We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location - but a little shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Send, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great location - but a little shabby”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is in a great spot - right on the lake shore. We had a lake view king room on the ground floor with access to the beach across a lawn.

The lake and beach are gorgeous. But the room was a bit shabby, with tired decor, pealing paint and a very small bathroom. Also, there was a problem with their phone system while we were there as we were advised to book a table at the restaurant as they were busy. I tried them several times but got a constant busy tone. When I rang the front desk for assistance I was advised to walk down to the restaurant and book in person as they were probably busy. When I got there the restaurant staff confirmed that they had received no calls in the last hour (and I must have rung a dozen times).

The restaurant turned out to be really excellent. Great food and great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    294
    134
    54
    46
See reviews for
392
382
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

$100 got us a great room on the beach with a fireplace and beach décor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Many upscale amenities at a good price. Adjacent dock rented all the fun water toys. The restaurant associated with retreat, Boathouse on the Pier, was a perfect cozy place to watch the sun set over the Lake while enjoying a great meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Right along the south shores of Lake Tahoe. we got a wonderful view facing the lake. Neat clean room. A minutes walk to the beach. Ample parking. Watersports right next to the pier. Very comfortable stay in the double queen bed room on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshKal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Waterfront setting was awesome but the flock of geese that lived (and crapped) all over the beach not so good. Great pier for watching sunsets with a glass of wine.
Rooms were clean but very small, balcony was a plus.
Rooms are very noisy between the old fashion AC wall unit and the small frig in the room that ran all night, and you hear everything, I mean everything, from the neighbors so sleep wasn't easy.
Hotel staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Live Music was good.

Room Tip: Select an end unit Beach Front or Water View on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a nice place to stay right on the beach. They have a lot of fun activities like live music and a movie night outside during our stay. Boat, Kayak, paddle board rental right there on the beach. My only detractor was the room was not very nice. Pretty cheap feel in the room and especially the bathroom. The fire place in the room was nothing special either. This is Lake Tahoe and you won't spend too much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Anne-d'Auray, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very good place just near the Lake. Sonder fil Beach access. Pleasant rooms. Pleasant and quiet lodges. Original building. WE arrived at the end of the afternoon coming from SF. Found a pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great Location right on the shore. Make sure you ask for a lake view. It's not that close to state line but only 3 miles to it.The room was beautiful with cabin type wood inside, balcony view of the lake. Their is a pier with a bar and grill and one can rent water craft and toys. The pool area is great, the jacuzzi is surround by a wall of rocks so it is private. The have a restaurant there and on Thursday they had all you can eat pizza and pasta. Highly recommended. We will be going back there.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view or a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
877 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,083 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing