We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Requiring accommodation at short notice last week I was lucky enough to be pointed in the direction of The Old Coach House, which thankfully had one room left for the evening I required.

I truly can not fault the standard of accommodation or hospitality available at The Old Coach House and I would not hesitate to recommend a stay there.

From arrival I was treated as a valued guest with a warm friendly welcome and when shown to my room I was delighted with how well appointed and luxurious it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomHedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
607
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Since our stay last year we now compare all accomodation we stay at against The Old Coach House and for us it has not yet been equalled. I am disabled and have limited mobility and found the ground floor room we were allocated ideal for me with a en-suite wet room, simply brilliant. The staff were all so helpful and Kate the manager made our stay effortless for us and so enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: All rooms were quality, basically the outlook was general
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrelPriestley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We would highly recommend The Old Coach House. Everything about it is excellent and the staff are great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived late on Saturday night after terrible journey in the snow. We were welcomed very warmly and quickly shown to our beautiful room-- no 4- the best room i am told. Lovely size and beautifully appointed. Flowers and fruit. ( in my view the flowers unnecessary) they had already booked us a restaurant and immediately arranged our taxis- great service! The guest house was about 10 mins from ripon and is a little far out but in a lovely spot and is really quite special. In the morning we went into the quaint but immaculate breakfast room and the breakfast was superb. Nothing too much trouble. The breads/ jams were local produced and gorgeous. The overall experience was excellent and I feel they deserve to do well. If you are prepared to stay a little out of the town --- I doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 4 -- a little more expensive but perhaps worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We're busy looking at our diaries, even though we've only just got home. We had a lovely stay, in a spacious, clean and pleasant room. Really handy to have a fridge in the room, and nice views of the courtyard from the window. Great spot for exploring the dales and the moors, and our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming. Breakfast = YUM! Definitely one not to miss.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed just one night but cant recommend highly enough the Old Coach House ,other b & bs should visit here just to see what quality accomodation,food and service is and learn from Jackie and Amy.
The rooms spotless and I spent the best part of 30 mins in the lovely hot shower, nothing it too much for these ladies and I urge you to visit here if you are in this area ,you WONT be disaapointed and I hope to return soon.
Well done ladies you made my stay a pleasure and I hope you got your Pay Pal sorted out
ps its Gerry never mind the formal Mr Gray LOL
Thanks once again 5* indeed

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellencamp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Old Coach House and wish we were back! Gorgeous bedrooms with lovely art work and nice views. You are provided with everything you need- wine glasses, lovely bathing products and a piping hot shower. The staff were very friendly and accomodating (we loved the little personal touchs such as the extra earl grey in the room!) The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and within a relaxing atmosphere. There is access to lots of maps, guides and leaflets and we were advised on a beautiful walk around the surronding villages.With so much to see and do you really are spoilt. Thank you

Room Tip: all the rooms are to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
457 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
796 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: 2 Stable Cottages, North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing