We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Coach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came to catch Le Tour De France, as it went close by, and had a tremendous time. The room was spot on, clean, tidy, very comfortable and with all mod. cons. The location was peaceful and charming. We especially enjoyed drinking a glass or two, sat in the delightful garden near the fountain. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDHulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for The Old Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Friends of ours had booked this for its location on the route of the first stage of the Tour de France so we weren't quite sure what to expect as we had only had a quick look at their web site. From arrival to departure everything was exactly as it should be for a top quality destination. Room was well appointed and had very nice little 'extras' such as Tour de France cup cakes!. The setting is very tranquil with a pleasant walled garden area and extensive lawn. Breakfast was first class with as good a range of produce you would get in the best hotels. All staff were genuinely friendly and eager to make our stay as memorable as possible. Would we come back, definitely yes! ONE NOT TO MISS.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms are to a very similar high standard and of same size. Decide if you want ground or...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon-Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here on 26 June and absolutely loved it. It was recommended to us by friends and we owe them big thanks. It's in a lovely country setting and our paper work and key was ready for us before we arrived! The lady that checked us in showed us how things worked in the room, which had tea & coffee making facilities, a large TV, safe, under floor heating as well as a radiator. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and toiletries. There were even hand made chocolates and biscuits. Everywhere was modern and tastefully decorated. The cooked breakfast was hot, lovely and tasty and we had toast, tea and fruit juice. There were also cereals available. All in all we couldn't have asked for more, they seem to have thought of everything. Would most definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We would highly recommend The Old Coach House. Every little detail has been thought of. The room was exceptional and spotlessly clean. The TV a decent size to. Breakfast was a delight. Its a shame the pub over the road doesnt open at all on a Monday night which after a long journey you dont want to travel much further for dinner, but dont let that stop you from staying.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluetabby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We can highly recommend this B&B. Stunning location. Room exceptional and really clean. Extra touches and service are what makes this stand way above the rest. Bowl of fresh fruit, tea and coffee etc. Chocolates on the bed. Amy and Jackie are really friendly and helpful. Don't expect to lose weight staying here the breakfasts are amazing. We were in North Stainley checking out my ancestors as 3 x Great Grandparents are buried in the churchyard there. Everyone was really helpful including the church warden. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and we will be returning with hopefully a longer stay.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First visited the Old Coach House about a year ago and it was great then. A return visit didn't disappoint. The rooms are still perfect and the breakfast amazing. You are made to feel welcome from start to finish and nothing is too much trouble. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Worth paying the few pounds extra for the upstairs rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Three of us spent three nights here whilst exploring the Yorkshire Moors and Dales on motor bikes. It is truly a great place to stay. The service is outstanding, breakfast fantastic and the small touches in each room makes all the difference. Its in a brilliant location for touring with plenty of on site parking. The Staveley Arms is directly opposite and serves great meals. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Stainley
3.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
470 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
5.1 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
834 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
370 reviews
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Address: North Stainley, Ripon HG4 3HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > North Stainley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Stainley
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Coach House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An accommodation jewel, this 18th-century 5* Gold Award luxury guest house stands proud in the grounds of North Stainley Hall just North of Ripon in North Yorkshire. This delightful property is located between the Yorkshire dales and North Yorkshire Moors National Park and is in a great position to explore these areas of outstanding natural beauty. All 8 guest rooms are en-suite and designed with modern living in mind yet retaining the feel of a traditional character property and our hearty award-winning Wensleydale breakfasts are renowned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Ripon/North Stainley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing