We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tignish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Driftwood Country Cottages
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view and location”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The location of this cottage was great, you could see and hear the ocean from the front deck and it was only a short walk down to the water's edge. The beach, though peaceful and scenic was not for swimming and although the cottage mentions driftwood in the name there was very little driftwood to be found, disappointing for group of people who had hoped to build a small fire on the beach to roast marshmallows. The cottage is clean and offers satellite tv and wifi, though the satellite reception is easily lost in bad weather and the wifi is very slow. We had hoped to bbq some steak for dinner one evening but found that our cottage had no bbq. The cottage next to ours had a bbq but with no propane tank. The owners/ employees were very friendly, they came by twice to make sure we were settled in. Upon check in we soon discovered that there was no "Office" in which to do so, so we just let ourselves in, then we discovered that we had been upgraded to the cottage next door, so we had to move all of our belongings after we had just unpacked and settled in. The "office" by the way is the red building set back in the woods behind the cottages. The cottage is located just 10 minutes away from the North Cape lighthouse, wind energy interpretation centre, and the black marsh trail and the ride there was very beautiful as it followed the coastline. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for one of the cottages with a second floor balcony and tv room as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood C, Owner at Driftwood Country Cottages, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and glad you enjoyed the area!

Hopefully next time, the tide will supply you with plenty of driftwood for your camp fires. If not, give us a holler, and we can help you out, or find you a nice dry bundle of kindling. No one should go without roasting marshmallows!

We are working on our wireless, and hope that it will be stronger this coming spring and summer to better serve our visitors.

We appreciate you letting us know, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

These cottages are beautifull and everyone was so nice and helped us out with what ever we needed!! it was the best vacation I had! The cottages are very clean and roomy and the beach is magnificent!! Me and my family would go back for sure!!! Hopefully next summer:)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood C, Owner at Driftwood Country Cottages, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thanks for the great review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Driftwood Country Cottages is a beautiful group of cottages right on the water near the North Cape of PEI. The scenery was outstanding, and the cottage itself was very pretty and roomy. We had a beautiful view of the water and the sunrise each morning and we were able to walk on the red sand beach as far as we wanted to go. There was a lovely TV and second sitting area on the second floor as well as the third bedroom with a whirlpool tub. The kitchen living area on the first floor was very roomy and nicely set up, as were the two other bedrooms and second bath.
It was a little difficult getting the owners to confirm the reservations in writing so when we arrived we were unsure about what to expect. We found the cottageseasily, but there was no obvious "office" and no one to greet us. We actually began knocking on cottage doors to try to find someone who would take care of us and show us which cottage was ours. We finally found a woman feeding her baby, who turned out to be the owner's daughter. She was able to access the log book and find our name and point us to the right cottage, but we were a little taken back by so little help. She said her mother would be by to check on us, but we were there two days and never saw a soul. We made a call and it was not returned and there were no instructions in the cottage for us to follow. We were also short on blankets because of the cold weather that had set in, but no one to help us. The other problem we encounter was lack of luggage racks or anything to put luggage on.
We thoroughly enjoyed the cottage and would return again. But staying there is not for the faint of heart. You have to be willing to be independent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood C, Owner at Driftwood Country Cottages, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for posting a review for us, and our apologies that it took so long to reply, we are just learning how all of this works, and have just recently discover how great TripAdvisor is!

We're sorry that our lack of presence at that time caused you any issues, and are glad that you received the help you did. We now stay available 24/7 by cell phone when not on the property, and are usually very close by to respond to any needs of our visitors. Hopefully we can appeal to all visitors this coming season, including the faint of heart!

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tignish
11.3 mi away
Rollo Bay Inn
Rollo Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Souris
28 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mill River Resort
Mill River Resort
#1 of 1 in O'Leary
190 reviews
12.4 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#3 of 4 in Alberton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Country Cottages

Property: Driftwood Country Cottages
Address: Lamb's Lane, Highway 12 | PO Box 423, Tignish, Prince Edward Island C0B 2B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Tignish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tignish
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing