We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Songtsam Tacheng Lodge
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
68
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal villagenational parkcomfortable bedsnext morningbeautiful hotelmonkeyssnubnosedculturemountainsparsleyyuan
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We booked the 'Family Summer Package' directly through Songtsam website. As a family of 5, this was a more convenient alternative than doing the more treacherous/ higher altitude itinerary (Three Parallel Rivers, which includes Meili lodge). There was another family of 4 in our group, so we had two vans for transportation.

Over 7 days we stayed at the lodges in Tacheng, Benzilan and Shangri-la. We had a wonderful time! Although it can be difficult to please everybody in a group, we all enjoyed the trip. We were surrounded by beautiful scenery and luxurious, comfortable accommodation; we were served delicious, home-made food and all members of staff treated us so well and were so friendly! The children (from 7 to 17 years) also had a great time learning about Buddhism and Tibetan traditions and playing 'treasure hunt'.

It was a trip of a life-time. Dolma and Gesang were great guides. They picked us up from Lijiang, looked after us constantly and were always ahead of what we might need, very attentive and thoughtful. Lousang and his brother drove us through bumpy roads so carefully, sometimes the cliffs on the side were very steep and scary but they made us feel very safe.

Our favourite activities: seeing the Golden Monkeys, visiting local villages, picking fruits from the orchard, singing with the locals while we waited for the rain to stop, walking on the mountains, hunting mushrooms, chasing butterflies, taking a 'mooncake' cooking lesson ... Ah! the pool! ... Watching hotel staff sing and dance to Tibetan music, walking along the rice terraces ... the list is endless! It was fantastic!
(See also reviews for Benzilan and Shangri-La)

Room Tip: We also visited the Tiger Leaping Gorge on the journey from Lijiang to Tacheng. Although it added a few hours to the journey, it was worth it, the scenery is fantastic and the gorge is impressive.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelinmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our family of 4 (kids aged 12 & 7) spent only one night here in mid July and wished we could have stayed longer.
The whole lodge is beautifully designed and decorated and looks out on to beautiful fields and hills around. We used it as a stopping off point to visit the Yunnan snub nosed monkeys but would have liked to stay and relax there longer.
They have a pool but unfortunately it was not filled when we were there.
The outstanding food was sourced from their own gardens and local producers and was (I think) all organic. It was lovely to eat locally grown, simply prepared, healthy food - a real delight. We found the staff to be welcoming and courteous and the whole place had a lovely restful air about it. I would definitely recommend it as an alternative to the usual Dali/Shaxi to Shangri La/Lijiang travel route.
The only disappointment we experienced was whilst visiting the monkeys. The monkeys themselves were fantastic and we marveled at how close we could get to them, however despite having to pay for and use a local guide to visit them, the behavior by the Chinese tourists was nothing short of disgraceful. They were noisy, shouting, smoking and on two occasions throwing rocks at the monkeys to get them to turn around so they could photograph them! The local guides stood by and did nothing. Hopefully these ignorant attitudes will change with time, as this kind of wildlife viewing opportunity is definitely a jewel in China's crown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SongtsamLodges, General Manager at Songtsam Tacheng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for staying with us and providing the feedback.

We have spoken with their management and let them know that they need better training with their guides and stricter enforcement of the rules and regulations to protect the endangered monkeys. We will not hesitate to stop sending guests there if the situation does not improve.

Meanwhile, we try to advise tourists to be more responsible when travel to the wild. (e.g. We write up entries on this issue on our Chinese social media accounts.) Hopefully, the situation will improve and more people take responsible travel here in China.

Once again thanks for sharing the info. with us.
Jia Liming
GM at Songtsam Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We visited all of the Songtsam hotels on our recent trip. They are all wonderful. Tacheng is no exception. Set just below a village with opportunities for walks into the hills, this hotel is peaceful and comfortable. Like all of the Songtsam Hotels in the chain the staff are very friendly, warm and welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in Yunnan.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 January 2012

from the moment we arrived at the property we felt so welcomed. the staff lined up to greet us , served us ginger tea and invited us to change into a different pair of home shoes. they also planned some activities for us. we picked fruits together and walked to the nearby villages. it was a really wonderful morning spent with them, bonding like children over smashed fruit and climbing trees together.

the chef is excellent at what he does. there is no menu but you can tell him your preferences. when we were hungry at 10pm in the night he came up with the most delicious beef noodles for us. the ingredients come from the villages surrounding the property and in warmer weather, even from the hotel's own garden. this is an absolutely wonderful concept and i hope it will carry on in future.

there is no tv at the hotel but they will be happy to lend u a laptop if necc. , but u wont need it. tacheng is simply a place to relax your mind and spirit. the dining room especially has a very calming feeling about it.

it is a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilybulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews