We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jewel inTofo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa do Mar
Ranked #4 of 11 Tofo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Jewel inTofo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This privately owned and run guesthouse is the Jewel of Tofo. Ovelooking the bay of Tofo the views are amazing. Watching hump back whales breach from your balcony at 6 am is a dream.
Nothing is too much trouble for owners Daphne and Jakkie and their great staff - I had a terrible tooth ache late one night and Jakkie found me some pain killers which allowed me a decent nights sleep. The cook rustles up some amazing dishes at a moments notice. If you are really lucky and Jakkie goes out fishing you may be in for an awesome treat that evening. We'll definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks for the nice review cannot wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    16
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a very good 3 night stay in Casa Do Mar in Tofo (booked through Scuba Mozambique). It is quite a quirky place (in a good way), with the ground floor set out like a large house with open plan bar / sofa / lounge/ dining table. The kitchen is also open and you can see the chefs preparing your food. There is an honesty bar and TV / communal books which gives the place a very homely feel whilst still giving people space to do there own thing. Rooms are spacious and to a good standard and food was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danish1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the nice review it was nice having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to stay in more 'upmarket' accommodation for our last 2 nights in Tofo and were quite literally blown away. From the warm welcome and tour by Jakkie to the poolside service to the comfortable rooms we were pleasantly surprised at every turn. We stayed in a sea view room - and what a view! Probably the best in Tofo - you can just about see all the goings on at the beach from here. It was really special to see whales breaching while eating breakfast on the balcony.

Nothing seemed like too much trouble for any of the staff. The guesthouse is relatively new, but we felt very welcome and more importantly at home. It was great to see Jakkie & Daphne putting so much energy into Casa do Mar - we believe it will be the secret to their success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for taking time to review Casa do Mar. It is always nice to hear that the guests enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our second visit to Casa do Mar, and will definitely not be our last.

You could not ask for more friendly staff and a better location. Nothing is too much trouble for owners Daphne and Jakkie and their great staff - breakfast at midday after a morning dive is offered with a cheery smile instead of a groan! All the food was so good there is simply no need to go out!

Casa do Mar is the perfect place to stay if you are a diver, but enjoy some creature comforts. It is a 2 minute stroll to the Peri Peri dive centre and it is the perfect place to laze around enjoying the view and watching whales.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but ask if room 1 is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the nice review . Hope we see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We experienced Jakkie's and Daphne's sense of hospitality first hand when, although we couldn't stay at Casa do Mar as they were fully booked, they went out of their way to help us to get a rental car and alternative accomodation.
We passed by one night "just for one drink" but stayed much longer than that and in the end also ordered some food (although this is usually just for guests staying there)...the best pizza I have had in Mozambique and my colleagues' steak was also fab'. Wow, Daphne was not exaggerating when she said they had the best chefs in town!
Can't wait to come back, but then on a holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Out of the places we stayed at in Tofo this was our favorite. 100 m up the hill from the beach with an amazing view over the bay.
We had a room with ocean view and after staying in more "exotic" places (bungalow, fisher mans house) it was wonderful to have a proper bed, big bathroom and a lounging area right outside.
Breakfast was good with the normal array of cereals, bread and eggs.
We ate here two nights (Tofo not being so big you work through the restos quite quick),
you just let them know in the afternoon and Itho (spelling?), the chef, prepared wonderful food!
We would definitely recommend to stay here whilst in Tofo!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraCarlTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our place it is always nice to hear that your quests enjoyed their stay at Casa do Mar. Hope we will see you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

The Casa do Mar guesthouse is in a perfect location with stunning views of Tofo beach. The owners Jakkie and Daphne are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are large and well furnished and kept very clean. On the balcony outside the room there are big comfortable couches to relax and watch the whales breaching from the ocean. There is also a well kept swimming pool and deck area to lounge around.

We ate at the restaurant a few nights and the food was of great quality and well prepared. The omelette the chef made for breakfast is one of the best we have ever had!

The town is only a short walk so you can experience other restaurants and go to the market.

Having high speed wifi was great and the fully stocked bar was a treat.

Unfortunately the weather was not quite good enough for fishing but we would have loved to go out on Jakkie's boat. He runs fishing charters from the guesthouse.

We look forward to returning to Tofo and staying at Casa do Mar again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellGell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.8 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 17 in Inhambane Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 18 in Inhambane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amigo Lodge
Amigo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tofinho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Mar

Property: Casa do Mar
Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse on Tofo Main Beach Airconditioned Private Bathrooms Swimmingpool Wi Fi Bar Restaurant Deep Sea Fishing Dstv.Stunning View of the whole beach.82 Kva standby Generator.9 Rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing