We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Interesting Concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tejakula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was quite sad to read a recent report saying to Stay away from this property, we stayed only last week and found the property to be very reasonable, to start with I really had booked the place based on being told Tembok was a nice place to visit, not knowing the hotel was of a more spiritual concept..The look on my husband's face when we checked in and they removed his shoes and massaged his feet was priceless…and even more was the look on his face when he realized our room had no TV or internet..BUT let me say I loved the hotel, I loved having a fantastic massage and foot therapy included in our rate the food was quite different and tended to be what I would term "adventurous " the staff were admirable and friendly, I was in the office checking out when an older english lady came in to thank the staff who had fixed her shoe, that she had thought was broken and unfixable, her room attendant has retrieved the shoe from the bin and quietly without fuss had it fixed and placed it back in her room…Is that a place you would say "Stay Away from" this is a concept hotel…not a regular run of the mill Hilton…this hotel has a daily program, if you want to participate sure do so..whether it be Yoga or nightly star gazing, I would say its more of an Alternate hotel although keep in mind it is a member of "small luxury hotels of the world" really all of that and less that $250 a couple a night…and Rat poo? No the gecko in Bali keep the mosquitos at bay, the poo can resemble a rats droppings but in this case I am sure it was a gecko…its not for everyone, but I felt the other guests were very friendly and people exchanged pleasantries which made for a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: I saw the pool Villas with gorgeous views over the ocean…I'd have one of those if I was staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for writing a review.

Is always a pleasure to read positive comments with the team and our guests stay. We are particularly happy that your husband was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed his welcome ritual.

Thanks again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Spa Village Resort, Tembok Bali!

Wishing you a wonderful day ahead,

Our Best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

This place is a beautiful getaway run by an incompetent manager who can't even find a clean shirt to wear. The bath/shower combination were chipped and hard to get in and out of. Food portions are small and sometimes good,sometimes bad. Villa smelt musty and actually had rat poo on the bed when we came in. There are many other beautiful and peaceful resorts who deliver much better massage on the north east coast of Bali. Stay here at your own risk.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It saddens me to hear when a guest is not happy with their stay and the resort does not meet their expectations. Our intention here at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali is to guide our guests to experience, relaxation, health and happiness.

It's unfortunate that I did not get to meet you in person to discuss your challenges. I do appreciate your feedback and will certainly look into the points you raised.

In the meantime, I wish you a beautiful day on this lovely day,

Our Best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After a 4week trip travelling Australia we wanted to finish the holiday with a 5day Spa/relaxation break in Bali before returning to the UK-we could not have chosen better. FRom the moment the Resort driver met us at the airport (which I recommend) the Tembok experience began. Friendly,courteous efficient staff who's smiles are infectious! We opted for the full board package which included all food and daily treatments ,activities at the Spa. The range and quality of the treatments were excellent..Complimentary activities include Yoga,Fitness and traditional Balinese crafts.The quality of food was superb every meal freshly produced from local product.The chef even enquired daily if there was anything special we would like

We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: There are only 24 rooms ,all excellent,ours was called a KAMAR
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

It was a pleasure to have you both here and pleased to hear you got to experience your R&R here at Spa Village Resort, Tembok Bali!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a beautiful and loving day ahead,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We went to Singapore and Bali for our 5th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel was the perfect setting.

We opted for the full board package, inclusive of a daily spa treatment. This was very reasonable and performed to a high standard.

All staff were professional, courteous and efficient. The spa therapists were excellent and the treatments were varied, executed to high standards. The frozen fruit kebabs and ylang ylang water at the start of each session were a very sweet touch.

The black pebble beach is striking and the hotel grounds are beautiful - the infinity pool and pool area were great.

The hotel is small and serene - just what you want from a spa retreat. Also, only adults, which was a plus point for a week of relaxation.

The food was pleasant and varied. Waiting staff were friendly but still professional. The seafood was always a highlight and the choices had both Western and Asian options.

Make full use of the drivers - there are some lovely temples nearby and a day trip to Ubud is well worth it. The prices are very reasonable when compared to organised excursions from travel companies too.

The hotel has a number of activities as well, such as yoga, cooking class, etc.

To celebrate our anniversary we were given a special complimentary
100 minute treatment which was exceptional - complete with a floral bath at the end. Some might say a little cheesy but with the best of intentions and I personally loved it!

In short: service, facilities, treatments and food were great. The location is remote but it won 't stop you from seeing the island if you plan a few trips with the very lovely and knowledgeable drivers.

Don't go if you want a large, bustling resort with numerous pools and bars etc within a short drive of the airport.

Not somewhere to experience 'nightlife' as thankfully it was non-existent. Just what you want from a spa retreat!

For the price paid, we were impressed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PrincessCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay and to celebrate your Anniversary to our Resort.

It was a pleasure to look after you and we are delighted to hear you had a fabulous stay. Its always a pleasure to share our guest experiences with the team here.

Thanks again, and we wish you a beautiful day ahead,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited in 2012 over the Christmas/New Year period.
It was fantastic in every way; the whole well being program, except for the food. The quality of food was poor,the menu too centric on Local dishes, the menu bizarre (putting Indonesian food with baked beans & calling it fusion) the cooking quality so poor I got serious stomach upset for 7days & had to call the Dr. Due to prawns not cleaned properly.
We almost never went back except for the pull of the wonderful staff and healing process of; spa therapies, yoga and beauty there AND MOST IMPORTANTLY we read they has a new Austrian Chef.
It's important for the hotel nutritionist to remember that people visit for different reasons; well being, detox, honeymoon and R&R. Not everyone is on a vegetarian, no carbs, lots of fish and juices gig (although the juices are wonderful here). The new Chef Martin gets that completely and is shaping the menu so that everyone can find something exactly suited to why they're there and doing it in a modern contemporary way.
If there isn't something for you one day then it's not impossible to have something bespoke magicked out of the kitchen whatever your nationality and need.
This was the one area that really let the place down to the point that people will choose not to revisit.
This has one well and truly been fixed and we re going to book again soon as this place is going to get very popular now !
Spa Village -DO NOT LOOSE THIS CHEf, he's worth his weight in gold !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ASJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review treasured guests!

We always enjoy seeing you again and it was an absolute pleasure connecting with you again. We are especially happy to hear you enjoyed the new culinary delights of Executive Chef Martin and his talented team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spa Village Tembok, Bali in the very near future.

Much love from us all,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you find yourself in Tembok, I doubt there is a better place to be! This is one of those special places where you feel like family the moment you arrive. Wonderful staff, amazing food (kudos to the new chef, Martin) and excellent spa.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MsTravelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we're delighted the staff met your expectations and you enjoyed the delicious, fresh food from our Wantilan Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Spa Village Tembok, Bali!

With gratitude,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here a while ago and still talk about the experience. A real place to indulge the senses, relax and recharge the batteries. Free classes were fantastic, rose petals in the bath were a nice touch, food was delicious, surroundings were idyllic, lovely spa and friendly staff. The welcome was fabulous with a welcome drink, garland and foot massage, wow. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHopley, Manager at Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always so in awe of the kindness and support we receive from Guests such as yourself.

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to welcome you back here in the future.

Wishing you a beautiful day ahead,

Our best,
Wati Sharron & Team Tembok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tejakula
3.7 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
24.6 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
791 reviews
1.9 mi away
Poinciana Oceanside Resort & Retreat Centre
7.5 mi away
Cili Emas Oceanside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali

Address: Jalan Singaraja-Amlapura No 100 Desa Tembok, Tejakula, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tejakula
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tejakula
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tejakula
#2 Spa Hotel in Tejakula
Price Range: £171 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and discover the rich heritage of Bali at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali. Situated on Bali’s North East Coast, this charming resort spa draws from age-old Balinese traditions that is wrapped in spirituality and gentleness making this beautiful and secluded resort the perfect place for relaxation, recovery and self-discovery. With the promise of an experience that honours the healing cultures of the region, each Spa Village provides an individual and authentic encounter combining the therapeutic properties of natural local ingredients and the healing practices of the area. Here, at Spa Village Resort Tembok, Bali the experience extends far beyond its spa treatments. Every aspects from architecture to cuisine and lifestyle, resonates within its Discovery Paths. Cradling the soul, this spa resort heals both body and psyche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Hotel Tembok
Hotel Village Tembok Bali
Resort Village Tembok Bali
Spa Village Resort Tembok Bali Tejakula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing