We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
258
34
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
34
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams sea view our honeymoon tofo beach breakfast was delicious beach towels garden room mid afternoon bungalow number wonderful hosts stayed longer honesty bar little gem front gate little touches crepes wonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Baia Sonambula was the last destination of our honeymoon of 4 weeks and it was our absolute favourite place. Just everything about this place is amazing, where to start? The pick up from the airport was arranged and before driving straight to the Guest House the driver gave us a short tour through town to point out places to eat and so on. Once we were at the Guest house we were greeted by the super friendly and down-to-earth staff. We stayed in the Sea View Bungalow for a week. The view from the place is breathtaking and the beach a few meters away. You can see the humpback whales jumping in the sea while enjoying a nice breakfast. The design of the place is awesome too: great gardens and very nice interior design (rusty but classy!). We got a discount at Peri-peri divers as we stayed at this Guest House too, a nice bonus! Would recommend anyone to go here, truly paradise!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteffiB87, Manager at Baia Sonambula Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Thank you Joyce, for the taking the time to review our property. We are very proud you chose us for your final week of your honeymoon. And we are very happy to know you loved your week here with us. I showed your review to Joao (our driver) and he was very happy to hear you appreciated his little Tofo detour! I also spent a few words with our gardener, thanking him for the great work is doing in the garden where so many plants are blooming right know!!!
Thank you very much for appreciating our work and again for taking a few minutes to let us know how we are doing.
I wish you a happy 2015
Gian, Steffi and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We had a superb stay here the first week of November! We traveled with another couple and we each had the Guesthouses 2&3; it was magical - from the hammocks, to the oil burner for mosquitos, in room safe, homemade coconut oil and the wonderful bottle for our honeymooning friends. Breakfast was delicious, and Gianni mentioned he was going to add american-style pancakes to the homemade repertoire including splendid, homemade jams.
We communicated with Stefi, via internet, and she was always prompt and helpful in answering my questions. Gianni was our go-to-guy when he was found on property, and we had a great time learning about his plans for development including another guesthouse, future food ideas and he seemed to constantly be wanting to improve his place. We were also impressed with the staff and how they would smile and we very efficient in their tasks. The night guard also eased our minds, although there was probably no need, but that extra sense of security was nice. Joao picked us up from the airport and, when our luggage didn't arrive, he took it upon himself to speak with the airlines, called them repeatedly, and picked it up the following day.

I cannot recommend this place more. We all, four adults from 28-32, had a SUPERB time and agreed we wished we had more time at Baia Sonambula.

Grazie mile for the attention to detail, striving to provide a unique yet homey place to stay, that still felt extravagent.

Room tip: We stayed in Guesthouses 2 & 3, which has a shared walkway but completely separate balconies and lockable doors. It was perfect for two couples traveling together, but would easily work for one honeymooning couple and maybe even a small family, able to share a King bed.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Baia Sonambula is absolutely a perfect spot to relax. The sea view rooms are beautiful with great outdoor seating. The beds are good, the bed linnen clean and fresh, the breakfast is yummy with lots of fresh fruit and homemade yogurt and marmelades. You can take tea and coffee for free and in the afternoon there is usually cake and juice. The people of Baia Sonambula really know how to pamper their guests and make them feel welcome!

Room tip: This place only has 5 rooms. I had room 3, one of their 3 seaview rooms. Seaview room 2 is similar. These two are both great! Seaview room 1 is higher up and maybe a bit less private.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank YvonneVHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at Baia Sonambula and it is without question one of our favorite places we've ever stayed. Gian and Steffi's attention to detail make the property a very special place. The landscaping is breathtaking. You can check the surf out front from your deck. Enjoy delicious breakfast with locally made jams, yogurt, peanut butter, and magnificent Portuguese toast and eggs. No security concerns. You are a quick 5 minute walk to all of Tofo's small restaurants and markets. If you can get a room at Baia Sonambula, book it and enjoy.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Golden_Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Located just a few tens of metres off Tofo beach, this halcyon Garden of Eden has it all. You arrive a stranger but are greeted by the enthusiastic managers Gianni, Steffi, and staff as a long-anticipated old friend; after that you are really at home. We were picked up at Inhambane airport by Juao and greeted with a genuine smile.

The rooms are so tastefully decorated it is sometimes difficult to leave them: from the turtle-motif lamps to wooden wading birds, to the geckos and the African-style batik textiles. The tasteful use of wood and terracotta tiles throughout gives a warm, earthly sense to the place.

During our 12-night stay we had 3 different rooms, each with its own unique features.
The sea-view bungalows look out over the garden and beach to the Indian Ocean, and it’s so safe that we left our doors open at night to let in the ocean air. Of course, you have your own shaded terrace to lounge about, and even here the attention to detail is fabulous.

Breakfast is out on the open deck, shaded by bamboo and sailcloth, again looking out to the ocean. The food is fabulous: home-made marmalades, jams and yoghurt, fruit salad, fresh juices and eggs. You should not be left wanting. Throughout the day you can enjoy a cup of tea or coffee, juice, a smoothie, lots of fresh fruit and – if you’re quick enough – Josepha’s delectable brownies; all this is complementary. After returning from a day’s diving a refreshing beer from the honesty bar is just the ticket.

Probably unique to all of Tofo is the garden at Baia Sonambula. This is just fabulous! There is virtually not a square inch of ground that isn’t planted! And everywhere you will find potted plants where the gardener Francisco has tastefully decided needs a spot of nature.

Steffi, Gianni and crew have thought of everything: if you’re going for swim there are plenty of beach towels at hand - the beach is literally metres away; there’s an outdoor shower to wash off the salt and sand, or a cool footbath with flower petals, and a line to dry your gear on. There is also WiFi Internet that works.

The atmosphere is extremely casual, relaxed and Zen, right down to the scented oils in the bungalow and the incense sticks in the lounge.

Getting to the restaurant and bars in Tofo is an easy 10 minutes walk northwards along the beach, and we were never disturbed except for the kids selling bracelets, but they are very nice about it and don’t hang about long if they know it's a no-sale. If you’re diving with Peri-Peri Divers it’s a five minute walk.

This has been the holiday of our dreams, and many thanks to Steffi, Gianni and their team for making it complete. We’ll definitely be back to Baia Sonambula – as soon as possible! We couldn’t recommend Baia Sonambula more highly or you’d never believe us!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews