We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to drop in for coffee”
Review of Old Mill Cafe

Old Mill Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Old Mill Cafe serves breakfast, varied lunches, afternoon teas, sandwiches, cakes, cream teas and Italian ice-cream. Daily specials.We open 9-4.00 Tuesday to Friday, 9-4.30 Saturday, 10-4.30 Sunday. CLOSED MONDAYS. Open on bank holidays. Outside seating. All welcome, including dogs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place to drop in for coffee”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We dropped in for breakfast at this small cafe by the village green and were pleased that we had. Good cappuchinos and a well-filled bacon and egg toasted baguette and a large helping of scrambled eggs hit the spot perfectly and set us up for the rest of our day out. It also has a wide range of Italian themed dishes for lunch.
The cafe doesn't look much from the outside, but appearances are deceptive, give it a try if you're passing through the village

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank acjs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
Level Contributor
307 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good for coffee or lunch”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here for a coffee but ended up having scones and teacake as well. The coffee was very good and the teacake was excellent. The Italian owner was very friendly and helpful. The lunch menu looked really delicious, with several veggie options.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for an informal lunch”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I thought I'd reviewed Old Mill Cafe last summer but found that I hadn't. We have been three times and find it's great for a good lunch and interesting juices and shakes for our sons. It can be noisy, that's true, with motorcycles, but the little front space is pleasant and shady. The specials are fresh and the owner(s) interesting and a source of info on Italian food. We learned about the difference between cheap pasta and great pasta, and bought a bag of the former to take home. Stop in if you're passing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“LOVELY LITTLE CAFE”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We called in just for coffee, but were tempted by the Tuscan Bean Soup. It was really excellent as was the coffee. We shall make a special effort in the summer to call in for an Italian lunch

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A touch of Italy in the heart of sussex”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This little cafe was the highlight of our journey on the A272 and has put Wisborough Green firmly on our map for the future. The friendly welcome and quite unexpected quality of the lunch is something to remember.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mill Cafe also viewed

 
Billingshurst, West Sussex
Billingshurst, West Sussex
 
Wisborough Green, Billingshurst
Billingshurst, West Sussex
 

Been to Old Mill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing