We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely countryside B&B”
Review of Venn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Venn Farm
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at Venn Farm when attending a nearby wedding. We were in the Apple Loft which had very attractive features, albeit it was possibly a little cluttered. The shower was good, as was the wifi (which was free, as it should be.)
Pat was a very amicable hostess. Because of how much we had eaten the night before we were not able to manage the fully cooked breakfast but we were reliably informed by other guests that it was extremely good. All in all a nice option in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Venn Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

7 of us stayed here to attend my Mums funeral. We hired one cottage and two b&b rooms. The cottages were modern and well equipt with a fabulous shower and roll top bath. The B&B rooms were tastefully furnished and cozy... It felt like home. The breakfast was huge and really set you up for the day. Pat the landlady was wonderful and even escorted some of our relatives to the crematorium when they got left behind.
The Foxhund pub directly opposite is a typical village pub with outstanding food at ridiculously cheap prices. Fillet steak Rossini was to die for at only £13.95.

A lovely village and lovely people who made us all feel welcome. Thank you xxxx

Room Tip: The cottages are amazing. If there are five of you it works out about £20 a night off season!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobylou1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at venn farm for a couple of nights at the end of march we received a warm welcome from the staff. The rooms were very nice and clean with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfasts were fantastic and plenty of it too. I would recommend staying here if your visiting Plymouth as it's only a few miles away, the village it's situated in is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leepy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a find! Stayed one night in Room 2 and sister in Cellar Room. Both very well kitted out, in fact everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. Quality furnishings (many antique), lovely comfortable beds and pillows, wonderful hospitality tray with full size Kit Kat (!) and several types of tea as well as fresh milk in the mini fridge. Host was friendly and obviously loves what she does and works very hard. The breakfast is everything you've read about elsewhere. All the cereals you could possibly want, gorgeous fresh fruit salad with quality low-fat yoghurt and then the cooked breakfast was brilliant. Three of us had different combinations all cooked to order at the time we requested and far too much to eat. Even the tea was lovely - I like a good strong cup and this hit the spot. had our evening meal at the pub opposite and that was very good and very warm and friendly. Will definitely stay at Venn Farm again. Just a few short miles straight down the A379 into Plymouth Hoe, so excellent location too.

Room Tip: Cellar Room is slightly less cluttered and has no stairs, whereas Room 2 at the front, although very...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at this farm in Nov 2012.
Lovely room with ensuite. Fresh milk for tea and coffee.
Fantastically large breakfast with a huge choice of fresh fruit / cereals and cooked.
Local pub opposite which did good food /wine and real ale 20 yds away, as well as a restaurant 200 yds away.
Highly recommended and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brinkflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Don't be put off if you do not like staying on a farm in the midddle of the sticks. This B&B might be on a farm but it is in the mddle of the village. There is a pub (where the kids had a good meal and a fish and chip shop right opposite the entrance to the farm.

We had to go to a wedding in the area and our daughter found this reasonably priced B&B rather than paying the exorbitant prices the wedding hotel was charging.
Her and her partner as well as my son and his wife arrived late on the first night but everything had been arranged and they had no problem getting into their rooms.

We arrived earlyish the next day but there was no problem getting into our room. We chose the front room because it seemd slightly larger but it may have been better to take the back one because, having the window open, the traffic noise was a little bit intrusive (we live in a very quiet area so, although there was hardly any traffic, it certainly was audible to me.

The room was comfortable as was the bed. It has eveything you need and has a homely, lived in feel.

The shower room is equipped with an electric shower so there is never a shortage of hot water.

Breakfast. What can I say about a real farm breakfast? There are plenty of cereals (including meusli), fruit and natural yogurt to start followed by a gargantuan cooked meal.
You select your options the night before and a word of warning to those who do not eat a lot - limit your choices.
There were 3 or 4 rashers of bacon, 2 home made sausages, 2 fresh eggs mushroom and home made potato fritters (a.k.a hash browns). There was no shortage of toast and home made jam and marmalade to accompany it.
Similarly, there was an undening supply of tea and coffee and fresh juice.
Eggs are cooked however you want them and there are also the options of baked beans and grilled tomatoes.
And if you still want more, you only need ask.

The owners as well as their staff are super friendly and helpful and this would be an ideal place to base yourself if you are thinking of spending some time in the area as it is only a short distance from Plymouth and there are plenty of other places to visit and things to do in the vicinity.

Would I stay there again. You betcha.

Room Tip: Room number 1 may not have quite as much traffic noise (although the road is almost deserted overnig...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anorak Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a wonderful B and B.

We had a wedding to go to in the area, and this was one of the recommended places to stay.

It was truely wonderful. From the time we booked, the owners were nothing but friendly, and very helpful. We explained that we would be arriving very late at night, and they just arranged for the room to be left open and we could then just do the official check in at breakfast.

Our group had booked 2 rooms,The Cellar and the Apple Loft. We were in the Apple Loft, whilst my sister and her partner were in the Cellar Room. Both rooms were lovely, and very well decorated. I have never seen such a long bed. My only gripe would be that the pillows are too soft, and there could perhaps be a selection of others available. If you have the choice though, go for the Cellar room, as there is a patio with chairs and table outside.

And what can I say about the breakfast...apart from perhaps do not have the cereals or fruit before hand unless you have a massive appetite. It really was a scrumptious breakfast and set you on your way for the day.

We really enjoyed our stay at this b and b and if we are ever again in the area, would have no hesitation staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brixton
0.7 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
479 reviews
5.3 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venn Farm

Address: Brixton PL8 2AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Brixton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Brixton
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our house guest and stay in the cosy old farmhouse with its period features; all rooms furnished to a high standard, renowned for our large farmhouse breakfast plus fresh fruit daily. Separate from the main farmhouse and forming part of the courtyard of traditional stone barns, we have two bedrooms with oak floors, doors and staircases; one has a small patio with table and chairs for morning coffee or a relaxing glass of wine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Venn Farm Brixton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing