We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, beautiful, and friendly”
Review of Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jervaulx
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park House
Ranked #1 of 1 Jervaulx B&B and Inns
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, beautiful, and friendly”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Your hosts are extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The setting could not be more beautiful: across from pasture land with sheeop, cows, and the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. Tea rooms are located next door with excellent food. There are beautiful accommodations, a wonderful sitting area stocked with interesting books, and a jacuzzi tub to die for. It's only a couple of miles from a couple of great pubs, too. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I recommend the top-line room, since it comes with the fancy bathroom and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDTADT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Fantastic stay would recommend to everyone ,super hosts and superbe surroundings ,slept like a dream and welcomed in the morning with a lovely breakfast ,Fresh milk supplied for our early morning cuppa. Also gave a recommendation for our evening meal which was also excellent.Initially on arrival a welcome cup of tea,and cake ( gluten free for the coeliac traveller )Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this delightful B & B and enjoyed every second. Carol and Ian made us feel very welcome as guests in their stunning home. The rooms are spotless and Carol's attention to detail is perfect. Our room was beautiful with the most comfortable bed and a glorious bathroom. We really didn't want to leave! Extensive choice at breakfast cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Ian was on hand to offer advice and information on days out - we took his suggestion and had a great day. It was our first trip to the Yorkshire Dales and most certainly not our last - can't wait to return! Thank you Carol and Ian - we'll definitely be back!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
411 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A couple of nights B&B in the absolute glories of the Yorkshire Dales. The couple who own tis place also own the ancient Cistercian monastery opposite Park House. They have given considerable attention to fine-tuned detail throughout this delightful Yorkstone property. Thick towels, new beds and bedding, Colourschemes are gentle but thoughtful. Lots of sturdy new coathangers, spotlighting, tissues in white ceramic square containers. Breakfast couldn't possibly have offered more choice. Whatever we asked for was offered. Next door they also own a busy teashop, plus plant palettes with lots of plants for sale. Also in this tea room is homemade cakes (multiple choice) and the start to numerous walks. Maps, map books, ... get the message? Yes, a definite place to return to. £75 per room per night. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room One was bright and looked onto a massive Estate garden but the bath had no overhead shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Visited Park House recently with family from the USA. On arrival we were welcomed by Ian who, after showing us to our rooms, kindly provided us with tea and cake.
My wife & I had opted for the luxury room which proved to be well worth the extra small charge. The room was spotless and nicely decorated, a comfortable king size bed and a generous closet for hanging clothes. Good selection of tea/coffee with fresh milk and water available from the fridge in the adjacent sitting area. The private bathroom is not en-suite but immediately next door so this was not a problem. Spacious and very well appointed, with a whirlpool bath.Lovely to relax in after a busy day, and you can also watch TV whilst soaking in the bath. Just a hand shower so not so good for those who prefer a shower.
Breakfast was a typical 'Yorkshire Fare' with a wide selection to meet all tastes. It goes without saying most of the food was locally sourced.
The B & B does have the benefit of the privately owned Abbey just across the road. During our stay Ian entertained us with the trials and tribulations of owning and maintaining the Abbey.
A short but very sweet stay - the family from the USA were suitably impressed with our choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in Park House guest house, right across the road from the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. The owners, Ian and Carol Burdon, (who incidentally also own the abbey and abbey tea rooms) could not have been more helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room four, which was beautifully decorated, and there was a superb bathroom complete with a very expensive top of the range large jacuzzi bath.

Guests have the use of a lounge area on the upper landing, which features a very nice selection of varied books, with sufficient variety to suit all tastes.

A nice selection of fayre was offered for breakfast, in the lovely downstairs dining room, the food was first class and served with the personal touch.

There are plenty of attractions within ten miles, including two different brewery tours in Masham, Jervaulx abbey (of course) The Wensleydale steam railway, Semerwater, Aysgarth falls, Bolton Castle, West Burton falls, Richmond castle, and the lovely woodland walks at Hackfall to name but a few.

So to sum up, if you fancy a well deserved break "away from it all" in the Yorkshire dales, you will find Park House very hard to beat. Marks?..10/10.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This has to be one of the best places to stay in the Wensleydale area. The hosts Ian and Carol do all they can to make a stay perfect. The house, Park House has an excellent range of facilities for the visitor. The room we had was excellent in all respects and we had access to a well equipped lounge area.

We have stayed before and were looking forward to Breakfast -we were not disappointed. All aspects, as before, were outstanding. There is a really wide range available and it really is a place to go to just for the food!

For the evening meal we went to the Coverbridge Inn - recommended by Ian - and again a magical place. Park House also have a taxi business which we tempted to use so that we could enjoy the excellent beer and food without driving - next time we will!

The family also own an excellent cafe for walkers and visitors as well as the ruins of Jervaulx Abbey just across the road. The Abbey has been in the ownership of the family since the 1970s and is well worth a visit. Once a powerful Cistercian Abbey it is now a romantic, picturesque ruin. The buildings are quite well preserved in parts and be easily interpreted with a guide from the house.

If you are visiting Wensleydale then we think this is THE place you should stay. It is ideally placed to visit the whole area and we would go out of way to stay here if driving through Yorkshire and wanted to break our journey.

We used this as a base to visit the Wensleydale Railway where we had a day learning how to drive a DMU locomotive!

Room Tip: Ask Ian about walks from the house, places to go or things to see -he is a real resource. They norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House

Property: Park House
Address: Jervaulx, Jervaulx HG4 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Jervaulx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jervaulx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Guest accommodation is all you would want from a luxury bed and breakfast. Set at the entrance to the Yorkshire Dales and steeped in history, Jervaulx along with its Abbey was home to the Cistercian Monks for centuries and is now owned by your hosts, you can enjoy what is now the tranquil ruins of Jervaulx Abbey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park House Jervaulx, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing