We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging in Tofo”
Review of Casa na Praia Tofo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa na Praia Tofo
Ranked #2 of 11 Tofo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best lodging in Tofo”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After spending half of our vacation in Tofu at a more budget place, we upgraded to Casa na Praia and couldn't have been happier with the decision. We spent the first night in their "tree house" but then had to move cause it was already booked for the following days. Spent another few nights in the "African Bungalows", which were really nice, but had I had my way we would have spent the whole time in the tree house. The tree house isn't quite as well finished, but it's more secluded which means that the beach hawkers can't walk up to your patio to try and sell you stuff and you can leave you balcony doors open at night to get the ocean breeze.

Also, the pillows in the bungalows could be upgraded.

The breakfasts were fantastic and the staff super helpful. The location also can't be beat. Tucked in the corner between the 2 beaches it's easy access to great surf spots as well as "downtown" and all the restaurants.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James85K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    65
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
118
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic and relaxing holiday at casa na Praia. Great value for money and friendly staff. Rio who looked after us even organized a delicious birthday cake for my husbands 40th. Bungalow Rooms are right on the beach with most spectacular ocean views. Cleaned daily and beautifully decorated. If you book for the breakfast they can even serve them right on your patio outside your room if you looking for some peace and quite. Tofo is a good long boarding wave with tofinho 15 minutes walk for the more experienced surfer. Lots of restaurants in the little town of Tofo to explore at night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Casa na Praia for 7 days in the treehouse. It was absolutely amazing and the service and staff were very friendly. The location is wonderful, right on the beach and away from the hustle and bustle. Our bags did not arrive with us (we only received it the next day) and the staff were fantastic in following up with our bags and arranging for its delivery from the airport. All in all, I would recommend Casa na Praia to all travelers - simply fantastic.

Room Tip: The treehouse is perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umaymah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After searching the net (particularly Trip Advisor!) for a place to stay during a 5-day diving trip in Tofo, we settled on Casa na Praia. And what an excellent choice it proved to be! The lodge is right on the beach, within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, the market and the dive charters. My husband and myself stayed in the Sea room, which is one of 4 in the newer part of the lodge, called "Bungalow Africano". These rooms are wonderful, 4 in a row, each with a little verandah on the edge of the beach. Besides 3 nights in the Beach room (also one of the newer rooms), our son and his girl-friend also stayed in the Treehouse and the Garden room. Although not of the same standard as the 4 rooms in "Bungalow Africano", they found these 2 rooms very cute and comfortable. The staff were all friendly, and here, I must make special mention of Rio at reception. From handling our booking (not straighforward in the case of the second couple in our party), to advising us on diving sites and restaurants and giving us general information about the area, she was efficient and friendly, an absolute pleasure to deal with. All in all, this is a place we would definitely love to go back to!

Room Tip: The 4 rooms in the "Bungalow Africano" are more expensive, but are the nicest. Of these, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stabio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

perfect lovely spot, right on a wide and long and clean calm beach, highly recommend becasue rarely seen such places...the ownwer Laura and her crew are always there to help and advice. perfect for people who want to spend some calm days on wonderful beaches

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick0066827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Incredible location - one of the best in Tofo, with your balcony/front porch right on the beach. A huge amount of thought has clearly gone into the aesthetics and each room is lovingly decorated. Was easily one of the nicest places we stayed in Mozambique - including some places that were much more expensive. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast is also delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaNaPraiaTofo, Manager at Casa na Praia Tofo, responded to this review, 15 August 2016
I do not know how to thank you for rating us as one of the best of you visited in mozambique, Your satisfaction is our pride. And we will work harder in order to maintain our image. Thank you, I hope you visit us more often.

Casa Na Praia Tofo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Casa na Praia for five nights over easter. Had a great time. The hotel is located right on the beach (best location on Tofo beach). Rooms are nice and well kept, and the staff is great. The hotel only serves breakfast (a good one). However, there are plenty of good places to have lunch and dinner in and around Tofo.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tommi_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofo
10.8 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 17 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
0.8 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
168 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 19 in Inhambane
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa na Praia Tofo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa na Praia Tofo

Property: Casa na Praia Tofo
Address: Praia do Tofo, Tofo 1308, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Tofo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tofo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa na Praia Tofo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you dream of a beach house, you’ve found it! Casa na Praia offers beautiful rooms with A/C and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa na Praia Tofo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing