We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We usually stay in Big 4 parks because they are of a higher standard - not so for this park. Firstly it's location (although on the lake) is in the middle of a dodgy area. We were told not to leaving anything outside (including shoes and eskies) as they would be stolen. When we asked to view the cabin prior to booking the staff were quite rude and gave us '2 minutes' to make up our mind. The jumping pillow was flat and full of water and the playground was very small. There was an alarm sound going off all through the night. Would not recommend. However, the cabin itself was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights,we were very impressed with friendly welcoming staff a big grassy shaded site and a refreshing pool to cool off in.We loved everything about this park awesome lake views jetty private boat ramp etc we enjoyed it so much we are coming back for 8 nights and we are really looking forward to it. Thanks to the great staff.....

Room Tip: the waterfront villas have their own private verandah with bbqs and sinks try one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our third visit to the park. Each previous visit had been excellent.

This time was different. Upon arrival we needed to ask twice to be let in the front boom gate as they didn't have our access code - it felt like we were interrupting something very important on tv. Just a small thing... we were prepared to overlook that.

When we booked we made it clear that we were travelling with a group who had a dog and bird. This was confirmed twice that it would be ok. Imagine our surprise when we were abused, by a rude and aggressive staff member because we had a dog in our party. He directly approached a group of ladies and was intimidating towards them.

There are plenty of ways this situation could have been handled better, however as a result of this interaction, we will never return to this park and will be recommending others do likewise. Very unfortunate...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4LakeMac, Manager at Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank You for your comments we value your feedback.

We are sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay with us on this occasion. We have taken on board your feedback and have advised our team who will review our processes and work practices for future reference.

We do have a dog policy but however during Peak Periods we do not allow dogs into our park.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to discuss this situation.


Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Lovely big grassed site with great views of the lake. Easy to get the boat into the lake from the boat ramp within the caravan park. Lots of wild life and some very friendly rabbits. Good clean amenities. We were surprised to find a swimming pool only 80 metres from the edge of the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4LakeMac, Guest Relations Manager at Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank You for taking the time to review us. Our sites are very generous and the lake is great for your boat or to just sit next to of an afternoon and relax. We are happy you found the ramp to be of use to you. The baby rabbits are very cute. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Informed Big 4 we wouldn't arrive until nearly midnight which was fine they left the key out for our cabin. To our amazement our beds weren't made. So cranky. After paying $500+ for the old crib shed style cabin couldn't believe we had to make our own beds. What a rip off. All phone dealings with the park prior to staying we're abrupt and short. Not happy or welcoming at all. We won't stay again nor would we recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank MJRP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in our caravan for 2 nights and had a great, relaxing break. The kids had a ball fishing in the lake. The amenities are clean and the staff are very friendly. The views across the lake are beautiful. A very special place. Will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Imme4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4LakeMac, Guest Relations Manager at Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We camped here last summer. Visually very beautiful. The amenities were clean but the amenities block is a long, long way if you happen to be waterfront. A trip to the showers requires a ridiculously long hike. Fortunately there is a toilet block near the swimming pool that made a trip to the toilet a little more convenient. My biggest complaint is that the park is not visitor friendly. We go the the Central Coast so we can get together with several friends who have retired to that part of Australia. Its nice to have friends call in for a cuppa or a drink or perhaps to enjoy a meal or for a BBQ for which we are independently set up. We were told that any visitors would have to pay $10.00 per head to enter the park. This has never happened anywhere else we have stayed. We won't be returning as its not our way to say that to our friends that we would love them to call in and see us but pay up $20.00 per couple for the privilege.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PirateGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4LakeMac, Guest Relations Manager at Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Sorry to see you where not completely happy with your stay. Our fees for visitors are outlined in our confirmation letters and it is also stated on the park map you recieve on check in. These fees are charged as the visitors are using the park facilites such as pool and toilets that require cleaning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mannering Park
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
25 reviews
9 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Raffertys Resort
Raffertys Resort
#1 of 1 in Cams Wharf
329 reviews
10 mi away
Catalina Motel Lake Macquarie
6.9 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie

Address: Lot 28 Monterey Ave, Mannering Park, New South Wales 2259, Australia (Formerly Active Holidays BIG4 Lake Macquarie)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mannering Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mannering Park
Price Range: £53 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 70 minutes north of Hornsby, Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie is nestled in the serene southern shores of the lake, at the northern end of the NSW Central Coast. We offer a variety of accommodation options to suit all tastes and budgets - from luxury waterfront villas to holiday cabins and grassy powered sites. Enjoy the pool or take a short drive to some of the best beaches in NSW. The jetty and waterfront reserve provide easy access to the lake, where sandy inlets and secluded bays are ideal for boating, fishing and swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Ingenia Holidays Lake Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing