We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the Brecon Beacons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We found this hotel as a base for a 75 mile cycle ride in the Brecon Beacons. We were so pleased to arrive tired to find two pints of beer waiting for us and safe storage for the bikes arranged. The twin room was immaculate - very comfortable with a very modern bathroom, a brilliant shower and plenty of hot water. We ate in the restaurant and the food was first class. The owners were friendly and helpful and could do enough to make the stay enjoyable. Top class hotel and great value for money. Would stay again without a second thought.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lovely hosts, very clean rooms, good quality beds and lovely linen. Great food . Warm welcome, owners stored our bikes for us . nothing was too much trouble. Lovely lovely lovely will return. Thankyou and we did make it back on our bikes !

Room Tip: The hotel is on a busy ish road so rooms at back may be quieter .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel,very hospitable hosts. Lovely gardens. Lovely rooms. We originally booked for one night but ended up staying for two. Very nice breakfast. If staying in the area, we would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly welcomed by both owners...
Shown to our Room which was both clean and tidy. The bathroom was modern.
Went down the the comfy Sitting Room and had a nice cool beer.
The bed was comfy and the Breakfast superb.
An excellent all-round stay.
Would stay there again

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 which overlooked the main road outside...but the traffic noise was minimal
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faye c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just spent a night at the Three Cocks and agree with the positive reviews. The room was roomy and welcoming, the bathroom very modern and the common areas especially the panelled sitting room was a delight. The owners could not be more helpful and friendly and the breakfast would set up anybody for the day. The only negative was the view from our bedroom but at the fantastic price one cannot expect the “Bay of Naples”. Would highly recommend this inn to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The inn is charming with a wonderful lounge with a huge wood burning fire that was lovely on the rainy days we were there. It was a great place to curl up with a book in the leather chairs. The bedroom was comfortable and huge and the room fairly spacious. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with great water pressure and lots of hot water which was a treat at the end of a wet day!! The towel rack was truly hot, something my husband loved and I think we may have created a monster :) We ate both meals at the inn and the food was excellent! The couple that run the hotel were lovely and very informative about the area and the country. We would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Two nights dinner, bed and breakfast in this splendid hotel made up for the rather uncertain weather on our walking break with friends. A warm welcome from Roy set us off to a good start at this spotless and well-run hostelry, only 3 miles or so from Hay-on-Wye. The public spaces were very pleasing, with a fire in the panelled residents' sitting room and plenty of space between the tables in the lovely dining room. The front-facing bedroom was a bit tight - we had no chair so had to sit/lie on the bed - but the bed itself by its sheer size could accommodate another room! No TVs in the rooms, but a large plasma screen in the sitting room. The road at the front was a bit noisy during the day but fine at night - there is secondary glazing anyway.The bathroom was new and well-fitted with a stonking hot towel rail - good for drying our rain-soaked walking clothes! The shower(not on thermostat) was a bit of a fiddle but loads of hot water and a glorious rapid-filling bath. The mirror seeemed to have a built-in light but we couldn't find the switch(if there was one!)
Excellent food at every meal and good service - try the chocolate fondant with ice cream.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an armchair to get more space.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
626 reviews
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
154 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
12.0 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range: £72 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing