff. BYO or buy your wine or beer from the nearby bottle store during the day

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Did The Job Well”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Fresh Yellowtail off the braai, chips, salad and cold beer. Very reasonable price, welcoming service. What's not to like?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VikingDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Outspan Restaurant also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Outspan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing