We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackjack Inn- My Savvy Impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe
Ranked #66 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blackjack Inn- My Savvy Impressions”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Blackjack Inn for one night in August of 2014. We found our experience to be very good!

We arrived at around 10:00pm; the front desk was empty so we rang the doorbell. The sweet lady who runs the motel promptly and pleasantly came downstairs and checked us in. She is from Nepal and since I have been to Nepal we had a very excited conversation about the country. She even noticed where we were parked in the lot and switched the room that she initially put us in to one that was closer to the car so that we did not have to move it. Now that is customer service!

The room itself was only $40 for the night and included a refrigerator and microwave. Everything was satisfactorily clean and the hot water was pretty instant.

We loved the location of the Inn as it is very near the Heavenly Gondola as well as shops and restaurants- perfect for those of us who love to walk around the town and explore! It is also very near the casinos which is quite handy.

I do not understand the negative reviews on this motel. I had no experience with bugs, filth, or broken things anywhere in my room. Of course this is no Five Star experience, but if you expect high class you need to be willing to pay more than $40 a night to stay elsewhere. For the price I felt that the experience was very acceptable, and should I be in need of a motel in the area again I will not hesitate to go back to Blackjack Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatharineNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    0
    2
    16
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place shouldnt be listed on any hotel reservations website!!! Walked in to find filthy walls,dirt,food crumbs,torn dirty carpet, bugs and,no window locks! I went back to the front desk and asked for a refund,only received half back.Which we took because our health was more important.We actually drove back To Reno and stayed at the Pepppermill which is 4stars for the same price this unhealthy place charged us before our 50%refund. The drive and our health was worth losing 50%.
Read the reviews!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maraaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I LOVE this place! For the price, you can't beat the location. If you want to spend $$$$ on gas or cabs to/from the casinos, go for it, but this place is 2 blocks away from state line. You get there, you park and you don't need to get back into the car until it's time to go home. You can walk to the Raley's, Starbucks, a number of cafés and restaurants, and the Heavenly Gondola is RIGHT there! If you plan on spending a lot of time IN the room, you might want to spend more money elsewhere, but if you plan on going out and about most of the time, this is a great option!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PumpkinGuts81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I give this place one star. That star is because of its location, across the street from the Heavenly village- walking distance to both the Heavenly Gondola and the Casinos. Other than that, nothing about this place deserves a star. My husband and I stay and ski in South Lake Tahoe quite a bit and do it on the cheap. Mostly when we book a room we expect somewhere that is clean, does not smell like smoke, has hot water, and has a working heater. When we arrived at the motel after a day of skiing we checked into our room and was immediately hit by the strong smell of cleaning detergents. We had heard another couple complaining about this smell as well in two different rooms...so it must be the same for all rooms at this motel. After showering and settling into our room, the smell of cleaners slowly turned into the smell of old cigarettes (obviously what the cleaners were trying to cover up). Besides that there was what looked to be vomit on the wall and floor and the wall heater did not work. The replacement for this was a little tiny space heater. Now all in all this was a pretty crappy place to stay, but we thought hey no big deal we got a good deal on a busy weekend lets just go somewhere else until we want to go to bed. When we returned to our room after dinner and found the motel had lost power, this is when the bad took a turn for the worst. With no heater all night and a blanket that barely covered the bed we froze. We asked for another blanket and were handed one that had holes in it and gross crusty material and hair all over it. Apparently the power was restored around 1am but no one told us, and the little heater fan we had left on never turned back on. When we checked out at 7am, the staff in the office didn't seem to care and told us that all of their rooms are clean and they have "really nice, clean" blankets on the bed. He then asked if we would like to pay for another night...

Overall this was a terrible experience and I don't think it was just bad luck, after hearing the complaints from everyone else- all the rooms were just as dirty and disgusting as ours. We stayed here a couple times over the years and never had a problem. Looks like a change in ownership was the downturn of this place. There are plenty of other options that are just as inexpensive as this dump.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aburk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Good: The motel is in a great location. Close to shopping, casinos, and great dining! You can walk anywhere you choose. The beach is not too far away either.

The Bad: We have stayed in cleaner, better kept rooms than the one we had at the Blackjack Inn. It was old, the lamps were falling apart, and the carpet looked like it could use a real good shampooing. The hot water took a while to appear in our shower. In addition, the room was very stuffy, and the only way to get fresh air was to crank up the noisy airconditioner. The bathroom had a window, but it was secured with a wooden dowl, and had no screen.

The Ugly: We noticed a significant amount of mold in the shower stall. The grout looked like it use a good cleaning, maybe even being replaced. Also we I looked up at the ceiling , I noticed years worth of dead insects had collected in the light fixture. That was just gross!

This place could use a major overhaul in the cleaning department, but it is in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGAdamsReno_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend for a quick last minute trip to Tahoe. Luckily, this place was located right across the street from the restaurant we wanted to eat at (Fire & Ice - Yum!). It was a great price, very clean, and the owners were really nice and got us in our room quickly. We also liked that the room had a microwave and refrigerator. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonitaLanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
National 9 Inn - South Lake Tahoe
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#43 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#53 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
#47 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelers Inn & Suites
Travelers Inn & Suites
#39 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
24 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#51 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe

Property: Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe
Address: 985 Park Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6964
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Blackjack Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing