We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with wonderful front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here five nights. This hotel has it's own beach, so that makes it nice to walk down to the water and relax. We paid for a lake-view room, and were very happy with it. The king bed room came with a shower/tub. Our son's room had two double beds, and it only had a shower, because the living area is larger with the two beds. Even in October, the pool was heated. Breakfast is not included with the room, and the restaurant was only open for breakfast. We enjoyed going to some of the many restaurants around town. What really made our time there special was the staff. Yvonne gave our son's family a room close to us and we really appreciated that. They were all helpful with giving maps or directions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellowtraveler415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This used to be the best Western timber Cove in Lake Tahoe they've updated it a bit but haven't really change much. The room itself is cozy and nice and very clean and updated the bathrooms need updating. They are sufficient though for the location. It's right on the Beach. The beach is clean and the marina it's right there see you can rent paddleboards, kayaks anything you want. there's a restaurants on the dock and you can walk out on the views are amazing. They do allow dogs in certain rooms for an added amount and that's really nice too and dogs are allowed on the beach on a leash Hammocks are hung in the trees that you can lay on and watch the sunset which is really great. Outdoor swimming pool another Resturant inside and fitness center. Safeway across street and Cvs store and pharmacy right next door. Highly recomend staying here..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIRECTORACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Received a great value on our room for a two day stay in October (off season). Received a room right on the water, nice fireplace and large bed.

Only complaints are the "little things" such as hard towels and paper like toilet paper. Honestly those were the only faults, not a big deal in our opinion so I would recommend this hotel. Would not recommend the restaurant on property, Boathouse on the Pier.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was hotel number four of eight on our trip of the West. We were only here for one night on our way from Yosemite to Yellowstone. The hotel was fine, big room with good facilities. Lake Tahoe itself looks like it doesn't know what to do with itself between seasons so it probably isn't fair to make any comments.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is in a great spot - right on the lake shore. We had a lake view king room on the ground floor with access to the beach across a lawn.

The lake and beach are gorgeous. But the room was a bit shabby, with tired decor, pealing paint and a very small bathroom. Also, there was a problem with their phone system while we were there as we were advised to book a table at the restaurant as they were busy. I tried them several times but got a constant busy tone. When I rang the front desk for assistance I was advised to walk down to the restaurant and book in person as they were probably busy. When I got there the restaurant staff confirmed that they had received no calls in the last hour (and I must have rung a dozen times).

The restaurant turned out to be really excellent. Great food and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Netty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

$100 got us a great room on the beach with a fireplace and beach décor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Many upscale amenities at a good price. Adjacent dock rented all the fun water toys. The restaurant associated with retreat, Boathouse on the Pier, was a perfect cozy place to watch the sun set over the Lake while enjoying a great meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Right along the south shores of Lake Tahoe. we got a wonderful view facing the lake. Neat clean room. A minutes walk to the beach. Ample parking. Watersports right next to the pier. Very comfortable stay in the double queen bed room on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshKal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#5 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £80 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing