We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREADFUL”
Review of Domaine Lapeze

Domaine Lapeze
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine Lapeze
Ranked #271 of 300 Lot B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“DREADFUL”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Disastrous long-term out-of-season rental of ‘The Cottage’ (actually an apartment above a garage!) at Domaine Lapeze. The only thing this place has going for it is location. But, nearly every place to rent in this part of France is in a beautiful location. It’s surprising how quickly the view fades
 when you’re freezing cold and you can’t fire up the gas heating because the gas tank is not “full on arrival or shortly after”, nor separate as confirmed in writing, and you’ve discovered, by mere chance, that gas from your so-called ‘separate’ gas tank that you are required to pay for refilling when you leave is also going to the main house for the owners’ use (confirmed by Mr. Owner when I asked - after this chance discovery, then thoroughly denied by Mrs. Owner as “she should know having lived there for 13 years”) so they now can’t tell you how they will allocate your usage and charge you - now that you know the unpleasant reality;
 when your Euros, converted into expensive oak logs, are burning at a ferocious rate in the cheapo wood-burner and all the heat’s going up the chimney, out the single-glazed windows or through the un-insulated roof, so you’re still freezing cold, and it’s not even real winter weather yet (October 2011 – Jan 2012) with no nights below freezing;
 when you go to bed dressed for an Arctic expedition and shower the next morning in the Antarctic bathroom - in near cold water - as the owners may use hot water from your tank, and indeed do although they have their own, and don’t even bother to warn you;
 when you can’t make a phone call except on expensive mobile roaming because the so-called ‘perfect’ internet and wi-fi relay system that ‘nobody else ever had a problem with’(!) isn’t working again (off for 13 consecutive days just after arrival in October, and many further days too) so you can’t access Skype as you intended and there’s actually no existing working landline to be reconnected as promised, (yes, I tried - opening an account with Orange as urged to do so by Mrs. Owner to solve the internet problem…and drove over 250 Kms back and forth to Cahors over 6 frustrating weeks to try to find out what the problem was);
 when you can’t use your email or access websites you need, when you need;
 when you can’t work out the labyrinthine French instructions (OK, hands up here) for the combi microwave (no proper oven or grill) to stick your dinner in the oven;
 when the old washing machine still doesn’t work, and your clothes have been sitting in water for 12 hours and you can’t open the door, despite having been asking for weeks for someone to please sort it out;
 when worst of all, you can’t do the work you came here to do and which you impressed on the owners was vital - and required reliable internet!
So, you give up and turn on the TV but the huge purple splodge that fills a quarter of the tiny screen spoils that view too.
To be fair, but only after weeks of asking, the TV was eventually swapped with another little, old TV from their other gite, and then in a somewhat bemused manner, as if the request for a TV with a working screen was way over-demanding.
The old Danish washing machine was eventually taken away for repair, after several weeks of asking, with the same attitude on display, in spades! As if the only fault surely lay in my inability to read the Danish dials, or my inability, being a woman, to know how to use a washing machine.
Stupide? Moi? Bien sur!
But not for this!
Cash only accepted. Strictly. No cheques or bank transfers. No tenancy agreement (a ‘Bail’ in French), not even something very simple. No inventory with an Etat des Lieux (condition of the property and contents, usually attached to inventory).
Yes, I asked for a ‘bail’ and an inventory/etat des lieux, and was promised. I then even spent my own time drawing them up myself on my laptop and gave Mr. Owner a draft. He came the next day and said that he’d come another time, and we’d talk.
But Mr. Owner just couldn’t find time to do anything more about it. He seemed to be very busy most days rearranging the view by starting to chop down his old fruitless plum orchard in front of my bedroom window (from which there’s the only interesting view from inside), leaving the first few lines, of many to come, of chain-sawed tree stumps in the foreground.
He later came and said an inventory was not necessary as there was “nothing of value in the place”. He was dead right about the latter.
In any case, it’s all on trust, he said.
So, what’s to trust?
They have your monster cash deposit of 1100 Euros (far more than usually asked) and insist on doing “a thorough inspection for damage” when you leave. This involves 45 minutes of Mr. Owner making “his own notes”, alone, of the ‘valueless’ contents that you “might have damaged”, despite having no agreed inventory/ EdL on which to base his inspection. No such inspection, thorough or otherwise, is carried out on your arrival to ascertain the state of anything. Nor do they note meter readings of the ‘separate’ services on arrival or departure. Why not? Because they are not separate.
No financial adjustment was made, not even a cursory or goodwill amount, for their failures to supply the services they promised, and the costs incurred, financial and otherwise, as a direct result of those failures. Not even a slight verbal apology!
I’d originally intended to rent until June. I simply had to leave at the beginning of January.
So. Trust?
Trust me on this, please. Naivety is not a good basis for a rental, however much you wish to trust people who are going to live next door to you; who seem friendly (as they accept your lumps of cash), yet give you no guarantee of anything in return and try to avoid anything in writing.
There are far better places to rent, in just as lovely locations but with helpful, trustworthy, genuinely friendly owners, within a very few kilometres of this ‘cottage’.
What an enormous relief it was for me to leave that awful, awful place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyBigSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Having in stayed in the cottage 3 times in the past year, I can say I would never be tempted to stay anywhere else in France.

The cottage is absolutely stunning, 2 bedrooms, gas heating and a wood burning stove in the living room.

I have the joy of staying for a Christmas, and can promise you, it was the best Christmas I have ever had.

The floor to ceiling views in the main bedroom are enough to make me want to settle for the rest of the summer, but the sheer courtesy of the owners make me want to buy the cottage and settle for the rest of my natural life! On a very clear night, you can see the pyrenees, and it leaves you breathless! So beautiful!

A 10 minute walk into the village, you can enjoy the offerings of the local Cafe, pub and weekly market on a Sunday morning,

If visiting in the summer....the outdoor swimming pool is fantastic.....set in a sun trap where you don't have to bicker for the sun beds, you feel like the pool is your oyster!

The resident dogs are charming (Lola and Tilly), as well as the ponies on site (Bronco always willing for a bit of loving) and you honestly feel the farm experience.

I can honestly feel like this is the most picturesque and real place I have have ever stayed in France and would encourage anyone that wants to feel the authentically of a real French home in a real French village to book as soon as you can....as I would move here should the opportunity arise......if you want to real thing, then please visit here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CakeyDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wonderful extended stay at Lapeze......after a rather disappointing stay elsewhere. Owners were always kind and eager to help, an extended family of dogs, cats and horses made my husband, and I very very welcome!! Including our pets!!
The cottage is well equipped, well appointed kitchen, with all the basics and a little more, two lovely bedrooms with fitted wardrobes, and super bathroom with a fantastic shower and a separate loo. Gas heating and a log burning stove to help make those cold winter nights feel super cosy! Fantastic views from both bedroom windows, and from the small terrace outside the main door looking down towards Lauzerte and on a good day the Pyrenees in the distance. Lovely salt water pool for warm summer days, and beautiful walks outside your front door........ Lots of little touches to make your stay even more pleasurable......wonderful recommendations for places to visit, to eat or to just explore.

Recommended to family and friends who have visited at different times of the year and all have had a wonderful experience at this super place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJack1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley UK
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2010

A wonderful place to relax with excellent views. Stay more than overnight!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamberleyUKPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We (family of three with ten year old son) had a great time in the sunshine at lovely Lapeze - we were able to arrive after lunch and so relaxed by the lovely large pool and soaked in the view and sun. Caroline & Knud were both helpful & attentive but never imposing. We dined with them that night and enjoyed a lovely meal and drinks on the terrace - it felt like being with old friends! - indeed we stayed up quite late and chatted with other family members (visiting) as they arrived back after a night out too. Complete with the lovely little dogs that charmed us all and the horses that were much visited by our son - it's a total rural idyll. It really was most enjoyable and I would recommend them to anyone wanting to stay in a gem of a place in the beautiful Lot region. We'll revisit whenever we can, and feel sure that many guests feel the same.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Pye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Great hosts who create a very friendly atmosphere in a large family home with dogs and horses. Bedroom very well appointed with en-suite bathroom and wonderful views across plum orchards to the village of Montcuq. The house stands in its own extensive grounds and has a large swimming pool surrounded by a good sized patio area for relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lot hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Maison D'Hotes
Four Maison D'Hotes
#1 of 3 in Montcuq
27 reviews
26.3 mi away
Lavandes et Roses en Quercy
Lavandes et Roses en Quercy
#1 of 1 in Saint-Cernin
3 reviews
44.5 mi away
Le Foursou
Le Foursou
#1 of 1 in Le Bouyssou
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.7 mi away
Auberge de Cartassac
Auberge de Cartassac
#1 of 1 in Sarrazac
105 reviews
27.8 mi away
La Garissade
La Garissade
#1 of 1 in Labastide-Murat
71 reviews
49.2 mi away
La Salamandre
La Salamandre
#1 of 1 in Cuzac
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Lapeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Lapeze

Property: Domaine Lapeze
Address: | Montcuq, 46800, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Lot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine Lapeze is a 200 year old farmhouse, which is an original pilgrim resting place along the route to Santiago de Compostela. It lies in the French countryside, 25km south-west of the town of Cahors in the Lot department. Lapeze stands in its own 12 acres of hilly countryside, of which there are 4 acres of plum orchards (prunes d'Agen) and 2 acres of vineyard. It is situated up a quiet road away from all the traffic, and yet only 2km from the village and 1.5km from the nearest supermarket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing