We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Mallard Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mallard Grange
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Mallard Grange recently. Room was spotless with
a huge comfy bed very inviting. Breakfast fantastic so much to choose from and so delicious.
With guests sat round the dining table was so informal and gave all the guests chance to get to know each other. Maggie you are such a lovely lady that you make all your guests special.
Many thanks for such a lovely time and we will be back.

Pamela and James the Ripon race goers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Our thanks for a lovely review, your positive comments mean a lot and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just having spent 3 nights there I can say unequivocally YES! The location is great with so many things just a short drive away. We stayed in one of the rooms only a few steps away from the farmhouse. This was very spacious - more like a suite - with enormous bed, comfortable sofa, large TV, great en-suite, with everything you needed - and spotless. It was "serviced" discreetly every morning while we were at breakfast. But this is only half of the story. The whole place is homely and the welcome genuine - Maggie can't do enough for you but does so in such a natural way that you feel you are among friends. You breakfast round one large table and we really enjoyed the conversations with our fellow guests which turned breakfasts into quite lengthy social occasions , with Maggie joining in when she had finished cooking. As for the breakfasts themselves.......All in all this is a very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for such a smashing review...........your kind comments mean a lot and are much appreciated. We are in a beautiful spot near Fountains Abbey and our aim is to offer really good bed and breakfast experienced in a relaxed, friendly and social atmosphere. So pleased you enjoyed it and hope you will come back and stay with us again. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

..Best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.Room was spotless ,light and airy.with a big comfy bed to literally sink into.Breakfast was amazing.lots of choice and beautifully cooked.and we loved that you could chat to the other guests around the table.Maggie you really are a wonderful hostess and you made us feel so welcome.cant wait to come back. janet and john.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetbrowne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello J&J, Many thanks for your lovely review - so very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our farmhouse B&B and we hope to see you again in the future. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights with Maggie, Charles, reef the dog, several farmyard cats on their superb farm. The welcome was genuine and warm and the room with ensuite bathroom with bath was large, warm, beautifully appointed featuring a very comfortable bed. It was more of a suite with a comfy settee and large telly than just a bedroom. The location with Studley Royal and Fountains Abbey across the road and Ripon minutes away was ideal for us. The recommended eating places in nearby villages we sampled were first class. Maggie was always on hand to give tourist advice. My wife ate gluten free breakfasts which were provided without any fuss. The breakfasts taken around an 8 seater table in the characterful dining room were classy. All in all if you want to visit this part of North Yorkshire this in my opinion must be one of the finest places to stay.

Room Tip: The room we had in the outbuilding with bath was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Southernhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your stay in the north of our county - you were both ready for a break and it is good to know you found your room here so comfortable and our location near Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal so convenient - not forgetting the superb places to eat locally. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were made very welcome and felt at home here immediately. The seriously large room was superb in every way - a very comfortable bed and quality en suite. The breakfasts were just amazing, setting us up for the day! Once she had served our cooked breakfast for us, Maggie would sit down at the table and find out where we were going that day and offer lots of really helpful advice. We hope to revisit, but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

So very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our farmhouse B&B. It was lovely to meet you and we do hope that you come back and stay with us again - there is more of this beautiful county to explore. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A Bed and Breakfast that delivers in all areas... Enormous ultra comfy bed in a great room...superb quality and quantity of Breakfast around the big farmhouse table .... Attentive owner and staff with an excellent knowledge of local attractions/hostelries/restaurants... peace and tranquility with the animals all down a short private farm track. Definitely one for the 'favourites list' if you're a social traveller who prefers comfy to corporate

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for such a positive review and I am really pleased your two night stay proved to be so relaxing and comfortable. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Realy very good.
Maggie is an excellent host-we immediately felt at home.
Extremely helpful in organizing our stay in North Yorkshire.
Rooms and breakfast are top.
A place to recommend.
Nicole and freddy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie961990, Owner at Mallard Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt at home here, that is just how we would like all our guests to feel. It was lovely to meet you and thank you for choosing Mallard Grange. Every good wish Maggie and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldfield
2.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
785 reviews
6.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
371 reviews
11.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,684 reviews
8.1 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Grange

Address: | Near Fountains Abbey, Aldfield, Ripon HG4 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Aldfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldfield
Price Range: £92 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mallard Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rambling 16th-century listed farmhouse in glorious countryside close to Fountains Abbey & Studley Royal World Heritage Site. Welcoming, relaxed, spacious and exceptionally comfortable. Four en suite double/twin guest rooms, two on the ground floor. Walk, tour or cycle in the stunning scenery of the Dales/Moors and be revived; visit historic houses, beautiful gardens, stop for tea and indulge in a Yorkshire Fat Rascal at Betty's and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mallard Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallard Grange Aldfield, Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing