We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Herdade da Cortesia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avis
Certificate of Excellence
Cascais, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A paradise on earth”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The bedrooms are excellent, the food divine and the location is a perfect geatway from the hectic dailylife. Nice staff.
Very good price / quality relation. Perfect for a relaxing weekend.
A bigger Gym and spa are planned for 2012.

Sofia, Portugal

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    32
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
69
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed here over the New Year's holiday and had a great start to 2011! Really one of the coolest hotels I've been to. It is quite unique in its architecture - seemingly a great contrast to its surroundings, but it somehow fits in perfectly to the landscape. You feel very far away from everything - in a really good way. It's almost as though you have your own apartment as each room has its own patio area - ours was completely private. The rooms are very well appointed, with lots of light. The bathroom is great - with a big window you can open next to the shower. Lots of little nooks to discover within the building and the grounds. Beautiful landscaping. Breakfast is great - more options than the typical Portuguese hotel breakfast. The only complaint was that the service often took quite a while (at the front desk and at the bar) - but that was probably because they had lots of guests for the New Year's holiday. I only wish we were there in the summer as the pool and pool area looked amazing!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This hotel is a hidden jewel in the middle of Alentejo. The rooms are spacious, all with a small varanda and a private view of the countryside,and the silence and the darkness of the room allow a peaceful sleep throughout the morning. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and the best thing of all you, can take it at any hour of the day! The restaurant stays open till very late in the evening and the bar is always open so that even if you arrive late, but want to eat something before going to your room, you can order a snack. During the summer you can have all your meals outside.
The hotel was designed by someone who knows that if you want to enjoy a weekend away from a very busy life, you should not have to worry about waking up on time for breakfast and then hurrying up for check out on Sunday. What a difference from the Spanish hotel were I was staying last weekend and were you at to leave at 12a.m. sharp. The meals were also excellent and there are plenty of programs to do around the Avis area. I will certainly return there and recommend this charming hotel to everyone who likes to feel pampered during the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The arquitecture of the hotel, is very interesting and innovative in its aproach, very confortable, with lovely spots to seat and relax. Lovely gardens.
The service is very good, and an interesting aspect is that breakfast has no hours, so you dont have to e ruled by a schedule in yor holiday. The hotel is located in a great place, with a excellent view. The bedrooms have different views.
The swmming pool is very good, and If tou go there you must make the boat trip to watch sunset in the maranhão dam near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celiamarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I have traveled to quite a few places and stayed in various hotels in California, The Philippines, Barcelona, Hong Kong, Bali etc. but Herdade da Cortesia was the most jaw dropping place I have ever stayed in. Also, it is the only hotel I have ever felt compelled to write a review for since only one other person here has written about it!

It was the perfect quiet retreat with a beautiful swimming pool and reservoir to canoe and see the dam and a wonderful view of Avis. I had never seen so many hawks and swallows before. The property has such beautiful architecture, you can tell that the design was extremely thought out. Sometimes designers put so much thought into the architecture that they leave out essential things but Herdade da Cortesia integrated comfort, design, convenience and the food at their restaurant was a great mix of modern and traditional Portuguese. The staff was friendly and personal, they treated you like you were staying in their home as opposed to just a typical hotel.

There is a beautiful farm and a stable where you can take riding lessons. You can see so many stars at night, you could even see the Milky Way which is a rare treat if you live in a city.

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and wished I could have stayed for a week. There is a lot to do in the hotel and plenty of wineries to visit in the area. During our stay we didn't even feel like we were staying in a hotel, we felt like we were staying at a house. Each room has its own unique view of the land with an entire wall with sliding glass that opens out into the view.

The drive from Lisbon is beautiful, easy and quick. I would recommend staying in Lisbon for a few days and then driving over to Avis and staying at the Herdade da Cortesia for as long as you can!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

ideal for relaxing, hiking, canoeing and visiting the gorgeous Avis village and Maranhão dam ... just a remark : the staff should be more professional ... but they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avis
13.9 mi away
Lago Montargil & Villas
Lago Montargil & Villas
#1 of 2 in Montargil
802 reviews
22.7 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel - Design Hotels
22.4 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hotel Solar dos Lilases
16.9 mi away
Hotel Convento D'Alter
Hotel Convento D'Alter
#1 of 3 in Alter do Chao
177 reviews
22.6 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Cortesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Cortesia

Property: Herdade da Cortesia
Address: Avis 7480-102, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Avis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Cortesia 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herdade da Cortesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Cortesia Portugal/Avis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing