We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing afternoon of a private day-ride costing £79”

Tregoyd Mountain Riders
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Two friends and I decided to book a 2nd visit to TMR. The 1st visit was excellent - the B&B was very good with great breakfasts (agree with earlier comments about Hayden) and the rides were as expected - lots of walking, some trotting and a few canters. Even though the weather was awful, we had a good time and decided to book a 2nd ride for 2 of us - we decided we wanted to canter more and to do so would book a private day ride at £79. It was suggested to us that we ask for the ponies we had ridden on our 2nd day and also that we request a specific guide (the one we had established some rapport with - because she understood our experience and requirements). We didn't mind the cost given our conversation and expectations.

The 2nd ride was good in part - my friend Angela called twice to confirm if the ponies and also the guide would be available. When we arrived, we found the guide was not working that day but we had been given the ponies we'd asked for. The morning was excellent but the afternoon was disappointing (mainly walking, 1 and 1/2 canters and a tiny bit of trotting) and given the cost, we both felt a little cheated. As the ponies were being moved from the upper to lower stables (for business reasons) it felt that the afternoon ride was tailored to meet this need rather than ours. We were advised by our guide that we would canter around the field when we got to the lower stables but this did not happen. It was a hot morning but by the afternoon, it was overcast and cooler.

Upon contacting TMR to give our feedback and also to ask if anything could be done to make up for our disappointment, the lady from TMR advised that they could not do anything because our experience was as expected for the day-ride. This feels quite out-of-synch with modern businesses, where the common approach is to listen to customer feedback (we didn't feel able to give this on the day) and if possible, act upon it.

I would recommend that riders wanting a day-ride (with a consistent morning and afternoon) book a hack to avoid disappointment - it's also cheaper at £72 - or try somewhere else. The lady from TMR says that she is going to discourage anyone else from booking on the day-ride. It's such a shame as I would like to go back to TMR but don't feel I can. I still feel let-down by the afternoon experience and the unwillingless to listen / respond to customers.

1  Thank LadyBoyd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydn J, Owner at Tregoyd Mountain Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for the taking the time to submit a review. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your ride with us last week. The price for our full day ride is normally £59.00 per person, but because you requested a private ride for just the two of you and a guide there was a supplement of £20.00 per person which was explained at the time of booking. We always try as far as possible to meet clients' requests, it was just unfortunate that on the day the guide you requested was off sick.

Our full day rides are mainly at walk and trot with the occasional canter, as experienced during your previous stay with us.

We hope that this has not put you off from joining us again for one of our hacks which are for experienced riders only, with plenty of exhilerating canters across the hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"riding experience"
in 5 reviews
"horse riding"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful surroundings"
in 2 reviews
"brecon beacons"
in 3 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 2 reviews
"mountain riders"
in 13 reviews
"riding ability"
in 3 reviews
"lovely horses"
in 3 reviews
"brilliant ride"
in 2 reviews
"leader"
in 9 reviews
"karen"
in 7 reviews
"ponies"
in 11 reviews
"trek"
in 9 reviews
"hack"
in 13 reviews
"scenery"
in 9 reviews
"penny"
in 3 reviews
Filter

62 - 66 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was the third year we have visited and it was amazing! All the staff are so helpful and friendly. The rooms are comfortable and spacious the bathrooms clean and tidy and the breakfast delicious! We took our own horses and the fields are plenty big enough. A big thank you to you all - we'll definately be back

2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic 2 days full riding with Tregoyd Mountain Riders. A great big thankyou to Lou and Laura my guides for making me feel at ease and giving me such a great experience. The horses are fantastic and really know their job, but you can tell that they have the best care! Our first day was a big group, but a fantasic group lot's of laughs, all our needs were met, if you wanted a canter the group was split but if you wanted to walk and trot that was fine too. The second day fab also, smaller group but just great, i was also able to ride the same horse both days so i really felt i got to know him. I would whole heartedley recommend this to anyone who wishes to experience horse trekking/riding, you need not worry if you have experence, you will be looked after by what ever horse you ride and by the fantasic guides. Be honest about your Riding experience and the gudies will put you with the best horse/pony to suit you and you will get the most out of your ride! It will truly be something you will never forget

3  Thank ellysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Myself and Monty (Counsel's Opinion) spent two nights at Tregoyd in March 2012. Extremely comfortable accommodation. Monty had a lovely new loose box with rubber matting and choice of hay and haylage. He could see through the bars of his stable to neighbours which made him feel more relaxed. I had a huge bedroom and the biggest bathroom I have ever seen. Very characterful with sloping floors and very warm. Lovely to sink into a hot bath first thing in the morning with a cup of tea....bliss. Lots of advice with routes to follow up onto the mountains. Three Horseshoes Pub definately worth a visit, very friendly with great food and good selection of wine. Very welcoming lounge to collapse in for the evening with cosy woodburning stove. Hayden works magic with breakfast. Louise very helpful with stable. Well worth a visit - you will not be disappointed.

1  Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Tregoyd riding stables in the farm house. The breakfast 's provided by Hayden were lovely and everyone was very friendly. We went for the full day ride over the monutains to the pub, scenery was great, weather was stunning, horses were very well behaved and Laur was friendly and enthusiastic for her job and surroundings. The accomodation was good, a huge bathroom with lots of hot water for a good soak after all that riding. It was lovely, I would recommend to everyone.

1  Thank 01stuff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tregoyd Mountain Riders also viewed

 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tregoyd Mountain Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing