We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Manor House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay. A beautiful old building with fantastic rooms and what a welcome. Helen and Mike were away so had left the place in the safe hands of the previous owners Sue and Merv. We were warmly greeted, shown to our room and invited down for a pot of tea and some of Merv's fabulous homemade Lardy Cake. After a good nights sleep we had a superb breakfast with Merv's home made bread much enjoyed. You can see why Sue won awards for her breakfasts. A really top place to stay and a shame to see it for sale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
70
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend of biking and exploring the caves. Not only is the place beautiful with great rooms, but it's the owners that really set it apart. Helen and her husband were so friendly and couldnt do enough for us, it felt like a home from home. It's an ideal base to explore Cheddar and the surrounding area, would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We have the black and white room with the four poster bed, very spacious with a great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Old Manor House B&B, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you Laura for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you both for the weekend and hope to see again soon. Best Wishes Helen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just had a really lovely 2 night break with my husband & 8 year old son. This is a charming old property in a great location ideal for visiting Cheddar Gorge & the caves. We were greeted by the friendly and thoughtful hosts & had coffee & delicious homemade chocolate brownies in front of the cosy wood burner in the lounge before being shown to our room. We were staying in the Black & White room which was lovely & a really good size. 4 poster bed for us & a nice single bed for our son. The first night we had arranged for an evening meal at the property. It was absolutely delicious & I can highly recommend it. We had Spanish chicken, homemade fresh fruit pavlova & coffee & chocs - Mmmmmm! We enjoyed visiting Cheddar the next day & my husband & son enjoyed a walk up to the top of Crook Peak near the property where they had great views to Glastonbury Tor. The second night we had a fantastic meal at the New Inn pub over the road (booking advisable). The breakfasts were wonderful too. I can definitely highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here with friends for the weekend in order to see the Bridgwater Festival.
We were given a very warm welcome and Mike and Helen did everything to make our stay very comfortable. The room was perfect and the bathroom really spoilt us.
The breakfast was great and set us up for the day and tea and cake when we got back in the afternoon was much appreciated!
Brilliant location to see so much, Wells, Cheddar, Bath .....
Thank you both for a lovely stay , we will be back !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelynnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

stopped at the old manor house at the beginning of september and i can't say enough nice things about the old manor house and the hosts Helen and Mick

from arriving to leaving we were made to feel so welcome and spoilt we really didn't want to leave its a fantastic base for visiting a whole host of places but Cheddar is definitely worth a visit and you may need two days to truly sample what is on offer but where better to base yourself

thank you helen and mick for such a relaxing and memorable stay

see you soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in late July with my two teenage children. This B&B is ideal for families visiting Cheddar for the tours of the caves (plus real caving with a guide), some scrambling on the cliffs and the hilltop walk. It is also near the attractions at Weston Super Mare where my two had a brilliant traditional day at the seaside. Having a spacious family room with en suite bathroom to return to in between jaunts was perfect for us. The building made quite an impression, with its flagstone floors on the ground floor, fantastic welcoming kitchen and quirky corridors. is very near a lovely walk/track, the Strawberry Line, which was perfect for a run. The owners were great, they made a point of really looking after us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Returned to the The Old Manor for another lovely short break. Helen and Mike are such perfect hosts and serve delicious food in their lovely home. The location is perfect for visiting Cheddar and the Gorge which you can reach by walking along the Strawberry Line footpath, if you walk in the other direction it takes you to Winscombe. Also spent a day on the beach at Weston Super Mare which is only 15 mins away. Add to that the beautiful city of Wells only 20 mins away and you can see why we think a stay at The Old Manor House is the perfect location for visiting this part of Somerset. Oh and there is a really good pub within 3 mins walk if you want a pint of the local cider! What more could you need for a relaxing break.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JSandPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
2.6 mi away
Gordons Hotel
Gordons Hotel
#1 of 12 in Cheddar
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor House B&B

Property: Old Manor House B&B
Address: Cross Lane, Cross BS26 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manor House is situated directly at the foot of the Mendip Hills, just off the A38 on the outskirts of Cross and Axbridge, facing south over the Somerset Levels. We are just 3 miles from Cheddar, 10 miles from Weston Super Mare and 9 miles from Burnham on Sea. The building is approximately 400 years old and was originally a Coaching Inn, so holds that warm atmosphere and character with inglenook fireplaces and old charm that old houses command. This beautiful house has 5 en-suite bedrooms and another room with a separate (but sole use) bathroom. All rooms have TVs with DVD players installed, hair dryers, free toiletries, tea and coffee facilities (including the option of soya milk) and there is free Wifi throughout the house. A fully English breakfast is cooked to order using locally sourced produce, served with homemade breads and jam. Fresh fruit and other healthier options are also available. Please let us know of any gluten, lactose or nut allergies so that we can support you in having a great breakfast The nearest airport is Bristol Airport, 11 miles from the property. Old Manor House B&B offers pet-friendly accommodation (please contact us prior to booking). There is free private parking on site for one car per guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Manor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor House B&B Cross, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing