We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very limited menu and staff who couldn't be bothered”
Review of Casa Barry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Barry Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Tofo
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very limited menu and staff who couldn't be bothered”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We ate in the restaurant of casa Barry twice during a ten day stay in tofo. It clearly occupies a great location with wonderful views of the whole of tofo bay. It also houses the marine megafauna foundation which is doing excellent conservation work with whale sharks and manta rays.

However, our experience of the restaurant was hugely disappointing. We were there out if season and the menu was small, but standard, including fish of the day and chicken options. However, both the starters we ordered (chicken bites and prawn bites) were not available, and a vegetarian option was the only alternative. The first time, we were not too upset by this and the rest of the meal was fine.

The second time we visited, a week later, it was the same story but a lot worse. There were still no chicken or prawn starters (take them off the menu!!!), and 2 minutes before our main courses were served we were told there was no rice! Having finished our main courses we had to wait a good 15 minutes to order dessert as our waiter was having his own supper, and the other waiter was studiously ignoring us. Once our waiter had finished eating, he came back over, but When we asked to order dessert he told us that of the two options on the blackboard only one was available as they had run out of ice cream. Unbelievable!

The waiter we had on our first visit was lovely, but the second time, was arrogant and couldn't seem to care less about us. Not great.

All in all, we got the distinct impression that casa Barry was functioning at half strength as it was low season. Nonetheless, I wouldn't go back, even in high season as the whole experience felt arrogant and stuck up, as if the customer was a mere inconvenience. The complete opposite of how a restaurant should feel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BumblingBibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    57
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
51
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jinghong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We found out through the grapevine in Tofo that Casa Barry was starting to offer accommodation for backpackers and we ended up spending two weeks in a double room for 600 MZN a night, from after Christmas to New Years. That's a great deal, because at this period Fatima's will make you pay 1000 MZN for a dorm bed.
The manager told us they were planning to create more facilities for backpackers, such as a self-catering kitchen and a braai area, which would make the place even better.
The view from their bar area is one of the best in Tofo, it's a shame their drinks are much more expensive than anywhere else in Tofo though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week over the New Year's period in Chalet 3. It is literally on the beach, a scant few steps away. Our family of four enjoyed the calm oasis that is Casa Barry while being able to stroll into the village for food and drink or to play in the ocean anytime we wanted. We ate at local restaurants on some evenings, ordered from the Casa Barry restaurant on others and then used our excellent braai out front for the remainder of our meals. The laid back atmosphere of Tofo is exactly what we were seeking, so we were truly happy there.

A couple of pointers:

- Casa Barry has no air conditioners. An extra fan in your car would be put to very good use on hot evenings if the wind is not favorable.

- for drinks, bring your own wine from South Africa. The storage standards did not look satisfactory to us. Local beer is excellent, though!

- at New Years, Tofo is completely in party mode for a few days. Two hotspots are Dino's and Fatima's. While they are some distance away from Casa Barry, the music runs until 'very' late (3-4 am?). This may impact on your ability to sleep, as there is no escape from this anywhere in the village.

- restaurants were quite good in the village. We used Casa de Comer and Dino's. Both served good food and were comparable in price. Casa Barry food was also very good and was delivered right to our chalet - very convenient!

- we used Liquid Adventures for both diving and Ocean Safari and would recommend them without reservation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were two families with teenage kids. Most of us are keen divers. I am not sure of the names of the rooms we ended up in. I think they were self catering cabana's. They were on the opposite side from the bar and directly overlooked the beach. While the rooms are not uber luxurious, they are comfortable serviced daily. From where we were, fishermen passed us daily and we were able to buy good fish and good sea food. I suggest you take your own scale to weigh stuff, because I am sure the scales the fishermen had were all dodgy!!
Casa Barry is in the best location in Tofu in the heart of the bay. The swimming was safe and it was a really short walk to get form the cabana to the sea.
The market is a short walk away and you can buy fresh bread rolls daily.
There were also places where our teenage kids could walk in the evenings and feel perfectly safe.
We enjoyed our diving. I did not realise before that Tofu is a hot spot for Manta Rays and Whale Sharks. We swam with a Whale shark which was memorable.
We didn't tour Tofu at all so I really cant tell you if there are better places, but then again we didn't feel the need to move - it was that good and we were all very chilled.

Room Tip: Cabana E is at the back and although it has an extra room the front deck is smaller. Also the unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilLMaun_Botswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place, helpful staff, good service and great views. This is a great place to relax after a day on the beach, or even if you feel like having a drink. We spent many hours watching the world go by on the deck. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaliese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great place for the price! The service in the restaurant is very very slow at time but the food is great. It is in a great location right on the beach and the self-catering chalets were comfortable and had a very functional kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahlwies, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We wanted to have some days to chill after our Campingsafari in Botsuana and South Africa and it was exactly what we were looking for. Right at the beach with a wonderful view from the Restaurant. The menu offered limited choice, but everything we had tasted really great. Our brick casita was really nice, not luxurious, but with a good Service.
We also appreciated that the lodge is home to the Marine Megafauna Foundation, where we learned in evening talks interesting Facts about the whalesharks and other marine life we saw on our snorkling trips.
We just hope we can ever go there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.9 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 17 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 20 in Inhambane
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Barry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barry Lodge

Property: Casa Barry Lodge
Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Barry Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Barry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing