We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Manor House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Cross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from staying at the old manor house. The welcome we received from Helen was warm and professional. Helen and mike are a wonderful and welcoming couple and Both know the area well. The room I stayed in was very clean and bathroom spotless. Helen is an amazing cook and Her breakfasts are 10/10. I will miss that now I'm back in London! The b&b is well located to travel to all of the attractions and especially close to cheddar gorge. I will definitely be coming back to stay here again and recommend the old manor house.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Old Manor House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at this B&B for 5 nights in June and can say that I will most definitely be coming back in the future! The building which by accounts is at least 370 years old has much in the way of charm and character and this was complimented by Helen and Mike's warm and friendly demeanour. It really did feel like a home away from home and can thorough recommend this for people who want a relaxing stay with friendly faces, good breakfasts and a refreshing night's sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After you have said excellent, 100 %, what more can you say other than' the best'.
Off road car parking, we got a cup of tea on arrival. Lovely hostess who knew what was going on round about. Lovely room. Shower and bath. Clean and tidy with loads of charm. First rate breakfast, and who gives you freshly baked bread to die for. Oh it even has a well.

Room Tip: Don't look round and about, just go for The Old manor house, you wont be sorry, ever.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tricky250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay. A beautiful old building with fantastic rooms and what a welcome. Helen and Mike were away so had left the place in the safe hands of the previous owners Sue and Merv. We were warmly greeted, shown to our room and invited down for a pot of tea and some of Merv's fabulous homemade Lardy Cake. After a good nights sleep we had a superb breakfast with Merv's home made bread much enjoyed. You can see why Sue won awards for her breakfasts. A really top place to stay and a shame to see it for sale.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend of biking and exploring the caves. Not only is the place beautiful with great rooms, but it's the owners that really set it apart. Helen and her husband were so friendly and couldnt do enough for us, it felt like a home from home. It's an ideal base to explore Cheddar and the surrounding area, would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We have the black and white room with the four poster bed, very spacious with a great bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Owner at Old Manor House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you Laura for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you both for the weekend and hope to see again soon. Best Wishes Helen and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just had a really lovely 2 night break with my husband & 8 year old son. This is a charming old property in a great location ideal for visiting Cheddar Gorge & the caves. We were greeted by the friendly and thoughtful hosts & had coffee & delicious homemade chocolate brownies in front of the cosy wood burner in the lounge before being shown to our room. We were staying in the Black & White room which was lovely & a really good size. 4 poster bed for us & a nice single bed for our son. The first night we had arranged for an evening meal at the property. It was absolutely delicious & I can highly recommend it. We had Spanish chicken, homemade fresh fruit pavlova & coffee & chocs - Mmmmmm! We enjoyed visiting Cheddar the next day & my husband & son enjoyed a walk up to the top of Crook Peak near the property where they had great views to Glastonbury Tor. The second night we had a fantastic meal at the New Inn pub over the road (booking advisable). The breakfasts were wonderful too. I can definitely highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here with friends for the weekend in order to see the Bridgwater Festival.
We were given a very warm welcome and Mike and Helen did everything to make our stay very comfortable. The room was perfect and the bathroom really spoilt us.
The breakfast was great and set us up for the day and tea and cake when we got back in the afternoon was much appreciated!
Brilliant location to see so much, Wells, Cheddar, Bath .....
Thank you both for a lovely stay , we will be back !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelynnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cross
2.4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
8.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manor House B&B

Address: Cross Lane, Cross BS26 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cross
Price Range: £78 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Manor House is situated directly at the foot of the Mendip Hills, just off the A38 on the outskirts of Cross and Axbridge, facing south over the Somerset Levels. We are just 3 miles from Cheddar, 10 miles from Weston Super Mare and 9 miles from Burnham on Sea. The building is approximately 400 years old and was originally a Coaching Inn, so holds that warm atmosphere and character with inglenook fireplaces and old charm that old houses command. This beautiful house has 5 en-suite bedrooms and another room with a separate (but sole use) bathroom. All rooms have TVs with DVD players installed, hair dryers, free toiletries, tea and coffee facilities (including the option of soya milk) and there is free Wifi throughout the house. A fully English breakfast is cooked to order using locally sourced produce, served with homemade breads and jam. Fresh fruit and other healthier options are also available. Please let us know of any gluten, lactose or nut allergies so that we can support you in having a great breakfast The nearest airport is Bristol Airport, 11 miles from the property. Old Manor House B&B offers pet-friendly accommodation (please contact us prior to booking). There is free private parking on site for one car per guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Manor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manor House B&B Cross, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing