We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to wine, dine & rest your head.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to wine, dine & rest your head.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After our last visit to the Three Cocks recently,( we had not been for quite some time) Roy and Judith have made a significant difference to the whole ambience of this charming hostelry which nestles in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photojonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
103
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the 3 Cocks for one night to attend a wedding nearby. We had a warm welcome and were taken to our room which was clean, well appointed and had an en suite that had recently been tastefully refitted with slate floors and all the mod cons. The chatty manager helped us with booking taxis and after our event we returned to the hotel to a comfortable bed and a room well insulated from noise from the adjacent road. Breakfast was great, locally sourced bacon and sausages and coffee from a "mad chap" who lives in the Forest of Dean, apparently! All in all a great experience and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welsh_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Run by nice people who are willing to make the effort to look after their guests.
Big room, spotless throughout.
Superb home cooked food.
Lovely lounge.
WTB, what more do you need to know ?

PS : There are a couple of dodgy looklng reviews and it made us wonder if we would find "issues" ? Worry-ye-not : we would be happy to return and this recommendation is truthful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We started off badly at this Inn, I was to confirm if some friends would stay for an evening meal and due to uncertainty, I didn't. I assumed as we did not confirm, no special treatment or preparation was required. At first we thought the admonishment on arrival was in jest, however, we never recovered and managed to get a few more. There were plenty of other guests who seemed very happy with the unusual customer service but we felt a little uncomfortable. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent, the bathrooms very modern and the hotel was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed overnight in september when there appeared to be only 2 other rooms let. Our request to have dinner at 8pm was not welcomed or allowed for some reason as it was 'late' ?? We managed to compromise at 7.45pm. Other trivial requests we were again made to feel awkward about, eg taking our drinks through to another bar- at one stage we were told 'that when you are in my house you will do as you are told' Feeble attempt at a jest but in view of other comments was not too funny in retrospect.
The deciding incident which determined that we would never return or indeed recommend that place happened when we were eating dinner. We had 2 bottles of Pinot Grigio, then asked for a third. The landlord duly produced a third bottle & said that seemed he had made a mistake & that this bottle was Pinot Gris, we asked whether it was the same & he said yes. Our bill, which we did not examine until we had long left, being pretty trusting, listed the first 2 bottles cost us £16.50 & the third 'his mistake' cost us £22.
In their favour the rooms were very clean & traditionally furnished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a energetic walk up Pen e fan in the Brecon Beacons, tired to our bones and had a lousy lunch as some random hotel in Brecon, and were ever so grateful and pleasantly surprised when we turned up at this hotel - about 25 mins from Brecon. The hosts were very warm and welcoming, and the rooms were gorgeous! mine in particular (room no.5), was massive with a lovely en-suite. They have an in house restaurant and bar too, so we dined that evening in style. Great food! This was an old coaching house, so it has oodles of character. Beautifully manicured lawn, and outdoor area to sit and have a drink. Wish we were there longer than one night!

Room Tip: Pick room no.5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stop here for coffee on our way to our annual holiday in Wales, and have been doing so for about 4/5 years now. We always get such a wonderful welcome, excellent and plentiful coffee and delicious Welsh Cakes. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
606 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
468 reviews
18.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing