We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good friendly hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Stayed for a weekend away. We arrived rather late, but this wasn't a problem, We were quickly checked in. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large and airy and equipped as described on the website. We stayed in one of the Executive rooms in the annexe. I think the bathrooms are in need of updating, but were quite acceptable for the money. Unfortunately, it didn't have a view over the lovely open countryside, but as we didn't spend much time in the room, this wasn't a problem for us. Despite the hotel being on a main road, it was lovely and quiet.
Breakfast was delicious and kept us going all day. We had a meal in the restaurant which was good. Some items were a little pricey, but mainly offered good, value for money, food.
Smokers are well catered for, there is an covered area outside - "smoking jackets" are offered for when it is cold!
We enjoyed our stay here and found it to offer everything we expected and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    82
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
43
117
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poulton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

A perfect break! If you are after a nice relaxing break away from everyday life then this is the place to go! We booked this hotel last minute, just for the one night, and were really rather unsure what to expect but on arrival we were certainly not disappointed. We found the staff all extremely friendly and welcoming, especially the owner Jenny. We stayed in the Kelbrook suite and we pretty much blown away by the size of the rooms, the cleanliness and the attention to detail (flat screen tv and jacuzzi bath were just a couple to mention). The views of the countryside from our window were stunning to say the least. We had our evening meal elsewhere in the village, but the breakfast at the stone trough was absolutely spot on. Freshly cooked on order and served by yet more friendly and smiling staff. We will certainly be going back to this hotel again soon and have already highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoultonMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire/Yorkshire border
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed overnight even though we live 2 miles away as this was a special meal and night out with some great friends of ours.
The room we stayed in was better than a "feature room" we have had in an expensive hotel in the Lakes.
The restaurant was set out and decorated specially for our group and Jenny could not have been more helpful. All the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We will definitely be back for similar visits.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumphfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

As business users, we used to stay at this hotel regularly but we will not be again!

We authorised payment to be taken from our business charge card as the card was not present with the guests. This hotel took an unauthorised payment from our card even though we had sent them a fax advising them of the payment amount to be taken!

We tried to resolve this matter by telephoning the hotel, each time we were advised that someone would call us back. No-one ever did! We left at least 10 messages over a 4 month preiod to find out what this unauthorised payment was and who decided it was okay to take an unauthorised payment in the first place!

We telephoned the hotel again just last week (end of July 2009) and was again told the same thing - someone would telephone us back. After explaining that we had been told this all along and we were still waiting, we were guaranteed that someone really would telephone us back the next day. What a surprise, no-one did!

We cannot get the matter resolved. Their customer service is appalling. We will not be using this hotel again for this simple reason: If they cannot sort out a such a serious query how can we have faith in them sorting out any further problems in the future?

If you do stay at this hotel - WATCH OUT - make sure you look at the payment that has been taken from your card - as the payment may be higher than you agreed/expected and like us, you may not get the matter resolved.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NWTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Rooms nice, clean and tidy with good en-suite. Disabled Room felt a little dark with poor lighting and small window. Very good Breakfast in private dining room. Evening meal was available in the bar/Restauant with a very good chef shown by his food and the number of people. Location in the countryside with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0wnCrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

I stayed here quite a few times around 2001-2005. My only complaint was as I was late booking, sometimes on the same day, i rarley got a "value" room, and had no choice but a "executive" room ("bronze", "silver" or "gold".. lol) - which seems exactly the same as other rooms except for say gold taps and chocolate bicuits.. not a lot of extra value for a £20-30 premium....

My advice - try to book in advance to get the lower cost rooms.
Other hotels offer last minute rooms at a discount, these guys seemed to work the other way around.

The breakfasts are excellent. The meals in the nice large bar and restaurant inthe evenings is good too. Good ambience, popular with locals and guests. Most of the times I visited I went out inthe evenings to eat, only at the end of my set of trips did I realise the restauarnt is actually one of the better places to eat in the area. (PS - Avoid the indian up the road in Foulridge, despite the glitz and glamour (of this converted motor workshop) I have had a few poor meals there - despite giving it a "second chance" a few times)

Rooms are clean and well presented. Plenty of car park space.

  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

I only stayed overnight at the hotel as i was up at head office for a 2 day course.

My room was clean and tidy and recently decorated , and had a large queen sized bed thrown in to boot.
The bath was big, and the shower was satisfactory - with plenty of soaps and towels. Other facilities were as what you'd expect from a good hotel, trouser press, TV, tea making facilities, large wardrobe and a comfy sofa as well.

We had a meal in the bar, food being mid priced but i must say they must have an excellent meat provider as the steak was absolutley wonderfull, cooked exactly how it should of been and was of high quality.

There is a large plasma TV in the corner of the bar, wich you can watch whilst drinking from a good choice of beers - hotel prices as you'd expect but nothing to much over the odds.

In all my experience of my stay was good, and if i was in the area again i'd definatly use the place again.

  • Liked — The quality of the food
  • Disliked — walking outside to my room in a seperate block
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelbrook
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.0 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stone Trough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stone Trough Hotel

Property: Old Stone Trough Hotel
Address: Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Kelbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stone Trough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Old Stone Trough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stone Trough Hotel Kelbrook, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing