We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rainy, relaxing weekend away”

Review of Harbour Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
The state of the art kitchen with open-planned dining.
The views from the front patio are hard to beat!
Beautiful ocean views from almost every window.
The master bedroom.
The iconic harbour lighthouses in Kalk Bay harbour.
Nespresso on the house.
The Silvermine hiking trail behind the apartment with its wide variety of fynbos and proteas.
Wifi is free and fast.
The deck offers one of the best views in Kalk Bay.
The upmarket Majestic Village is a cluster of refurbished historic buildings in a secure complex.
Guests of Harbour Place can enjoy the sparkling private pool just metres from the apartment.
Top view of the apartment building.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kalk Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LizevRens...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainy, relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

To top my already high expectations, this weekend stay-cation turned out to be one of the best, and most relaxing two days in a long time.

It was a cool and rainy weekend. Only familiar with a warm and sunny Kalk Bay I realized this is definitely a new experience awaiting us. The biggest advantage of staying in Harbour Place, is without a doubt its perfect location. Rain or no rain, it is still amazing.

The fairly new addition to the quaint little town is Bootleggers (proudly Capetonian). They sell perfectly brewed coffee, just outside the entrance of the Majestic where Harbour Place is situated. With windbreakers & hot coffee we went for a refreshing walk to the harbour, in perfect timing to see the train. We strolled down the main road and went for a scenic drive on Boyd’s Drive. The view is breath taking. No rainy or gloomy weather could stop our fun.

After watching an eventful rugby match at Harbour Place we were so grateful for a well equipped kitchen to prepare a wonderful home cooked meal. The soft rain outside created perfect background music, making the ambience quite memorable.

On Sunday morning we visited the Olympia Bakery across the road to complete our Kalk Bay experience. They sell the most delicious baked goods and is the iconic Kalk Bay treat. You definitely can not go wrong with their chocolate croissants. Tiger’s Milk (also fairly new) is just around the corner if you would like to have a craft beer and a very jummy and satisfying pizza.

The in and out check process were effortless. There were also no unnecessary admin or hiccups during the weekend. Everything was well organized, neat and visitor friendly.

Our experience? Pure bliss. Zelda, thank you for making our stay so special.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Dear Lize and Etienne, thank you for your glowing and beautifully written review! Come back soon...this time, in summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, comfort and location
Liked least: The traffic
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you Charles! Next time, please bring your wife and son with you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meredith...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vacation Getaway!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I can't possibly recommend this property highly enough - It was our first visit to Cape Town, with two smallish (Ages 5 and 8) children, and we decided we wanted to stay somewhere with more space and in a smaller neighborhood. Once I found this property, I knew that Kalk Bay would be our home base for the week. The apartment is spotless, comfy and has plenty of space, indoor and out. It was a challenge each morning to pull ourselves out of Kalk Bay to explore all Cape Town has to offer. You never need to leave - there are tons of restaurant choices and loads of stores to stroll through. Thankfully, Zelda, the owner, had provided us with wonderful recommendations, most of which we took, and they were spot on! I plan on telling everyone I know who is headed to Cape Town, not only about Kalk Bay, but specifically about this apartment!! Thank you Zelda and team for helping to make our vacation outstanding!

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Dear Meredith, thank you for choosing us for your family break. So glad you fell in love with Kalk Bay...we hope that means you?ll be back soon : )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nkd970
1 review
“Authentic Cape Seaside Escape”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I spent a week of my trip to South Africa earlier this year in Cape Town. I'm glad I chose Harbour Place and Kalk Bay over some of the tourist traps I saw in the the city bowl, Cape Town's downtown area. If you're looking for an authentic experience where you get to soak up the relaxed, fun vibe of the Mother City - as South Africans lovingly call Cape Town - I'd recommend this small harbor town on the Cape Peninsular's east side. It's location allows for quick and easy access to all of Cape Town's highlights: it's located midway between the city center and the Cape Nature Reservation. From here trips to Boulders Beach to see jackass penguins lazing on rocks or to Groot Constantia to taste the Cape's famous wines or to incomparable beaches like Llundudno or Long Beach are a short car ride. At the end of the day, it was great to return to Harbor Place. The apartment is located in a grand old building which is part of a larger secured complex with a full-time guard at the entrance. Here you can park your car with complete peace of mind that it is safe and sound. With its high ceilings and large windows, the apartment is bright and airy. The upscale decor is complimented by comfy and unique touches that makes the space feel more like a home than a holiday suite. The living room opens up onto a hedged -- so private -- patio area where you can grill and hang out and watch the sun set with a glass of wine. There's a great kitchen space too with all the modern amenities, including a Nespresso machine. And, on your arrival, personalized notes and chocolates on your pillow from Zelda make your arrival all the more special and memorable.

By the way, there is a great restaurant right across the street called Olympia Cafe. I strongly recommend it. Most cafes and restaurants in Cape Town are on par with what you would find in places in New York City or London, but cheaper thanks to the strong greenback.

If you need to stock up on groceries, try the adjacent town Vishoek. Kalk Bay has a small deli style convenience store that offers the basics as well as a wide variety of Indian pop music in case you are into that.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrCynthia...
Millstone, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy and Spacious Slice of Waterfront Living on Holiday"”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a a well-appointed 2 bed/2 bath apartment with all of the amenities that a family can ask for! We only wish we had a longer time to stay and BBQ and enjoy the sunshine and the boat traffic.We loved the bakery and and the bakery's restaurant on the corner across the street. Zelda was so kind to have complete instructions for every gadget needed to enjoy endless movies and fresh brewed Nespresso. We were in heaven.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterview
Liked least: Traffic was a bit noisy from the street during rush hour but tolerable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl R
New York City, New York
1 review
“Elegant & spacious accommodation with home comforts and harbor views”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I know Cape Town well. After a long, brutally cold winter I needed a vacation destination far removed from the mania of New York's city life but which still offered the comforts and amenities of restaurants and shops and -- not having a car -- access to the railway. I chose to stay in Kalk Bay. It's a seaside village that, at face value, is in perpetual slumber. Situated between the surfer's paradise of Muizenberg and the family friendly resort town of Vishoek, Kalk Bay is nestled between mountain slopes and a small fishing harbor. Take a stroll along the harbor jetty to take in the salty sea air, feed the gulls or simply savor the sunset over False Bay. Choose between four harbor restaurants -- from outside benches to fine dining -- to taste the catch of the day. Walking along Kalk Bay's main drag, I'm put in mind of the laid back bohemian vibe of an artsy Brooklyn enclave. The row of galleries and antique shops are interspersed with eateries ranging from that perfect morning cappuccino and eggs benedict at The Olympia Café to The Brass Bell, a relaxed, friendly late night watering hole overlooking the sea. And centrally located in the midst of it all is Harbour Place. This two-bedroom, two-bath apartment may be on the ground floor but, wow, it's a quiet and secure oasis. Coming from New York -- the capital of tiny apartments -- the first thing that struck me was its airy spaciousness and high ceilings. This is a well-built historic building: the thick walls close out noise and keep in the coolness. Two of us stayed here earlier this year but Harbour House can easily accommodate a family. With its open plan well-equipped kitchen, long dining table and patio BBQ, it's also a great place to entertain friends. But, above all, Harbour Place feels like home from home. You can’t wait to crash on the massive pillowy bed in the master bedroom every night. Wake up mornings to a perfectly brewed cuppa from the Nespresso machine. And in the late afternoons, there's nothing better than to sit in the cushioned bay window with a good book.

Date of stay: April 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.