We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class B & B”
Review of Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jervaulx
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park House
Ranked #1 of 1 Jervaulx B&B and Inns
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First class B & B”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Visited Park House recently with family from the USA. On arrival we were welcomed by Ian who, after showing us to our rooms, kindly provided us with tea and cake.
My wife & I had opted for the luxury room which proved to be well worth the extra small charge. The room was spotless and nicely decorated, a comfortable king size bed and a generous closet for hanging clothes. Good selection of tea/coffee with fresh milk and water available from the fridge in the adjacent sitting area. The private bathroom is not en-suite but immediately next door so this was not a problem. Spacious and very well appointed, with a whirlpool bath.Lovely to relax in after a busy day, and you can also watch TV whilst soaking in the bath. Just a hand shower so not so good for those who prefer a shower.
Breakfast was a typical 'Yorkshire Fare' with a wide selection to meet all tastes. It goes without saying most of the food was locally sourced.
The B & B does have the benefit of the privately owned Abbey just across the road. During our stay Ian entertained us with the trials and tribulations of owning and maintaining the Abbey.
A short but very sweet stay - the family from the USA were suitably impressed with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in Park House guest house, right across the road from the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. The owners, Ian and Carol Burdon, (who incidentally also own the abbey and abbey tea rooms) could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room four, which was beautifully decorated, and there was a superb bathroom complete with a very expensive top of the range large jacuzzi bath.

Guests have the use of a lounge area on the upper landing, which features a very nice selection of varied books, with sufficient variety to suit all tastes.

A nice selection of fayre was offered for breakfast, in the lovely downstairs dining room, the food was first class and served with the personal touch.

There are plenty of attractions within ten miles, including two different brewery tours in Masham, Jervaulx abbey (of course) The Wensleydale steam railway, Semerwater, Aysgarth falls, Bolton Castle, West Burton falls, Richmond castle, and the lovely woodland walks at Hackfall to name but a few.

So to sum up, if you fancy a well deserved break "away from it all" in the Yorkshire dales, you will find Park House very hard to beat. Marks?..10/10.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This has to be one of the best places to stay in the Wensleydale area. The hosts Ian and Carol do all they can to make a stay perfect. The house, Park House has an excellent range of facilities for the visitor. The room we had was excellent in all respects and we had access to a well equipped lounge area.

We have stayed before and were looking forward to Breakfast -we were not disappointed. All aspects, as before, were outstanding. There is a really wide range available and it really is a place to go to just for the food!

For the evening meal we went to the Coverbridge Inn - recommended by Ian - and again a magical place. Park House also have a taxi business which we tempted to use so that we could enjoy the excellent beer and food without driving - next time we will!

The family also own an excellent cafe for walkers and visitors as well as the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey just across the road. The Abbey has been in the ownership of the family since the 1970s and is well worth a visit. Once a powerful Cistercian Abbey it is now a romantic, picturesque ruin. The buildings are quite well preserved in parts and be easily interpreted with a guide from the house.

If you are visiting Wensleydale then we think this is THE place you should stay. It is ideally placed to visit the whole area and we would go out of way to stay here if driving through Yorkshire and wanted to break our journey.

We used this as a base to visit the Wensleydale Railway where we had a day learning how to drive a DMU locomotive!

Room Tip: Ask Ian about walks from the house, places to go or things to see -he is a real resource. They norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Park House Guest Accomodation is a delightful place to stay. The owners also own the beautiful Jervaulx Abbey set in a tranquil park on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales. Ian and Carol provide a very warm welcome. The bedrooms are elegant and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit salad and imaginative cooked menu-all beautifully presented. A very restful and restoring place to stay for a night or of course for much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Ian and Carol are great hosts, did not arrive till late afternoon. Ian showed us around his lovely home. Our room was spotless and large enough for the 2 of us. We arranged to eat at the Coverbridge Inn 2 mile away, we drove there, and after a lovely meal and a few drinks, Ian and carol picked us up later that night for a lift home, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was superb. We then had a lovely walk around Jervaulx abbey just across the road from Park house. Will be telling my family and friends about this great B&B. Hope to return one day for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Ian and Carol were wonderful hosts, a delicious free cake and drink at their coffee shop next to the B & B. Spotless clean rooms, and a delightful residents lounge area with lots of reading matter. To be able to just walk across the road to Jervaulx Abbey, which they also own, to us was magic. We have been coming to this area for approx twenty years and visit the Abbey ruins every time, in all weathers. Will certainly be making a return visit to Park House in the future, and would love for Ian to give us a tour himself of the Abbey, which he does do, because his knowledge of the place I'm sure is endless.To say they have only been doing bed and breakfast since 2010 they are real pro's. The breakfast great, we don't usually have fried breakfasts, but sorry diet just for once could not resist the temptation!! The Wyville Arms a ten minute drive away was recommended by Ian for an evening meal,food was cooked fresh, staff pleasant, so we visited there the two evenings of our stay.I can wholeheartedly say, Park House for a break away, comfy beds, lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Our next visit we will ask for a room overlooking the Abbey, but as this was a very last minute book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had friends camping nearby and we decided to book in at Park House. Online it looked really nice. There is no online reservation system but if you call, they are very helpful.
We arrived to be offered free cake and tea which was a lovely touch. We were then shown to our room which was tastefully decorated, modern, clean and had great view over the gardens.
There is a communal area between all the rooms where you can help yourself to fresh milk and cold water, along with home made biscuits.
The bathroom was spacious and the shower was very good.
We had a great nights sleep, probably too good before heading downstairs for breakfast where we were welcomed and enjoyed listening to local history about the abbey and the family estate.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic, freshly cooked for us, we had left the order on the table the night before so all on time and ready for when we arrived.
The owners couldnt make us feel any more welcome.
I usually holiday in hotels and rarely in a B&B but this place has changed my opinion and its the way forward for me.
Well done to the family for making this a great trip.
We will be back again next year, or even this year if we are in the area!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickdooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House

Property: Park House
Address: Jervaulx, Jervaulx HG4 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Jervaulx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jervaulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Guest accommodation is all you would want from a luxury bed and breakfast. Set at the entrance to the Yorkshire Dales and steeped in history, Jervaulx along with its Abbey was home to the Cistercian Monks for centuries and is now owned by your hosts, you can enjoy what is now the tranquil ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park House Jervaulx, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing