We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We started off badly at this Inn, I was to confirm if some friends would stay for an evening meal and due to uncertainty, I didn't. I assumed as we did not confirm, no special treatment or preparation was required. At first we thought the admonishment on arrival was in jest, however, we never recovered and managed to get a few more. There were plenty of other guests who seemed very happy with the unusual customer service but we felt a little uncomfortable. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent, the bathrooms very modern and the hotel was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
103
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed overnight in september when there appeared to be only 2 other rooms let. Our request to have dinner at 8pm was not welcomed or allowed for some reason as it was 'late' ?? We managed to compromise at 7.45pm. Other trivial requests we were again made to feel awkward about, eg taking our drinks through to another bar- at one stage we were told 'that when you are in my house you will do as you are told' Feeble attempt at a jest but in view of other comments was not too funny in retrospect.
The deciding incident which determined that we would never return or indeed recommend that place happened when we were eating dinner. We had 2 bottles of Pinot Grigio, then asked for a third. The landlord duly produced a third bottle & said that seemed he had made a mistake & that this bottle was Pinot Gris, we asked whether it was the same & he said yes. Our bill, which we did not examine until we had long left, being pretty trusting, listed the first 2 bottles cost us £16.50 & the third 'his mistake' cost us £22.
In their favour the rooms were very clean & traditionally furnished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a energetic walk up Pen e fan in the Brecon Beacons, tired to our bones and had a lousy lunch as some random hotel in Brecon, and were ever so grateful and pleasantly surprised when we turned up at this hotel - about 25 mins from Brecon. The hosts were very warm and welcoming, and the rooms were gorgeous! mine in particular (room no.5), was massive with a lovely en-suite. They have an in house restaurant and bar too, so we dined that evening in style. Great food! This was an old coaching house, so it has oodles of character. Beautifully manicured lawn, and outdoor area to sit and have a drink. Wish we were there longer than one night!

Room Tip: Pick room no.5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stop here for coffee on our way to our annual holiday in Wales, and have been doing so for about 4/5 years now. We always get such a wonderful welcome, excellent and plentiful coffee and delicious Welsh Cakes. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

stayed at the three cocks hotel , only stayed for one night , but wish it had been more. had an excellent dinner .extremely well looked after by hosts who really care . very comfortable and exceptional clean, great bath room, lovely old furniture . made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night while travelling through. Our room was lovely and very comfortable, overlooking the garden. We had dinner there which was well cooked as was breakfast. Perfect hosts who work very hard - very friendly. There's not a lot else in the village but Hay on Wye is a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veryspecialkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We found this hotel as a base for a 75 mile cycle ride in the Brecon Beacons. We were so pleased to arrive tired to find two pints of beer waiting for us and safe storage for the bikes arranged. The twin room was immaculate - very comfortable with a very modern bathroom, a brilliant shower and plenty of hot water. We ate in the restaurant and the food was first class. The owners were friendly and helpful and could do enough to make the stay enjoyable. Top class hotel and great value for money. Would stay again without a second thought.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
443 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
461 reviews
18.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing