We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed using a Groupon voucher and this was great value for money. The room was very tastefully furnished and although this was not the deluxe rooms it did have a fridge and fresh milk was provided each day. A very much appreciated extra. As other reviewers have mentioned breakfast was excellent with a extensive choice of fresh fruit. Everyone was very friendly, all together a great stay. We would stay here again if we visit this area and would happily pay the going rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for The Old Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was a good location to stay to visit relatives in Ripon and and then we drove on to York and Whitby.
The Old Coach House was set in a quiet village and easy to find. We were given a lovely welcome and our double room was spotless with all the added comforts. The fresh bowl of fruit, fresh coffee, water and biscuits were a lovely touch.
We slept well after asking for the beautiful fountain to be switched off as quite noisy outside the window. The gardens with the lavender pathways caught the eye and the separate breakfast area worked well away from the bedrooms - no clanking heard in the morning !
We were guided to a great pub for the evening and sat enjoying the local produce which was excellent. The dales were relaxing and great for walking with amazing views.
We would definitely go back here. The warm welcome and stay was excellent - if only all were like this heh! A great base to explore more

Room Tip: Have an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journalist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

An absolutely fabulous place to stay. Extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and very friendly, helpful staff. Our every need was anticipated, we couldn't ask for more. As for the breakfast we've never seen such choice and all beautifully cooked and presented. We will,as they say, be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and myself stayed in the Moors room 3 for 3 nights 16,17,18 July and wow what an experience! marvellous is all I can say from the super friendly staff right down to the comfortable bed and extrememely clean room , not forgetting the huge breakfast with so much choice nothing was too much trouble for the staff who work very hard to get this guest house a 5 star .thanks to all Eileen.& Tony

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend break here ,with our friends the ladies who run the hotel are so helpful and friendly they really made us very welcome ,! .The rooms were pure luxury ,, so clean !! beautifull flowers , and fresh fruit on arrival in the room . Breakfast was brilliant so much choice,and everything at hand .we really didnt want to leave this hotel , it was everything and more that the web site offered . Fantastic ,,!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

During a long European trip we were lucky enough to stay here for 4 days during summer (ie freezing) - Amy and Jackie looked after us like we were visiting family and the breakfasts were amazing and set you up for the rest of the day. We stayed in a premier room upstairs - definitely worth the little bit extra and much much nicer than we had anticipated from the website. Everything remained absolutely spotless throughout our stay and we were genuinely sad to leave. On top of all this, the Old Coach House is set in beautiful countryside with numerous great pubs close by (some of which serve fantastic restaurant quality cuisine - ask the girls for some recommendations. If you're anywhere in the North, try and find a way to get here! We'll certainly be back.
Steve & Veronique - Sydney

Room Tip: Upstairs premier rooms are worth a little bit extra - much larger and very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Helen and I have just returned from a 5 night Stay at the Coach House.
We stayed in the Moors Room 2 ( A super deluxe double ) which was a great choice

The Coach House provides the perfect combination of 5 Star accommodation , with the added benefits of the superb Breakfast offer created by Amy, Daniel and Jackie.
(who's advice on local Restaurents and places to visit was spot on.)

All in all I would not hesitate recommending a stay here ,( either as a base for touring the fantastic Yorkshire Dales and Moors , (RIpon Cathederal is an an absolute gem), or for a couple of nights as a treat

We hope to return next year
Brian and Helen

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
470 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
834 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Address: North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing