We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Retreat & Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach Retreat & Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked this hotel through a bloomspot deal for 2 nights. We arrived in town 1 day early so we asked if we could check in for 3 nights and this was no problem. There was a problem though the next day when housekeeping and the front desk thought we should be checking out. I had to explain that we actually checked in a day early to two different housekeepers and the front desk called two different times. Luckily they finally got it.
The rooms were spacious but need updated. We were on the 2nd floor & had a balcony that overlooked a courtyard area. We could see the lake from the room so that was nice. Unfortunately the first morning the room above us was very loud. Good thing they must have checked out since the second and third days were quiet.
We did not use the pool are but it looked nice. The roof was being worked on the main building where you check in so it was a little loud in that area.
We did eat lunch at the restaurant on the pier. This was nice to eat outside and enjoy the view. The servers were friendly and the food was average.
This location is a few miles down from the casinos so we took a cab or drove when we went to that area. Some of the streets near this hotel were under construction which the cab driver told us is typical at this time of year.
Not sure if we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amehen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    275
    120
    47
    38
See reviews for
332
340
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

There is nothing special about the rooms. The place basically looks like a mid-80s condo complex, but you can't beat the beautiful beach and pier right out the door. No refrigerators in the room and the rooms are on the small side. Staff was so, so. One good experience at the restaurant and then a bad one drove us to go elsewhere for breakfast and dinner. Okay to bring pets, but you'll pay extra. This is not a bad place to bring a young family with both a pool, hot tub and of course water craft available for rent at the pier. South Lake Tahoe is very built up. Do not expect a rustic retreat. That said we had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBakerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This beach hotel is right on the lake, next to the pier and offers a great pool along with hammocks and easy beach access. The front desk was always overwhelmed, but they were friendly.

The value on this hotel is good if you're not looking for luxury, but want to be on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was everything that was promised on the website. Beautiful, lake front location, swimming pool, restaurants, etc. We had a nice stay but were not overwhelmed. I think the staff tried for the most part but I am not sure we would go back.

I highly recommend this place for families. The pool was loaded with kids, morning and night. A huge bonus and the reason we booked was that it is dog friendly and dogs can swim in this part of the lake. For this reason, we might be back.

One huge disappointment was the Restaurant in the lobby. They were slammed one morning and service was horribly slow. One of the waiters was rude to one of the patrons, who simply asked about the egg dish on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

When I booked online, I asked for a fridge in the Special Requests box. We checked in and got to our room and noticed there wasn't a fridge. When we inquired at the front desk they apologized and said there weren't any more fridges available. We explained that we requested one days ago and their response was that they try to meet requests, but they are on a first come, first serve basis and they were all given out. What? Hopefully the sunrise from the hammock tomorrow morning will make up for that!

Room Tip: Building D is close to the beach but not right on top of the live music that is quite loud on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having our holiday to Honolulu cancelled because of storms was disappointing, but arriving at this hotel at Lake Tahoe was some consolation. It was extremely clean and beautifully furnished - there was no evidence of the shabby carpets that other people mentioned. We stayed in B Block, were able to park under our room and had stunning views of the lake. The staff were efficient and helpful and there were good restaurants within walking distance. I agree the soap dispenser was tacky and it would have been nice to have a table on the balcony, but these are such minor things that the location more than made up for them. The pool area is good and the late night films for kids were a good idea - people with an aversion to dogs may want to stay somewhere else, as although I'm an animal lover, I found it strange that dogs were allowed around the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhianastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Excellent location and if lucky enough to have a room in Building B the views are awesome. Rooms are quite small but comfortable and clean. Upon arrival at 3PM we were told our room would not be ready for an hour, so we had to wait. In asking if anything could be done for our inconvenience we were told no by the desk clerk and then the manager. Not to accommodating. The next day our room was clean by 11AM and we were not even checking out. Also I would definitely pass on the restaurant on the pier. Food was good when we finally got it an hour and a half after being seated. When we inquired because 3 tables coming in after us were served first (and we did have reservations) we were told there was a mix up because of a new cook. They did comp our dinner by $20.00.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for building B if you want a lake view that does not look out over a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softballqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing