We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely base for a visit to Cheddar Gorge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Manor House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in late July with my two teenage children. This B&B is ideal for families visiting Cheddar for the tours of the caves (plus real caving with a guide), some scrambling on the cliffs and the hilltop walk. It is also near the attractions at Weston Super Mare where my two had a brilliant traditional day at the seaside. Having a spacious family room with en suite bathroom to return to in between jaunts was perfect for us. The building made quite an impression, with its flagstone floors on the ground floor, fantastic welcoming kitchen and quirky corridors. is very near a lovely walk/track, the Strawberry Line, which was perfect for a run. The owners were great, they made a point of really looking after us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Old Manor House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Returned to the The Old Manor for another lovely short break. Helen and Mike are such perfect hosts and serve delicious food in their lovely home. The location is perfect for visiting Cheddar and the Gorge which you can reach by walking along the Strawberry Line footpath, if you walk in the other direction it takes you to Winscombe. Also spent a day on the beach at Weston Super Mare which is only 15 mins away. Add to that the beautiful city of Wells only 20 mins away and you can see why we think a stay at The Old Manor House is the perfect location for visiting this part of Somerset. Oh and there is a really good pub within 3 mins walk if you want a pint of the local cider! What more could you need for a relaxing break.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JSandPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We visited in January and we liked it so much we returned for another stay. It would be hard to find more accommodating hosts than Helen and Mike, they really cannot do enough to make your holiday a happy one. Helen advised that parking could be a problem at Cheddar Gorge, a couple of miles away and so she took us there and collected us when we were ready ! Our room was just delightful, a very comfy bed, plenty of space and with a lovely sunny outlook onto the rear garden. The breakfast was delicious, we had a full english which was bursting with flavour and as it was cooked in the oven it was as healthy as a cooked breakfast can be. We were also fortunate to taste one of Helens evening meals. We had roast lamb and vegetables with parmentier potatoes followed by her home made profiteroles and boy does she make a good profiterole ! She is happy to take orders for meals and you won't find better value.
If you are looking for a good value B and B with excellent home cooked food and the friendliest hosts imaginable then you must visit The Old Manor House. The scenery of Cheddar Gorge is fabulous and we also visited Wells cathedral which was a revelation and the most beautiful cathedral I think I have ever visited.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, we looked around them all
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexEnglandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here for one night last weekend as we were going to a wedding nearby. We had a very warm welcome from Helen and Mike, and although our dog unfortunately had to stay at home, they had been happy for her to come and stay too! Our bedroom was on the ground floor and was large, beautifully furnished and with a very comfortable bed and a lovely shower room. My only small comment would be that there was some noise from the road, perhaps the rooms upstairs are a bit quieter. However, it didn't keep us awake as we were shattered from the wedding! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and home-cooked on the Aga - yum! Again, Helen and Mike were very friendly and kindly allowed us to use their computer to finalise the rest of our travelling plans. A lovely place to stay for a few nights, and maybe we'll be back with our dog next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Not wishing to repeat what's already been said in other positive reviews, The Old Manor House run by Helen and Mike is a superb B&B from all angles. Met with a few buddies for a weekend walking Cheddar and we count ourselves lucky to have picked this one. An added bonus was a really excellent pub within staggering distance. If you're in the area and looking for somewhere to stay, this is the one to try first. Trust me.

David

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

New B&Bers Helen and Mike have hit the ground running with this well run B&B . Their eye for detail is stunning , beautifully clean and well maintained our 2 night walking holiday was enhanced by a warm welcome , and delicious lemon cake and tea . Super breakfast to fuel us through the walking day , a return where muddy boots are not frowned on , in fact there is a dry room for outdoor gear if caught in the rain and back to a room so beautifully finished its a shame to sleep in it

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a place! What a welcome! What wonderful hosts!
The Old Manor House was a recommendation on Facebook and so glad we booked it. A walking break for myself, fiancee and our Border Collie Crumble. Mike and Helen are the best, calling us by our 1st names right from the word go. A nice brew and slice of cake to start the stay, with a treat for the dog. The room was fantastic....on the ground floor....ideal for the late night toilet run for Crumble. Situated at the foot of magnificent hills and across from a great little pub, just right for sampling the Thatchers cider! A massive breakfast to get the energy levels up was the order of the day....and it was.....superb!
Thankyou so much, Mike and Helen, for making us feel so welcome. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
8.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor House B&B

Address: Cross Lane, Cross BS26 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cross
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manor House is situated directly at the foot of the Mendip Hills, just off the A38 on the outskirts of Cross and Axbridge, facing south over the Somerset Levels. We are just 3 miles from Cheddar, 10 miles from Weston Super Mare and 9 miles from Burnham on Sea. The building is approximately 400 years old and was originally a Coaching Inn, so holds that warm atmosphere and character with inglenook fireplaces and old charm that old houses command. This beautiful house has 5 en-suite bedrooms and another room with a separate (but sole use) bathroom. All rooms have TVs with DVD players installed, hair dryers, free toiletries, tea and coffee facilities (including the option of soya milk) and there is free Wifi throughout the house. A fully English breakfast is cooked to order using locally sourced produce, served with homemade breads and jam. Fresh fruit and other healthier options are also available. Please let us know of any gluten, lactose or nut allergies so that we can support you in having a great breakfast The nearest airport is Bristol Airport, 11 miles from the property. Old Manor House B&B offers pet-friendly accommodation (please contact us prior to booking). There is free private parking on site for one car per guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Manor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor House B&B Cross, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing