We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May and were dissapointed in our stay at this hotel. The hotel room we stayed in was on the small side with a small bathroom with dated fixtures. We could hear the foot steps from the people walking around in the room above us. The location of the hotel is on the lake and we had a nice view of the water, but it did not make up for the limited accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockingpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    275
    120
    47
    38
See reviews for
332
340
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent 5 days/4 nights. The room was very small and was recently "remodeled". We had no porch - just an obstructed window view of Lake Tahoe. Generally, it was quiet but 1 night had people upstairs (we stayed in D211) banging around until about 1 am and it started up again the next morning around 8am! The maid service was very average. We ran out of bath gel after 3 nights and it was never refilled. We had 3 bath towels the 1st night and for the rest of the stay, we only had 2! The registration area was being renovated and there was other remodeling/construction going on which we were not told about at our time of booking. Those noises only lasted from about 10am to 6pm. The pool area was nice and clean. The hotel is right on the lake and there is a walkway/dock area in the rear of the hotel. We took photos of our "remodeled" room, which was very ordinary. The rug was dirty and the shower door was loose. The hotel/tourist/state/etc. tax rate is 20%, so don't be shocked when your $100/night room costs $120! It is a good location...a grocery store across the street and about a mile or so from the casinos and tons of chain/non-chain restaurants. Traffic is heavy, even though it is between seasons, but the hotel is on the main road in LT.

Room Tip: Get a third floor room to avoid noise from rooms above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluntandHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thank you Beach Retreat & Lodge!
Great front desk service, clean room, amazing location, great views, we could not have asked for more!
This is officially our go-to location when staying to South Lake. Perfect experience!

Room Tip: There is not a bad place to stay. They have the buildings situated so there isn't a bad view in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here one night for our anniversary and initially enjoyed our time. The room was quaint in size, but tastefully decorated with a slight nautical feel. The addition of a gas fireplace was a nice touch and made the room feel more cozy. In the bathroom, it was a standing shower only, and the light had some flickering problems. There was a really nice view of Lake Tahoe through the trees and we were able to access the beach quite easily.

However, the next morning we were woken up to housekeeping knocking at the door at 9:00 am. Checkout time is 11:00 am. Period. We unhappily informed her that the room was occupied and we did not need our room cleaned. About a half hour later we heard two guys speaking in spanish outside of our door. We heard them inserting a key in the door, and then they tried to walk into our room. Luckily, I had the key chain lock on and they were not able to open the door fully. My husband spoke to one of the guys outside and asked him if they just walk into any room if they are under the impression that a room needs service or not. No answer on their part.

Upon our checkout we informed customer service about housekeeping knocking before the checkout time and the guys on their staff using their key to walk into our room. They apologized and said housekeeping management would be informed. I was expecting a bit more of a reaction and solution, but the ladies just mentioned the housekeeping manager's name. It was an unsettling feeling.

So, if you decide to stay at this lodge I recommend informing the management you do not want to be disturbed before checkout and as assurance, use the chain lock.

Room Tip: Use the chain lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pixietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I just came back from a weekend here to celebrate our anniversary. The room was beautiful, quiet and very very clean. The fireplace created a very intimate and romantic setting. Our room opened right out to the beach and pier. The view was spectacular. Big flat screen TV in our room and free WIFI. The hotel does not have a restaurant yet (its currently under construction) but we received vouchers for breakfast at the Boathouse which is right on the pier and our meal was free!
We will definitely be going back

Room Tip: ask for one of the beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this hotel via Travelzoo which included one breakfast delivered to the room, a bottle of wine and $30 dinner voucher for the restaurant.
This hotel is in a prime lakeside location, with it's own pier with restaurant.

stayed in Block A room 315 which was supposed to be a Garden View but overlooked the car park but would not complaint about this due to the lovely room, and furnishings and Starbucks Coffee in the room. The room was very clean and spacious.
The meal in the restaurant was very good, with again an excellent unbeatable view.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, we used the free computer and printer in the reception which was very useful but excellent wi fi in the room.

Even though we attended in Spring this would be an excellent Ski resort stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISSIE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times during our summer vacation (twice when it was a Best Western). We have always had a good experience. When it was a Best Western they used to have a complimentary breakfast, now they don't. The beach and the pier is a short walk away. The rooms in the back have a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. We only had a partial view of the lake, which was fine. They also have a restaurant right on the pier, as well as one by the lobby. Their rooms are very clean and they have a gas fireplace. Keeps the room nice and cozy.

We will definetely stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel
#16 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Property: Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#17 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing