We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badly organised”

Tregoyd Mountain Riders
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Badly organised”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Got to the stables expecting it to all be well organised and have the horses to have been specifically chosen to fit our riding ability. The leader, Hayley, who was great but had obviously been put in a situation she wasn't comfortable with, immediately started talking about how her horse was very young and unreliable (she could barely get on it without it flipping out) which set off alarm bells as se was the only leader with the group - so god knows what would happen if she fell off (which she did). We continued to be paired with a horse but far from being specifically chosen for us Hayley wasn't even sure she had enough horses for all of us. The horses were then pretty much randomly assigned with myself on a horse she told me had just chucked her off a few days previous! Once we started the ride Hayley's horse was not behaving and mine was trying to bite all the others. We got to a gate which she struggled to open on her horse and then when we had all gone through she was left behind at which point her horse flipped out and bucked her off. Mine began to back off down the side of a hill so i immediately jumped off and waited for Hayley whose horse had bolted and came back and rejoined the group (thankfully not setting off all the other horses. Hayley was badly hurt but still one of the 'regulars' who seemed to be trying to masquerade as some sort of leader tried to persuade us all to carry on despite Hayley looking like she had a broken nose etc. Those in our party then insisted on going back and refused to continue once the other staff had arrived as it was clearly badly organised. Very sorry to give a bad review and we are always positive about things but overall this was terrible, they did give a refund but we had to insist as the owner was very smarmy and ha a massive smile on his face despite his staff and costumers being in bits! would not recommend!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!!!,”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are only a few days back from an extraordinary adventure with Tregoyd Mountain Riders. I'm not sure that I will be able to describe well enough our first experience of horse riding, managed by experts, in the most beautiful surroundings. From arriving at the stables and receiving a warm welcome from the staff, Hayden(the owner) gave us an idea of what to expect. Leaving nothing to chance, he also made sure that we gave our preferences for the crispyness of the bacon with the following morning' s breakfast.
From that moment on, we felt at home. The following two days riding gave us(apart from sore bums) the most wonderful opportunity to explore the most breathtaking scenery of the Brecon Beacons. Even though we both had very little experience, we felt in safe hands with our ride leaders....Emms and Meg...a very big thank you to both!
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this break to both experienced or inexperienced riders.
We certainly can't wait until our next visit( wish we lived nearer)
Thank you again to all the staff
John & Gill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wordsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality Hacking!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I can really recommend Tregoyd Mountain Riders. My friend and I went on a brilliant hack today with lots of canters that blew the cob-webs away :)
The horses where very strong and sure-footed and took us through the beautiful landscape with ease. We had a nice young man (Alex) as our guide and he was a good sport happily chatting away to us "old ladies". £95/person including lunch, very reasonable. Can't wait to go back again!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for the heart and soul!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Don't need to say too much just what a wonderful time I have just had staying at Tregoyd everything was just perfect, from the B&B to the lovely staff and of course the most sure footed horses you can ever imagine. We negotiated some very interesting terrain to be rewarded with views to make your heart sing and as Emz, my guide, was heard to say AMAZING!!! it truly was amazing and I can't wait to return. A very special thank you to Hayden, Carol, Sian, Meg and a very very special thank you to Emz and her horse Cookie for much entertainment and of course to King my trusty stead for giving me faith and confidence in my riding. Tregoyd offers everything you could wish for so if you are thinking about going think no more and just book it you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tullulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Our Hen party decided to stay here for 1 night at the farmhouse b&b and do a half day ride.

First the ride.....There were 7 in our group and all of different abilities. They were very accommodating and catered for us all. The views on the rides are amazing. We went over fields which had wild ponies in, there were plenty of places to trot, or canter depending on your ability. We headed to the base of the black mountains, through little streams and bogs, it was great fun and the horses were amazing, very sure footed!

The b&b was so much better than we were expecting. Haydn was very accommodating and got us feeling right at home. We were welcomed with tea, coffee, homemade cake or biscuits. The rooms were spacious and had every amenity you'd need. We had tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and water all in the rooms. A TV, not that we had time to watch that. The beds were comfy and the showers even had soap and shampoo in. There was a lovely sized lounge with a log burner that was lit, so we all relaxed there in the evening. The breakfast was lovely and there was a variety of options to choose from. We went out to the local three horseshoes pub for dinner, around 1mile away from the b&b and had a great home cooked dinner and dessert, reasonably priced too!

The only problem was that we had to go home and hadn't booked in to stay for longer!! So looks like we will just have to go again!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tregoyd Mountain Riders also viewed

 
Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Tregoyd Mountain Riders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing