We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure indulgence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure indulgence!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Roy and Judith are great hosts. A warm welcome was received plus assistance to carry suitcases etc!
The Inn is very atmospheric, what with its history, age and style you cannot help but be pleasantly surprised - the decor is appropriate as is the furniture. Every single thing is gleaming and spotless! Food is superb too!
This couple certainly have put their all into running this place. I certainly hope to return sometime (extremely long way off from my hometown though)! Shall certainly recommend to friends.
Thank you so much for your care and attention (and the laughs) - "The wandering lady" lol!

If you are thinking about going - book now as it is very popular...you wont be sorry!
Single rooms available too!

Room Tip: On a main road so either room at the back or earplugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    33
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
101
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Cosy, comfortable inn run by the very hospitable Roy and Judith. Apparently the building itself has stood here for 500 years (I believe it's a listed property) - what tales it must be able to tell, in it's position standing on the main Hereford to Brecon road.

When I arrived I was given a warm friendly welcome by Judith who showed me to my room - unfortunately it was up 2 flights of stairs in the attic and the doors are made for Hobbits, also lots of very very low beams everywhere which as I am 5' 9 led to me cracking my head a few times! It wasn't en-suite, however the room and the bathroom over the hall were spotlessly clean.

Dinner was amazing - I highly recommend the food, and as my colleague and I were leaving early the next morning to work at the Royal Welsh, Judith very kindly gave us a bag of fruit each in lieu of our breakfasts.

Thank you Roy and Judith.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for the first time. Roy n Judith very friendly Had a meal in the restaurant which was lovely good sized portions (did themselves out of selling puddings!). Rooms very clean with good sized en suites. So we re very happy to recommend

Good for walkers kayakers etc. close to Hay. Not too far from Brecon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the The Three Cocks for two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Roy and Judith were great hosts, and we were delighted with both the accommodation and the food.Hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided to visit the antique fair in Builth wells and were recommend this hotel
Fantastic building
Spotlessly clean bedrooms and building
Exquisite food and wine list
We will be back later in the year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIDDYandTESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the 3 Cocks for the first time at the beginning of May 2014 and we were blessed with good weather The hotel is an old coaching inn and the rooms are beautifully decorated and are spotlessly clean, our bathroom looked new.The village it is situated in, is uninteresting, but as a base to explore mid Wales it is Ideal.We booked dinner for both nights and Judith(one of the proprietors) said jokingly do you want to see what the food is like first? we had need 't have worried.The food was wonderfully prepared and was reasonable priced.Although there was no television or radio in the room there was a very cosy lounge where the other half could catch up with heir soaps and we could enjoy after dinner coffee and drinks.Roy & Judith are wonderful hosts. Little things like remembering if you prefer tea or coffee in the morning or tomato or brown sauce with your full cooked breakfast(the bacon & sausages are fantastic and very tasty not like the supermarket offering),make such a big difference and a change to the faceless major hotel chains.We will return!

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed Saturday 10th May with my wife and good friend with his wife. Fantastic location, fantastic gardens, fantastic historical building. Take a bow Roy and Judith. Soon as we walked in we were made to feel so welcome. Roy thanks for setting up the ironing board in the bar area classic...my wife was lost for words so funny...breakfast was just as you would want (baked beans would of been nice). Recommend to anyone to stay we will definitely stay again. Had a fantastic stay...and see you soon. Thanks both

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petepunjabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing