We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here over the fourth as we wanted to be able to see the fireworks. We were told wrist bands would be handed out to make sure it was just hotel guests at the beach/pier for the fireworks. Once we arrived we were told you would have to pay $10 per person for the wrist bands to watch from the pier and the rest of the property was open to the general public...and they were everywhere. Very very drunk young adults everywhere. Very unfortunate as there were many families with young children around.

Hotel also advertised our room as a garden view. It was a view of the parking lot on both sides. Room was clean. That was the only positive. No mini fridge for drinks, ice machines were out of ice. One pool that was always overcrowded.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ks1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We travel to Lake Tahoe every summer and Thanksgiving. We always stay at Lake Land Village or Marriot Timbercove Lodge. Both we love and have never been disappointed. This trip however, LLV was booked and the Marriot was a little pricey so we thought we would try the Beach Retreat Lodge. Boy was that a mistake! This place was so loud! There were drunks wondering all around this resort ! We had to call the front desk both Friday and Saturday night due to loud neighbors screaming and crashing into the walls at 11 pm. We noticed numerous transients wondering around this hotel as well. My husband had to bring our boys in from the beach because of foul mouth drunks. This is NOT a family resort and we ended up cutting our trip short by a day because of it. I am writing this review to help others who want a relaxing, peaceful trip. This place is loud and nothing more than a fraternity and bum magnet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nhafenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This used to be a Best Western which we have stayed at several times. I just checked in and encountered several problems. The first was the front desk. There were two people & neither one knew how to retrieve a reservation. One person was almost exclusively taking telephone calls in spite of having a third person in a back room. When we got to the room, it was stark - just like the Lobby. The rooms & Lobby used to have a warm, cozy feel. Now, there is nothing on the walls of the Lobby & one of the wall lamps in my room did not have a shade - only a bare lightbulb. Then, we realized we had been placed on the third floor - directly above a smoking room. Our room, including the bathroom flooded with smoke, in spite of this being a non smoking facility. Finally, the internet did not connect. When we called the front desk, we were instructed to call a third party that handles their internet. Why did they not contact this company directly?

All in all, a very, very poor experience. I predict this motel management will not be in business for very long. It is a beautiful property & I'm saddened it is being marred by such mis-management.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pharmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Beach Retreat and Lodge because of a wedding. There were 3 weddings on the beach just on Friday with more weddings scheduled on Saturday and Sunday! The resort is totally under construction and noisy during the day. The exercise room is closed which they told us was posted on their website. We did not see any such posting! The staff is not friendly or helpful. One day they did not even give us clean towels or coffee and when we told them house keeping did not come, all they could say is "we are sorry". Poor management! Terrible food!!!!! Beautiful Location. We heard many people complain about noise, construction etc. Resort was booked and they did not care about taking good care of their resort guests.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding, you can hear it throughout the entire resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Where it not for the beach front location, I'd rate this as average. However, if you're prepared to pay a little extra for a room with beachfront access, it really is a great summer vacation property. Best rooms are in Block B, Ground floor B101 - 104. They open right onto the beach with spectacular views all bay but especially sunrise and sunset. Rooms are quite dated and the whole property could do with some TLC. They had some re-modelling underway when we stayed during early June 2014. One negative point is the poor quality of the patio furniture outside the rooms. Most were very low grade plastic chairs and not in keeping with the property.

Room Tip: Block B Rooms 101-104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is ideally situated on the beach at South Lake Tahoe. The surrounding facilities are excellent. But having paid for a lake view room we were palmed off with a room which overlooked a wedding marquee. We complained are were moved. The tranquility of the beach is often polluted by amplified wedding music and ceremonies. The evenings are dominated by wedding music and dad dancing. So not a great hotel for a relaxing break.Therte was construction work around the pool. Construction work in reception and pile driving in the next door site.

Room Tip: Demand to see your room before paying inflated prices. Many rooms do not have sun on their balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elvis78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel and when checking into our room found we were overlooking the pool but were on the end of the building next door to the building work that was been done to the entrance to the hotel - we had not been warned of this! We went down to reception and were offered another room over looking the lake for only a $20 charge per night. The room was very good with really comfortable beds and was well appointed. On our second day we had cause to ring down to reception during the late afternoon as we had a crowd of screaming youths on the lawned area below our room. They did respond well but were told that it was a group of middle school pupils on a school trip. The teacher with them was useless and his level of disciple with the boys was next to useless. Why would a hotel of this style allow groups of school children I do not know. Then during the second evening we had the noise of a wedding although a fair distance away from our room but only until 10pm thank goodness, however some of the guests were noisy on returning to their rooms. On checking out we did bring these issues up and got the extra charge dropped and also got a reduction on the bill. Excellent pool. The Boat house restaurant was excellent but wasn't cheap but the hotel lacks a larger place for breakfast and will benefit form the bar area when it is completed as there was nowhere else to get drinks on site.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any wedding when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#17 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
521 reviews
1 mi away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe

Address: 3411 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7919 (Formerly Timber Cove Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#16 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: £82 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Timber Cove Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Best Western Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing