We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of Casa do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Mar
Ranked #3 of 10 Tofo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I just enjoyed our second visit to this beautiful guesthouse in Tofo. A week of sunshine, warm hospitality, gorgeous views and mouth-watering delicious food.

Arriving at the guesthouse the staff meets you with big white smiles. From the moment you step foot into this place until the moment you leave the staff just can’t do enough for you. Thank you Adriano, Itu and Sergio, you made our stay one to remember forever!

There is a big open plan bar/lounge/dining area, with the kitchen in the one corner. Absolutely beautiful, with a very well stocked honesty bar, and sweeping views of the beach and ocean a stone’s throw away. We had breakfast each morning, in fact all our meals, outside on the balcony. Don’t let the menu limit your culinary experience at Casa do Mar. Here you are spoilt for choice! Discuss with the chef on duty what you’d like, and he will 9 times of 10 make it happen! The best food available in Tofo are served right here, in house! We mentioned on our first day, to please not think you can spoil us with steak and chops, guess what? We had fresh seafood every day! From tuna steaks, to barracuda on the grill, prawns, calamari, seafood paella YUM!

The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. There are a total of 7 rooms, of which for 4 have full sea view. All rooms have air conditioner, which is must in Mozambique. The guesthouse also has a patio area with a swimming pool and pool bar. On the balconies are very comfy lounge sets to relax, also sun loungers by the pool.

There is simply no comparison when it comes to accommodation or hospitality in Tofo. Don’t let higher prices from other guesthouses fool you. This guesthouse is reasonably priced, which might lead to the misconception that the other more expensive places are nicer, I assure you this is not the case. When booking your stay in Tofo, this is the number 1 choice! I know Tofo very well, and I challenge any one to show me a better place to stay in Tofo.

Thank you Daphne and Jakkie for showing us true hospitality and a taste of Mozambique that will long linger in our memories. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Casa do Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed in Tofo before and intend to go back. Casa do Mar is a must the owners Daphny and Jakkie go out of their way to help you and the staff can't do enough for you.
The selection of food is good and of great quality with large portions. Guests have the use of a honest bar which is stocked with most spirits and beer etc.
Our bedroom overlooked the bay with stunning views with a nice balcony ( good to have a sundowner on).
Thank you all for a fantastic time, see you soon.
Sean and Sally.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thanks for the nie review. Hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely place with stunning views and beautiful rooms. Friendly and considerate management who went out of their way for us a couple of times (e.g. lifts and things like that) to make sure we had a good stay. The sea view rooms in particular are stunning. Nice food, and there is an honesty bar with a VERY extensive and interesting selection of drinks! The only small flaw is the first floor balcony rooms can get a bit noisy if people are up on the upper deck late at night or early in the morning. If you are up early anyway to go diving or something like that the morning is not a problem, but if you want total rest and relaxation best to ask for a room on the lower floor. Otherwise, this is a great place in a beautiful spot with excellent staff - also a little cheaper than some comparable places in Tofo so I would also say it represents great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

...you hate friendly and open people
...you hate clean rooms
...you hate fantastic service and a view over the beach
...you hate good food
...you hate the feeling to be at home from the first moment

...all my love to Daffy / Jekky and Lilly
please great ETO and all the other stuff
Hope to see you soon again
Jerry Nov/Dec 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GernotNestler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We miss you here. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in this lovely welcoming lodge for four nights. Daphne was wonderfully prompt about responding to e-mails. You must pay for the room nights in advance to an account in South Africa and it is not possible to wire funds in Mozambican meticais, which is the currency the invoice was in. So it is important to get this converted to South African rands (and Daphne’s agreement regarding the exchange rate) before you make your payment.

The transport they organized for us from Inhambane Airport was on time. When we arrived we were shown to a large open living room and terrace common area overlooking the sea with open bar run on the honor system and TV. This made it seem like a home away from home. You can also take your meals at a communal table or eat outside on the terrace.

We had a sea view room which was spacious, clean and very tastefully decorated (as was the rest of the house). It overlooked a terrace over the swimming pool and had seats and a privacy screen. Bathroom had modern fixtures and hot water with an ingenious built in cement shelving to store your belongings. The shower was big enough for two:). They have coffee and tea making facilities. There is no TV in the rooms which suited us fine. You get a weak WIFI signal in the rooms, and have to go to the common lounge for reasonably fast access for 100 meticais per day. They also have a next day laundry service for reasonable prices that includes ironing!

Breakfast consisted of fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, toast and you could choose your egg dish or pancakes. Note that breakfast is not included in the room price, but the rates are very reasonable considering the quality. (All meats are brought in from South Africa and are of excellent quality.) The food was divine. Etu, the chef, is a living treasure. He is such a kind man and cooks the best food in Tofo. You can ask him to make anything, even if it is not on the menu. He dropped what he was doing one afternoon when we came back from our dives and were dying for a mozzarella salad to run to the market to buy fresh vegetables. When he found out we were next headed to Flamingo Lodge he gave us the name of a relative of his working there to make sure we would be well looked after. His peri peri chicken is the best we have ever tasted. He also made a fabulous chocolate cake for my partner’s birthday which Daphne organized with me in advance. She even bought the candles and decorations and offered this to us as a gift to my partner. The host, Jakkie, is a game fisherman who delights in taking his guests fishing and ensures there is always plenty of fresh fish available to eat too. (Note that Casa do Mar does not allow non-guests to use their pool and dining facilities which keeps the place upscale and quiet and gives it a feeling of exclusivity.)

Daphne also took my partner to the ATM machine at the petrol station 5 kms away over the weekend and loaned us the 4x4 mule/golf cart to explore Tofo and wouldn’t accept any money for petrol. Note that payment for incidentals is cash only in meticais, rand or USD.
98% of their guests are divers and you can benefit on a discount on accommodation and diving if you book both at the same time. We booked with Peri Peri divers which is right next to Caso do Mar and were happy with our choice.

We had a wonderful stay. Truly our hosts were beyond kindly and generous. They were also very welcoming to us as a gay couple. Tofo is a gem of a laid back village and we were very pleased we decided to stay here before moving on a few nights to the nearby Flamingo Lodge at Barra Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

It was nice having you here and hope we see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent 8 nites or so at CASA DO MAR what a wonderful spot and the establishment is truly fabulous Edu and Adriano were two of the boys who took care of us All our meals except one were cooked here and they were great no need to go any where else Bossman Jakkie was a really great host took some of us deepsea fishing and cooked up the catch on return Most of the rooms overlook the ocean so first thing in morning pull open the curtains and WHAT A VIEW Three floors ,,top one entertaining with huge u shape bar that works on the HONOUR system,,, dining and kitchen area open so you can see the boys in action and a balcony to die for Next floors down are accom with a pool deck and sundeck to complete Jakkie my friend you have done it very very well I(f you are thinking of staying at TOFO BEACH you must drop in you will be pleasantly suprised

Room Tip: Top rooms have the sound of the ocean all nite,,, way to go
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neville g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for the nice reveiw hope to see you again in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice and relaxing! Pleasant and helpfull staff members. Beautiful view from the balcony and great meals. Have to try the fish curry. Great hosts. Good location in the village.
The place is very clean. Great bar facilities, very comfortable lounge. If you like fishing you can organize that with the owner which is alwas around.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabiDan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakkie M, Owner at Casa do Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank for the review hope to see you again in future





















\

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
0.1 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 10 in Tofo
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 14 in Tofo
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 14 in Tofo
208 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 21 in Inhambane
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Mar

Address: Tofo Beach, Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range: £109 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guesthouse on Tofo Main Beach Airconditioned Private Bathrooms Swimmingpool Wi Fi Bar Restaurant Deep Sea Fishing Dstv.Stunning View of the whole beach.82 Kva standby Generator.9 Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Casa do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing