We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, gorgeous place!! Wished we could have stayed longer.”
Review of Mozambeat Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mozambeat Motel
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Tofo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Mozambeat and had the most fantastic time here. We wished we could have stayed longer. Mozambeat has the most incredible relaxed, fun atmosphere. There are dorms, but we had a gorgeous little cabin with 2 beds and mosquito nets, and an outside bathroom, and a veranda outside with a hammock and chairs. The food at the bar is FANTASTIC, fresh, great portions and cheap! It's a great place to meet people, with a friendly atmosphere. A few people we met were on repeat visits here, which can only be a good sign.
Mozambeat is up the hill from the main road in Tofo (about 10-15 mins walk), but with something going on every night, it's the place to be, and lots of people staying elsewhere came to join in the fun. The bar is great, and during our short stay there was a movie night, poker night and a kareoke night. Down the road from the motel is a lane to a deserted pristine beach.
There's plenty to do in Tofo, and Mozambeat is THE place to stay. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends, and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Choice between dorms and private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We just had the best time at Mozambeat. We planned to stay for two days but stayed for 5. The vibe is just great and the staff is very friendly. The owner and his girlfriend were very nice to! We were Dutch so communication was very easy. The owner is wel known in the town and can arrange ocean safari's. They are very helpfull and that was great! I even introduced a new drink. No Jägerbomb on the menu but a 'Vliegend Hertje'. Thanks Ray and Sietske. We really enjoyed our stay! The best of luck for Mozambeat. You deserve it!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow wow wow...we could never have expected what an incredible place this is. Our hosts Raymond and Sietske (Sisi) have created a tropical oasis. Their attention to detail from the decor, extra length comfy beds and wonderful outdoor yet private bathrooms. The meals were the best that we had anywhere in Tofo. The staff were friendly, efficient and very well trained. The hammocks and pristine swimming pool were so relaxing after a day of scuba diving. Movie nights, incredible music, poker nights all added to the party laid on by Mozambeats. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved room 3 and 4 as they have a wonderful verandah and hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly and helpful staff. The cabins are spacious and clean. In case you want some privacy you can sit on your own veranda. Food is very nice. Our favorites: piri piri chicken and the pancakes with fresh fruit and yoghurt! Good value for money comparing to the places next to the beach. Nice swimming pool! Football on big screens: hup Holland!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FlipFlopHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the place where I first stopped during my month and a half trip to Africa last summer. I had looked at the usual travel books and most of them were recommending cheap backpacker places by the water or more expensive lodges with great views. Mozambeat seemed to be sort of in the middle and a bit unique from the cookie cutter accommodation that you can find in tropicalandia.

If you are on a very tight budget and planning to travel across the continent with only few dollars a day, this place is a bit more expensive than the huts/dorms that you will find by the Tofo beach but really more comfortable. I visited some of those places. The problem is that they are advertised as a cheap accommodation on these guide books, which means that they don't need to make an effort to attract guests but will still get a regular traffic with the usual international young crowd, their customer service not necessarily very good, the staff not necessarily friendly, the amenities quite limited (even getting a mosquito net is a hassle). At the end of the day, you pay a low price but for a place that looks like a basic hut made of cinder blocks. I saw backpackers covered with mosquito bites eventually move out of those and join me at Mozambeat.

I stayed in a private cabin that was nicely decorated so I don't have an opinion on the dorms. The cabin had a clean outdoor private bathroom, hammock, mosquito net,... The owner, Raymond, who is originally from Holland, was very relaxed. His local staff was very friendly. The place had a nice pool next to a cashew nut tree. Great cocktails, cold local beers. I had dinner there once and the shrimps with cassava (matapa) was delicious. But what I really liked was the vibe. The bar by the pool was often playing a blend of soul and R&B music, with artists like Lee Fields and the Expressions, and music popular in Mozambique & South Africa like Sixto Rodriguez and Goldfish. For the anecdote, I actually found out who Rodriguez was during my stay at Mozambeat. :-)

The place is located up the hill on the right at the entrance of Tofo and all this adds to the relaxed feel and good vibe, as most visitors will go there to relax, mingle with other guests, enjoy good music away from the crowded and touristic village center. Although the music does not play too late at night, you may hear it from your dorm or cabin so it could be wise to ask for accommodation not too close to the bar if you intend to go to bed early.

A drawback which can be an advantage, is that Mozambeat is 15mn walking distance from the center of Tofo. If you have dinner in Tofo, don't forget your headlamp as you'll walk back at night on the main road to Mozambeat. This also means bringing your raincoat or umbrella if you go there during local summertime when showers can occur. Many locals do the same thing and you'll blend with them and other visitors who decided to not stay in the village. If you plan to scuba dive in Tofo, you should also check if the dive shops will come pick you up in the morning (or make it a request as a decision factor between the various shops that compete in town) or else just factor it in your schedule between breakfast and diving time.

Someone described Mozambeat as "The place in Tofo for backpackers with a credit card". I think this is a fair description. If you are looking for a place where you will stay many days or even weeks and price is your biggest decision factor, then you may opt for other cheaper places in the village. If you do, I would suggest you first ask to see a room or hut as quality can be very low. I did not find it worth saving few bucks and appreciated having a bit more comfort without spending a lot on a soulless lodge. In short, I was quite pleased to stay at Mozambeat for my first nights in the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the bar if you plan to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LarrySav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had an incredible time recently in Tofo, a large part of this was due to my stay at Mozambeat. If you are a traveller looking for a unique experience, this is the place to stay. The hotel itself is really cool, with individually decorated cabins, a great main bar/restaurant and a gorgeous pool area. The food was some of the best we had in Tofo with fresh fish and amazing breakfast on offer.

If you're looking for evening fun, it's also perfect, as all the locals and travellers congregate there in the evening to party. When myself and my friend Flick stayed we went to all the weekly poker, sushi and film nights.

Whilst it's a 15min walk to the beach, it's completely worth it. More than anything, the staff are a total joy, so fun and friendly. The owner, Raymond is very accommodating, helping you book activities and generally being a star! I would recommend it to anyone. However, if you order a whiskey sour, make sure to ask Narcisso to make it or you might end up with some egg yolk in your drink :)

Sophie

Room Tip: Cabin 3 was my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Mozambeat as one of the first stops on an extended Africa trip and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in a private cabin which was great with a lovely outdoor bathroom and verandah with hammock. The bed was comfortable with a mosquito net but could have done with better pillows! The communal areas and especially the pool are amazing, particularly at night when lit with fairy lights. The food is yummy (loved the somosas!) though a little pricey for a hostel. The internet is too expensive (they charge daily) and they are very strict with it changing the password every day so we went without, despite the fact it would have been useful to plan other parts of our trip. Overall a nice place and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryTravellerGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymozambeat, Manager at Mozambeat Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

First of all thank you for your stay, it was nice having you guys. We are aware that not everyone likes a pillow, therefore If you were not happy with the pillows, (and let us know) we have several other pillows (like a continental pillow for example) in our store room as a pillow is of personal taste...Concerning the internet, here in Mozambique there is no such thing as unlimited data packages like you have in Europe etc. Unfortunately you pay per MB which makes it very pricey thing to provide. For example you pay 3 meticais per minute at an internet cafe....so 1 hour is more expensive than all day at MBM...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.5 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#11 of 19 in Inhambane Province
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.9 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#4 of 14 in Tofo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 10 in Tofo
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#3 of 10 in Tofo
139 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casas Delight Beach Resort
Casas Delight Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Inhambane
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozambeat Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozambeat Motel

Address: Barrio Josina Machel | Praia de Tofo / Tofinho, Tofo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Tofo
Price Range: £14 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mozambeat Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, Hi, Hola, Ciao, Salut, and welcome to Mozambeat Motel! Brought to you by dedicated world travelers, Mozambeat Motel has all the facilities to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing stay with us at our tropical oasis. With a range of clean and spacious accommodation, a refreshing pool and a soundtrack to make life feel just that bit sweeter, Mozambeat Motel is the perfect place to relax, meet people and discover the beauty of South Eastern Africa. With our enormous 2nd floor deck, our guests can enjoy unique views of the incredible Tofo sunset over the beautiful canopy of palm, coconut and cashew trees. And for our more social guests, the stylish deck doubles up as a playful dancefloor in the evening, creating the perfect atmosphere to unwind and meet new people. Our well stocked bar hosts a range of fine beers, spirits and cocktails, with hammocks and cushions to smoothe out any stresses. At Mozambeat Motel we serve daily the most tasty food available in town, from local fresh fish to grilled piri-piri chicken. Alternatively, we have a BBQ area available, where you can grill your own food. And is there a better way to start your day with fresh fruits, healthy juices, several sandwiches or our signature Mozambeat Breakfast? Set a short walk back from the beach, Mozambeat Motel is a friendly and well-organised business, sprinkled with luxurious furniture, water features, a collection of fresh foliage and your daily soundtrack to provide a cool, cosy and funky setting. Mozambeat Motel also hosts weekly movie nights, featuring cult and comedy classics on our state of the art projector screen. Come on - Dive in! Mozambeat Motel - "Where music and passion are always in fashion" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mozambeat Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing