We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened here?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What has happened here?”
Reviewed 16 September 2005

Ther has definitely been a change in this hotel. I suspect a change of ownership has occurred as reviews from 2 years ago bear no resemblance to the establishment that I experienced. There was an aura of neglect. There was dust everywhere. The whole public area reeked of stale tobacco smoke. The public rooms were dingy. Food was adequate but by no means gourmet. Breakfast was minimal. The outdoor gardens did not deserve the name. There were no flowers that were alive, again that aura of neglect. Our bathroom was in dire need of refurbishment. Our hand held shower diverter did not work. There were stains on the carpet.

The only available TV was in the musty basement and it wasn't working. There was no reading material, no newspapers or games to pass the time in the evening. The people were friendly, but unfortunately this establishment has fallen on hard times.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GeminiDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    33
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
101
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2005

We spent two nights here while visiting relatives staying in the neighbourhood. We had booked bed and breakfast and in fact the dining room and bistro were closed during our stay and we were the only guests. The welcome and the inside of the hotel were very good, although the outside looked a little neglected, with the garden in particular needing attention. Staff were attentive and very helpful, and the cooked breakfast was excellent. We were a little disconcerted by the negative reviews, but our own experience was positive.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 May 2005

A party of us dined at the Three Cocks recently and were treated to an evening of Fawlty Towers without the laughs. The food was very average and the service shambolic. In other circumstances we might have found this quaint and tolerated it. However, when we found all of our wine had an unpleasant sediment in five of the six glasses poured, we sent it back and did not get a replacement until after we had finished our main course. It was clear they had no intention of replacing it until we pushed the point. The spoilt wine was left in glasses on the table for us to admire for the rest of the evening. When four of our puddings came with cream which was off, we sent these back, only to be told that in the strongest terms, in front of the rest of the dining room, that we obviously didn't know what we were eating and that the cream was fresh. At the end of the meal we were presented with a bill which included the spoiled wine (£18.95) and all the puddings we had sent back. We were then treated to another argument in the bar in front of the rest of the clientele who had missed the one in the restaurant. Being relatively local, but with a party who had come from London to stay in Hay, I was angered and embarassed that we had wasted our time giving this place a chance.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2004

Restaurant food was adequate, but please don't stay here is you intend to stay out any later than 12 am as keys will not be given out.

We attended a party at Baskerville Hall. We were told to phone when we wanted to return to our rooms but at 3am the phone was not answered. We had to wait until 7am to get back into the hotel and were then told that we could only return to our rooms to collect our bags but could not go to bed. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 November 2003

Amazing hotel!!! Spent a few wonderful days here sipping whisky next to an open fire, before having some of the most amazing food I have ever tasted in the restaurant - cannot recommend enough. Hay-on-Wye is an wonderful town aswell with 39 bookshops.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Cocks
3.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
9.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
7.7 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Cocks Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Cocks Coaching Inn

Property: The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
Address: Three Cocks LD3 0SL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Three Cocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Three Cocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Cocks Coaching Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer a spotlessly clean environment, a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food. The building has stood here for 500 years offering the traveler and visitor a relaxed and cozy welcome. It is extremely spacious and comfortable, helping us to create a great feeling of warmth and well being. We want you to relax in the cozy and welcoming surroundings of this charming family-run inn. We aim to achieve a warmth and quiet courtesy about the place that combines friendly and attentive service with a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Three Cocks Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Cocks Hotel
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing