We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Foxfield, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne a
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights with three of our Grandchildren and their Great Granddad plus Alfie our dog and what a lovely time we had. The cottage is beautiful with amazing space inside and out for everyone to enjoy the children especially loved their bedroom in the attic and exploring the garden. The cottage had everything we needed and was spotless with no obvious signs of it being dog friendly(no smell)we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Greety Gate House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found this dog friendly cottage beautiful with all the space you needed. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgame
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tranquil, couldn't ask for anything better”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed for Christmas week, it was a lovely stay, very well equipped with everything we needed, lots of space and a wonderful setting. I would recommend this cottage to families looking to spend quality time together, can not speak highly enough of the house and surrounding areas for dog walking and beautiful scenery, we will defiantly go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback following your stay at Greety Gate House.

Thank you for recommending Greety Gate House to others!

We are pleased you found the property well equipped for your stay during the Christmas period and enjoyed the location and the surrounding areas of the property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Greety Gate House or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TroddlaT
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A group of 8 who made a last minute booking to go up Scarfell Pike”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked last minute as we were planning to go up scarfell pike. We booked to stay for three nights. It was easy enough to find using Google maps on our phones. it is situated between foxfield and broughton with about 4/5 pubs in the area. Recommend bringing cash before you arrive as there is no cash machine at the local bank.

The cottage is attached via a garage to the owners house next door. The cottage is very nice inside with wooden beamed ceilings and traditional furniture. We were greeted with a welcome card and a bottle of wine and milk in the fridge. Downstairs there is a nice log burner which adds to the character, The decor throughout the cottage is very nice and comfortable. We all agreed that the duvets were especially good.

On our first morning we got up quite early around 6ish as its about an hour to the start point of our hike and there was no hot water or heating in the house which wasn't ideal, i know we could have rung the owners but i doubt they wanted a call so it was cold showers. When we got back the radiators were only on for set periods so drying our clothes after a soggy day up Scarfell took a little while, but a log fire made up for that.

The kitchen was a good size and had everything you would need, oven, microwave, toaster etc and there is lots of fridge space. There were 4 toilets, 1 shower, 1 shower/bath and a bath. The garden we didn't venture into too much due to weather but it seems nice and there was a sizable conservatory.

Local village is small and we ended up going to conniton as there was a little more going on there in terms of pub and food as the pubs in broughton close at a decent time.

Overall we were all very happy with our say and would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Decor
Liked least: Hot Water Timings
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;