We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B ever experienced”
Review of Old Pond Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Pond Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B & B ever experienced”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I'd like to say I've stayed at Old Pond Cottage on several occasions as not only is it a great stop off when we are flying from Gatwick but also we have family in Petworth which is nearby. It is without doubt the best B & B we have ever stayed in with very comfortable rooms and lovely hosts Sandie & Brian. I am absolutely amazed with the last review as this does not sound like the same B & B the reviewers can be talking about. Sandie and Brian are the most friendly lovely people and always have made us so welcome. We always look forward to staying here and just love their cooked breakfasts as well as their personal touches such as home made biscuits which have always been in the room with the tea making facilities. When we first stayed here we checked the reviews and as anyone can see they are all excellent apart from one which says a lot. Without doubt Sandie & Brian you're doing an excellent job and it shows that you enjoy it and take your reviews seriously. Look forward to seeing you soon at our next stay early December.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, one at the front has bath as well as shower en suite if that is important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
88
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed one night at this well-presented B&B with immaculate rooms. We obviously caught the female proprietor on a bad day as she treated us with vague disdain throughout our stay and served us a technically excellent breakfast with passive/aggressive indifference. Through her comments and demeanour it was clear our business wasn't valued and she'd rather we weren't there. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syraulea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidinSussex, Owner at Old Pond Cottage, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Oh my goodness - I am SO sorry. I really don't know what happened - it doesn't sound like me at all! I have been running my B&B for over 5 years, and this is the first negative review I have ever received. If I appeared to be grumpy, I do apologise sincerely. You were valued, as are all my guests, and it is such a shame that you didn't feel that. If you ever decide to try us again, I promise I will make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Exceeded expectations. Very welcoming, wonderful attention to detail, superb rooms. Very convenient location for events at Bartholomew Barn nearby.
It would have been lovely to have had some more time here to explore the local area including pub next door. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is the best B&B we stay in the UK. Very nice people top qualitie breakfast .home home made bread ,all meat from local butcher Free range eggs fresh oranges juice ,etc etc
Very nice rooms clean top bathroom fac,a pleasure o stay in this place. Next door good pub with fresh food .all in all we come back

Room Tip: Nothing to say all is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have been staying regularly at the Old Pond over the last two and a half years, and high time I submitted a review to echo and endorse the comments of all the other reviewers.
Sandie and Brian are always very welcoming, friendly and fantastic hosts. Rooms superbly furnished, spacious and spotless. Free wifi, and whilst not a 'full English breakfast' eater, the home made bread makes great toast. The extra over and above touches including tea and cake, and ice removed from the windscreen on a frosty winters morning are really appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colincraig100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful one night stay at Old Pond Cottage. Hosts friendly, room clean and comfortable. The double we stayed in had enough room for a large travel cot although that made it quite snug. Apparently the twin is larger.

Breakfast was perfect, the ultimate full english. Plus I'd highly recommend a meal at the pub next door, the three crowns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Sandie and Brian are the perfect hosts, with nothing being too much trouble.
The rooms are clean, fresh and extremely comfortable.
Breakfast is simply fantastic, you will not go hungry.
All in all a perfect choice for me and wouldn't go anywhere else!!!!
Only downside..........gets booked up quickly (due to its reputation I suppose), so book early to avoid being disappointed.

Thanks to both Brian and Sandie.........I will be recommending you to all !!!!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in two of the three rooms, both were great !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisborough Green
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks
4.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
141 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
360 reviews
6.2 mi away
Roundabout Hotel
Roundabout Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chiltington
318 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pond Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pond Cottage

Property: Old Pond Cottage
Address: Old Pond Cottage Billingshurst Road | Billingshurst, West Sussex, Wisborough Green, Billingshurst RH14 0DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Wisborough Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wisborough Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of West Sussex, on the edge of the South Downs National Park, and within easy reach of the coast, Petworth, Chichester and Gatwick Airport. The ideal stop-over with all the local amenities of this timeless village just a short stroll away. Set between the church, the village pond and the village green, there are two lovely pubs in the village, for your evening meal - or perhaps to watch cricket on the beautiful village green. If you want to explore Sussex whilst staying a quintessentially English Village, then this is the place for you! Whether for one or two nights, or longer, we will do all we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We have plenty of local knowledge, and use local, organic ingredients in our breakfasts, which are included in the price. We have three rooms, a double (also used as a single at reduced rate, a twin with bath and shower, and a larger twin, which also has two large sofa chairs, which are not only lovely and comfortable to watch the large flat screen television, but are so useful as beds for extra guests, whether a family, or a larger group of people wishing to stay. All rooms have bright clean en-suite bathrooms, fluffy towels and complementary toiletries, radio, alarm clock and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Pond Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Pond Cottage Wisborough Green, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing